Artikel 226 bis 240 von 300 gefundenen...

[1-15] [16-30] [31-45] [46-60] [61-75] [76-90] [91-105] [106-120] [121-135] [136-150] [151-165] [166-180] [181-195] [196-210] [211-225] [226-240] [241-255] [256-270] [271-285] [286-300]

 
Rhett, Thomas - tangled up [2015]
Zweites Album von einem der neuen, jungen Stars in Nashville, Thomas Rhett, dem Sohn von Rhett Akins. Thomas Rhett hatte bereits auf seinem Debüt "It Goes Like This" angedeutet, was für ein immenses Potential in ihm steckt. Die eigenen Fähigkeiten, ein starkes, zahlungskräftiges Label und dazu noch die Erfahrung seines Vaters (auch als Berater und Mitkomponist) im Rücken, sind beste Voraussetzungen, um mit seinem neuen Album "Tangled Up" zum großen Wurf auszuholen. Und so folgt auch Thomas Rhett dem aktuellen Trend in Nashville konsequent, seine Musik auf eine duale Basis zu stellen, um eine möglichst große Käuferschicht zu animieren. Wie schon bei Taylor Swift, die diesen Trend förmlich einleitete, Lee Brice, Luke Bryan oder auch Brett Eldredge zuvor, mit dem er nicht rein zufällig in den nächsten Tagen eine große Tour beginnt, hat Rhett den Country-Anteil zugunsten eines breitgefächerten Spektrums an Musikstilen (vor allem im Vergleich zum Vorgänger) deutlich zurückgefahren. Auch hier zielt der Blick deutlich in Richtung allgemeine Billboard Charts. Platzierungen in der Countrysparte, wie zum Beispiel die schöne erste Single "Crash And Burn" (melodischer Countrypop, Platz 2 in den Single-Charts) werden als Synergieeffekte natürlich gerne mitgenommen. Nicht auch zuletzt dank der starken Nashville-Studiomusiker, die immer wieder mal mit klasse gesetzten Banjo-, Mandolinen-, oder Steeltupfern versuchen,"'ihr" Genre halbwegs präsent halten. Um eines klarzustellen: "Tangled Up" ist ein großartiges Album geworden, vielleicht sogar eines der besten Pop-Alben der Neuzeit, aber man muss als New Countryfan halt größtmögliche Kompromissbereitschaft zeigen. Das tolle Banjo-Intro zum eröffnenden "Anthem" wird ganz schnell von einer hymnischen Powerpopnummer (toller Refrain) übertüncht. "South Side" wird mit seinem "shaky" Soul Groove eher die Hüften so mancher dunkelhäutigen Schönheit zum Kreisen , als die Cowboystiefel des gemeinen Countryverfechters zum Wippen zu bringen. Trotzdem ist auch das wieder eine sau-cooles Stück. Mit "Die A Happy Man" gibt es zum ersten Mal Versöhnliches für den geneigten Countryfan. Eine wunderbare, melodische Countryballade mit viel Southern Soul-Flair und herrlicher E-Gitarrenbegleitung (inkl. Solo). Gänsehautgarantie! "Vacation" funkt und soult in einem Tempo, dass einem regelrecht schwindelig wird, die New Country Powerballade "Like It's The Last Time" im Stile von Jason Aldean (für den Thomas ja schon zu früheren Zeiten Songs komponiert hatte) gibt Gelegenheit zum Durchatmen. "T-Shirt" ist dann auch wieder so ein toller Popsong, mit einem herrlich rhythmischen E-Gitarrengroove, der durch Mark und Bein geht, dürfte live von Tanzeinlagen begleitet werden. Das folgende "Single Girl" kommt im Stile der 90er New Countryballaden daher, tolles E-Gitarren-Solo von Dann Huff. Apropos Dann Huff: Der hat dieses Werk zu Großteilen mit Dan Frasure produziert, lediglich die letzten drei Tracks wurden durch Chris DeStefanno als auch Joe London begleitet. Das wohl Country-konformste Stück des Silberlings ist "The Day You Stopped Lookin' Back" (mit schöner Akustikgitarre) aus der Feder von Cadillac Three-Frontmann Jaren Johnston und Saitenvirtuose Luke Laird. Klasse hier das schöne E-Gitarren-Slide-Solo. Das erneut soulig groovende Titelstück "Tangled" würde man eher im Repetoire von den Commodors erwarten, als eigentlich auf der Scheibe eines aufstrebenden New Country-Künstlers, aber so ist halt die aktuelle Zeit. Getoppt wird das Ganze noch durch "I Feel Good", bei dem sogar der Rapper Lunchmoney Lewis, eine Sprecheinlage abliefern darf. Die Blockbuster-taugliche Ballade " Playing With Fire" würde sich als Titellied einer Titanic-Fortsetzung bestens eignen. Diese wickelt Thomas im Duett mit der vorzüglich singenden Jordin Sparks ab. Absolute Hitgarantie! Das melodische "Heard It From The Radio" (dezente Steel-Einlagen), eines von ein paar Liedern, das in Kooperation mit Papa Akins entstand, lässt ein Album ausklingen, das ausnahmslos tolle, abwechslungsreiche Musik bietet (wie bereits erwähnt, die grandios aufspielenden Nashville-Musiker sind allein das Geld wert), allerdings das Countryfeuer auf niedriger Flamme hält. Thomas Rhett folgt mit "Tangled Up" dem aktuellen Trend (möge der nicht noch weiter ausufern...), nicht nur von der Countryklientel wahrgenommen zu werden, sondern eine möglichst breite Schicht an Hörerschaft zu gewinnen. Insgesamt ein richtig starkes (Country) Pop-Album, der gemeine New Countryfan muss allerdings ein Höchstmaß an Toleranz mitbringen. Wer mit den letzten Sachen von Sam Hunt, Canaan Smith, Chase Rice, Brett Eldredge & Co. klarkommt, ist hier an der richtigen Stelle. (Daniel Daus)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Anthem - 3.14
2. Crash and Burn - 3.10
3. South Side - 2.50
4. Die A Happy Man - 3.47
5. Vacation - 3.43
6. Like It's The Last Time - 3.09
7. T-Shirt - 3.47
8. Single Girl - 3.17
9. The Day You Stop Lookin' Back - 3.24
10. Tangled - 3.30
11. Playing With Fire (feat. Jordin Sparks) - 3.25
12. I Feel Good (feat. LunchMoney Lewis) - 3.15
13. Learned It From The Radio - 3.41

Art-Nr.: 8980
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Richards, Jamie - latest & greatest [2016]
Der aus Shawnee/Oklahoma stammende, großartige Sänger und Somgwriter, zählt im "Red Dirt"-Land rund um Texas und Oklahoma zu den ganz arrivierten Vertretern der traditionellen, unverfälschten Countrymusic, so wie etwa ein George Strait oder Alan Jackson. In Nashville gehörte er zwar dem Songwriter-Stab von Curb Records an, aber als Interpret blieb ihm stets ein Majorlabel-Deal und damit der ganz große, nationale Erfolg in den USA verwärt. Doch, wie gesagt, für Texas und Oklahoma gilt das nicht, denn dort hat er ein enormes Standing. Mit seinem neuen Album "Latest & greates" bedient er sowohl seine eingefleischten Fans, als auch die, die es noch werden wollen (und sollten). Das Werk ist ein Überblick über seine bisherige Karriere mit vielen Hits, die in den Texas-Charts höchste Platzierungen erreichten, enthält aber auch 5 gro0artige, brandneue Songs, wie etwa das bereits mächtig erfolgreiche "Second hand smoke", ein knackiger, flotter "Real Country"-Uptempo-Song, in allerbester George Strait-/Mark Chesnutt-Tradition. Dieses Album ist ein hervorragend dazu geeignet Jamie Richards zu entdecken (und das lohnt sich wirklich, ihr Traditionalisten und "Pure Country"-Fans), aber auch ein "Muß" für seine Fans, für die die neuen Tracks unverzichtbar sein dürften. Ja es gibt sie noch, die gute, reine, unverfälschte Countrymusic - dank Leuten wie Jamie Richards.

Aus der Original-Produktbeschreibung:

Jamie Richards has spent his whole career just this side of the spotlight but, with one glance at his busy touring schedule and impressive discography, you wouldn't know it. By not being much of a social butterfly, and not submitting to the powers that be, Richards has been able to make music and entertain his loyal fans one simple way: his way. By putting the song and the music first, and surrounding himself with like-minded people, Richards has carved out a very unique and comfortable place in the Texas scene. As he gears up to release his latest album, LATEST & GREATEST, he is looking to reach new audiences as well as reconnect with those who have followed him since the beginning. "It seems like the environment of country music is changing," said Richards. "It's shifting back to what I've done all along with songs that have a message and make you feel something. I'm very excited for everyone to hear this new album. Whether you're a new fan looking for real country music or a long-time fan waiting to see what happens next, there is a song on here for just about anyone." Known for being a singer that can deliver a range of emotions, Richards has climbed the ranks of country music, one rung at a time. Finding his way to Curb Records in 1999, he became a staff writer and celebrated cuts by artists such as Hal Ketchum ("That's What You Get For Loving Me"), Ken Mellons ("Believe"), and the ever popular, "Loose, Loud and Crazy," by Texas favorite, Kevin Fowler. Leaving Nashville in 2001 to join Wes Daily at Houston's D Records, Texas became his "second home" and he has released five albums (NO REGRETS, BETWEEN THE LINES, DRIVE, SIDEWAYS, IT'S ALL ABOUT THE MUSIC) and 16 crowd-pleasing singles-12 of which made it into the Top 10 on the various Texas Music charts. From his first single, "Don't Try To Find Me" (2002), to the chart-topping "Drive" (2008) and his most recent hit, "I'll Have Another" (2013), success was imminent and his popularity knew no boundaries. Always a traditionalist, Richards' newest effort, LATEST & GREATEST, is a compilation of songs old and new. Featuring several fan favorites from over the years, the five new songs on the album usher in a new chapter in his storied career. With a plot line that never changes and a setting that is all too familiar, Richards stays true to his country roots by delivering music fit for the honky-tonk crowd.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Last Call - 4:13
2. Any Way You Want Me To - 4:00
3. Second Hand Smoke - 3:04
4. Never Gonna Hear It from Me - 3:17
5. Real - 2:53
6. Whiskey Night - 4:21
7. When You Love Somebody - 3:46
8. Drive - 3:21
9. Sayin Goodbye - 2:56
10. She's Cold as That Beer She's Drinkin - 4:06
11. I'll Have Another - 3:43
12. I'm Not Drinkin - 2:57
13. Easier by Now - 3:18
14. Real 2 (feat. Justin Frazell) - 2:50

Art-Nr.: 9339
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Roberts, Julie - alive [2011]
Sie hat sich eine lange Auszeit genommen, doch jetzt ist sie wieder da. Die genauso bezaubernde wie talentierte Julie Roberts (viele werden sich noch an ihr tolles Debut von 2004 und das ebeso starke "Men & Mascara" aus dem Jahre 2006 erinnern) hat zwar inzwischen keinen Major-Deal mehr, aber das schadet ihr überhaupt nicht. Im Gegnteil! Frei von allen Zwängen, aufgenommen mit jeder Menge großartiger Begleitmusiker aus der 1A-Garde Nashville's, geliingt Julie mit "Alive" ein ganz hervorragendes, kraftvolles, frisches, neues Album, von dem sie sagt, dass es genau das beeinhaltet, was sie auch machen wollte. Niemand hat ihr in irgendeiner Weise dazwischen gefunkt. "This is the real Julie Roberts"! Die Musik, mit der sie ihre immer noch zahlreichen Fans und die, die es noch werden wollen, beglückt, ist absolut zeitgemässer, ungemein lebendiger New Country mit einer sehr ausgewogenen Balance zwischen knackigen, powernden Uptempo-Stücken, gepflegtem Midtempo-Country und ein paar feinen Balladen. Jawohl, dem Titel ihres großartigen, neuen Albums folgend, kann man ohne jeden Zewifel bestätigen: Julie Roberts ist "alive" - und zwar in vollster Blüte!

Hier im Original-Wortland Julie's Statements zu jedem einzelnen Song des Albums:

“Mama Said Don’t”
I always put at least one song on my albums for my Mama. This song is a fun one I wrote with Rachel Proctor & Victoria Banks. It has that rootsy, bluesy, down-home feel to it that I love to perform live! I think everyone can relate to these lyrics!!

“Stronger”
I wrote this one with Don Schlitz just a few months before my album was finished. This song is the centerpiece for my entire record. It describes the road I have been on and the emotions I have felt during the 5 years since my last album was released. This is definitely a reflection into my life and into my faith of knowing that no matter how tough the road might appear to be, God never leaves my side and He makes me “Stronger”.

“Alive”
I heard this song about a year ago and I immediately thought “this sounds like part two to ‘Break Down Here’”. I knew I wanted to record it because I could see the story unfolding in my head of this visual lyric. I also knew I loved the title, “Alive”. I want my fans to know that I am still here! I am ‘alive’ and still making music. I’ve had a few stumbling blocks and a few years have gone by, but I’m back!

“You Got Me”
I heard and loved this song years ago and just held on to it like I do so many songs. I love that you really don’t have to think about these lyrics. It’s just a fun, happy, love song!!

“Yesterday’s Blue”
When I got together with Chris Roberts & Greg Biek to write this song, I told them I wanted to write a classic sounding song with attitude. I love the very last verse the most in this song because I almost sing what I’m sure so many people think sometimes when the one that they love leaves them. You’ll know what I’m talking about when you hear it!

“Aint No Thing”
This is another one of those songs I’ve held onto since the last record. I just LOVE the track and the lyrics in this one. I love to sing about real life stuff and I sing things I am not always so brave to say. I wish I could’ve told some of he guys that have left me “you know what, it aint no thang.” But, since I can’t say it, I’ll sing it!! ☺

“One For the Road”
Here’s another one that I probably wouldn’t say to someone in real life but have definitely lived. I love how blunt & straight-forward the lyric is. I like looking for and recording songs that I think would scare some people to sing…I AINT SKEERD, especially if it’s REAL to me!

“Let’s Fight”
I wrote this one with Jason Collum & Caitlin Smith. This one was the most fun to record because it was SO simple and just cool to me. I would actually love to make a record where all the tracks sound very similar to this one. I was inspired to write this one from a scene in one of my favorite movies, “Sweet Dreams” (the story of Patsy Cline).

“Whiskey and You”
I can see the video for this one in my head. I have loved this song for a really long time. I have known some people similar to the character singing in this song and I’ve seen how alcoholism can tear up a family/relationship. This song and lyric are so real to me. It’s such a sad song and the steel guitar makes it that much more sad. The sadder, the better for me!!

“Somebody Does”
I wrote this one long before the Nashville Flood in May 2010, but pulled it back out after we lost our home and I saw all of the people coming from everywhere to help my family. It took on an entirely different meaning for me when I listened to it then. I dedicate this one to everyone that reached out to help rebuild Nashville.

“Carolina From My Soul”
Marcus Hummon wrote and produced this track for my album. I’m from Lancaster, SC & this is a song about the feeling of comfort I get when I think about my life back there. When I sing this song, I see myself as I young girl in SC dreaming of singing country music. I always know that no matter where my music takes me in this world, Carolina will always be my home and in my soul.

“NASCAR Party”
I grew up watching NASCAR racing on television and going to dirt-track races so this is my tribute to the sport. When I wrote this song, I pictured myself and other NASCAR fans at the track and tried to put into words (in 2.5 minutes), how much fun it is to be there at the races. I had a blast writing, recording, and filming the video for it!

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Mama Said Don't - 3:09
2. Stronger - 4:24
3. Alive - 3:51
4. You Got Me - 2:29
5. Yesterday's Blue - 2:53
6. Ain't No Thing - 3:41
7. One For the Road - 3:29
8. Let's Fight - 3:23
9. Whiskey and You - 3:50
10. Somebody Does - 3:25
11. Carolina From My Soul - 3:41
12. Nascar Party - 2:43

Art-Nr.: 7799
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Mama said don't
Stronger
You got me
Ain't no thing
One for the road
Whiskey and you
Nascar party

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Robinson Brotherhood, Chris - anyway you love, we know how you feel [2016]
Die Stimme der The Black Crowes, der Spirit von Jerry Garcia und Grateful Dead und ein wenig "Psychedelic magic". Das neue, nunmehr schon vierte Album der Chris Robinson Brotherhood um ex Black Cowes-Frontmann Chris Robinson und Gitarrist Neal Casal ist da. Mehr "bluesy" und "funky" als die Vorgänger, herrlich retro und sehr jammig. Großartig!

Hier ein vorzügliches U.S.-Review im Original:
Perhaps it's unfair -- or at least slightly reductive -- to compare the Chris Robinson Brotherhood to the work of Rich Robinson, the estranged brother of the band's leader, but listening to their 2016 albums side by side illustrates the divide between the co-leaders of the Black Crowes. Flux, the fourth album by Rich, doubles down on the earthy Southern sounds that always rooted the Crowes, but Anyway You Love, We Know How You Feel, the fourth LP by the CRB, is so light it floats away on its own haze. Apart from the knowing "Leave My Guitar Alone," the rhythms aren't blues-boogie, they're nimble funk-rock colored by a psychedelic sensibility that isn't about chops but rather endless expansion. It's jam music where the playing isn't the point: it's the vibe and, sometimes, the song. Robinson certainly luxuriates in his winding words, lyrics that conjure fleeting indelible moments, but what impresses is the structure -- he doesn't write hooks, he writes melodies, where the verses slide into the chorus then glide into a bridge -- and how the band underpins these tunes with interplay that feels loose yet tight: the performances often stretch for longer than six minutes but the CRB aren't aimless, they're simply riding their groove. Such accents as early-'70s analog synths and a couple of pastoral acoustic numbers may give Anyway You Love, We Know How You Feel a throwback feel but the Chris Robinson Brotherhood aren't living in the past, they're pushing jam band tradition forward by keeping their expansion focused on funk. (Stephen Thomas Erlewine / AllMusic)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Narcissus Soaking Wet - 7:06
2. Forever as the Moon - 5:00
3. Ain't It Hard but Fair - 7:34
4. Give Us Back Our Eleven Days - 2:48
5. Some Gardens Green - 6:07
6. Leave My Guitar Alone - 6:08
7. Oak Apple Day - 7:27
8. California Hymn - 4:34

Art-Nr.: 9232
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Robinson Brotherhood, Chris - if you lived here, you would be home by now [2016]
5-Track EP! Nur wenige Monate nach der Veröffentlichung des hoch gelobten Albums "Anyway you love, we know how you feel" schiebt die großartige Band um den ehemaligen The Black Crowes-Frontmann Chris Robinson mit der ebenso famosen EP "If you lived here, you would be home by now" gerade noch mal einen 5 weitere, tolle Songs umfassenden Nachschlag aus diesen Aufnahmesessions hinterher. Ja, es hamdelt sich um wirklich prächtiges Material, zumeist nicht ganz so funky, wie die Songs aus dem vorherigen Werk, sondern eher wieder lockerer und Grateful Dead-/ und Jerry Garcia-ähnlicher, sowie schön jammig. Sehr stark!

Aus der Original-Produktbeschreibung:
The Chris Robinson Brotherhood has delivered If You Lived Here, You Would Be Home By Now, a companion EP arriving just a few months after the release of their critically acclaimed studio album, Anyway You Love, We Know How You Feel. The five track collection, includes New Cannonball Rag, Shadow Cosmos and Roan County Banjo, all of which were recorded during the same Stinson Beach sessions that resulted in the full length LP. With these songs already staples of The CRBs live sets, anticipation is high for the official studio recordings.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. New Cannonball Rag - 6:21
2. Shadow Cosmos - 5:45
3. Roan County Banjo - 7:50
4. From the North Garden - 4:43
5. Sweet Sweet Lullaby - 5:18

Art-Nr.: 9326
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Robinson Brotherhood, Chris - phosphorescent harvest [2014]
The Chris Robinson Brotherhood mit ihrem herausragenden, dritten Studioalbum! Die neue Formation des The Black Crowes-Frontmannes mit einem ganz herrlichen, lockeren, den unbeschwerten Duft der freien, zwanglosen Hippe-Kultur geradezu riechenden Roots-/Jamrock-Album voller wunderbarer Psychedelic- und Westcoast-Attribute. Baumstarkes, live zuletzt schon vielfach gespieltes Songmaterial. Großartig, wie die Band ihre rootsige Grundlage, die stets spürbare Frische der Westküste und psychedelische, teils ein wenig spacige Keyboard-Linien in einen homogenen, jammigen Einklang bringt. CRB in Bestform! Die Stimme der The Black Ctowes und der Spirit von Grateful Dead - was für eine Kombination!

Die offizielle Produktbeschreibung:

The CHRIS ROBINSON BROTHERHOOD are set to unveil their third studio album PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST via Silver Arrow Records. The band--Chris Robinson (lead vocals, guitar), Neal Casal (guitar, vocals), Adam MacDougall (keys, vocals), George Sluppick (drums) and Mark Dutton (bass, vocals)--will also hit the road in conjunction with the album's release. The tour officially starts April 29 at Terrapin Crossroads in San Rafael, CA with dates confirmed into late May (and more to be announced).
PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST is a treasure trove of 10 songs--including several the band road-tested over the last few years--that advances the band's kaleidoscopic sound, which is deeply soulful, rootsy and spacey all at once. There's strong songcraft here, with a free-flowing delivery; it is music that is in no hurry to reach its destination but firmly knows where it is going. From the beginning, the CRB set out to do something different from what they had done before, creating their own scene with a musical prowess, cohesive songwriting and a unified commitment to experimentation, both in the studio and on the road (they've performed over 230 shows since forming in 2011).
"The best perspective I have on what's going on in my life--good and bad--is what comes out in the songs," says Chris Robinson. "As you move on in time, you get older, you have relationships. Some of them are good, some fail. Friends. Drugs. Life. Death. People come, people go. Songwriting is a completely different emotional response to your life and to what it means, to in some poetic nature, put it out there."
PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST follows the release of the companion albums Big Moon Ritual (June 2012) and The Magic Door (September 2012) plus last year's live quadruple vinyl Betty's S.F. Blends, Vol 1. The group continues to record with producer Thom Monahan, and Robinson wrote all of the songs with Casal, save for two that are Robinson solo compositions ("Tornado," "Jump The Turnstiles").
"We're really going by the electricity and the vibrations that we can sort of tune in to," Robinson recently told Relix magazine (Jan/Feb '14). "There's a psychedelic component to it. That's part of the greasing the wheels of the great cosmic engine, with psychedelic thought and philosophy and action. If you get my drift." He went on to talk about the more rock and roll feel on PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST, and his overall vision for the Brotherhood: "I'm not going to have hit records. I don't write pop songs. But then again, I find a deep need to express myself and how I'm feeling and where I am and where I've been and where I'm going by writing songs. Why change something to make it easier for anyone else, when I think if we stay sincere and keep our energies in a real creative place, then people will wander into our small community, and it maybe would get more popular…to tend that garden is a great responsibility. But I want it to grow." Check out the whole Relix feature here.
Rolling Stone editor David Fricke picked the CHRIS ROBINSON BROTHERHOOD as one of his favorites of 2012, and praised their live performance in New York City, saying "…the singer's acid-country Brotherhood, with ex-Ryan Adams guitarist Neal Casal, were a sublime time onstage and across these two albums, recorded at the same sessions and issued six months apart. The Irving Plaza show was a characteristic live high. In the second set, Robinson steered out of a rattling ‘Tough Mama,' from Bob Dylan's Planet Waves, into the long reverie ‘Girl on the Mountain,' a song from an earlier side trip, New Earth Mud, given fresh air and a new coat of DayGlo paint (1/30/13)."

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Shore Power - 4.41
2. About a Stranger - 5.07
3. Meanwhile In The Gods.... - 6.08
4. Badlands Here We Come - 5.24
5. Clear Blue Sky & The Good Doctor - 7.47
6. Beggar's Moon - 6.55
7. Wanderer's Lament - 5.37
8. Tornado - 5.04
9. Jump The Turnstiles - 6.40
10. Burn Slow - 7.13
11. Humboldt Windchimes - 4.38

Art-Nr.: 8543
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Shore power
About a stranger
Meanwhile in the Gods...
Badlands here we come
Clear blue sky & the good doctor
Wanderer's lament
Burn slow

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Robinson Brotherhood, Chris - phosphorescent harvest ~ vinyl [2014]
Vinyl-Ausgabe!

2 LP-Set, inklusive 7" Single! Kommt im tollen Foldout-Cover! 180 Gramm! US-Ausgabe im farbigen Vinyl (LP 1 = orange / LP 2 = rot)! Die zusätzliche 2 Track 7" Single enthält die beiden zusätzlichen Nummern "Humboldt Windchimes" (ist zwar auf der CD, nicht aber auf der DoLP enthalten) und "Star Crossed Lonely Sailor" (kompletter Bonustrack, nicht auf der CD enthalten).

The Chris Robinson Brotherhood mit ihrem herausragenden, dritten Studioalbum! Die neue Formation des The Black Crowes-Frontmannes mit einem ganz herrlichen, lockeren, den unbeschwerten Duft der freien, zwanglosen Hippe-Kultur geradezu riechenden Roots-/Jamrock-Album voller wunderbarer Psychedelic- und Westcoast-Attribute. Baumstarkes, live zuletzt schon vielfach gespieltes Songmaterial. Großartig, wie die Band ihre rootsige Grundlage, die stets spürbare Frische der Westküste und psychedelische, teils ein wenig spacige Keyboard-Linien in einen homogenen, jammigen Einklang bringt. CRB in Bestform! Die Stimme der The Black Ctowes und der Spirit von Grateful Dead - was für eine Kombination!

Für Soundclips klicken Sie bitte die CD-Ausgabe!

Die offizielle Produktbeschreibung:

The CHRIS ROBINSON BROTHERHOOD are set to unveil their third studio album PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST via Silver Arrow Records. The band--Chris Robinson (lead vocals, guitar), Neal Casal (guitar, vocals), Adam MacDougall (keys, vocals), George Sluppick (drums) and Mark Dutton (bass, vocals)--will also hit the road in conjunction with the album's release. The tour officially starts April 29 at Terrapin Crossroads in San Rafael, CA with dates confirmed into late May (and more to be announced).
PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST is a treasure trove of 10 songs--including several the band road-tested over the last few years--that advances the band's kaleidoscopic sound, which is deeply soulful, rootsy and spacey all at once. There's strong songcraft here, with a free-flowing delivery; it is music that is in no hurry to reach its destination but firmly knows where it is going. From the beginning, the CRB set out to do something different from what they had done before, creating their own scene with a musical prowess, cohesive songwriting and a unified commitment to experimentation, both in the studio and on the road (they've performed over 230 shows since forming in 2011).
"The best perspective I have on what's going on in my life--good and bad--is what comes out in the songs," says Chris Robinson. "As you move on in time, you get older, you have relationships. Some of them are good, some fail. Friends. Drugs. Life. Death. People come, people go. Songwriting is a completely different emotional response to your life and to what it means, to in some poetic nature, put it out there."
PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST follows the release of the companion albums Big Moon Ritual (June 2012) and The Magic Door (September 2012) plus last year's live quadruple vinyl Betty's S.F. Blends, Vol 1. The group continues to record with producer Thom Monahan, and Robinson wrote all of the songs with Casal, save for two that are Robinson solo compositions ("Tornado," "Jump The Turnstiles").
"We're really going by the electricity and the vibrations that we can sort of tune in to," Robinson recently told Relix magazine (Jan/Feb '14). "There's a psychedelic component to it. That's part of the greasing the wheels of the great cosmic engine, with psychedelic thought and philosophy and action. If you get my drift." He went on to talk about the more rock and roll feel on PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST, and his overall vision for the Brotherhood: "I'm not going to have hit records. I don't write pop songs. But then again, I find a deep need to express myself and how I'm feeling and where I am and where I've been and where I'm going by writing songs. Why change something to make it easier for anyone else, when I think if we stay sincere and keep our energies in a real creative place, then people will wander into our small community, and it maybe would get more popular…to tend that garden is a great responsibility. But I want it to grow." Check out the whole Relix feature here.
Rolling Stone editor David Fricke picked the CHRIS ROBINSON BROTHERHOOD as one of his favorites of 2012, and praised their live performance in New York City, saying "…the singer's acid-country Brotherhood, with ex-Ryan Adams guitarist Neal Casal, were a sublime time onstage and across these two albums, recorded at the same sessions and issued six months apart. The Irving Plaza show was a characteristic live high. In the second set, Robinson steered out of a rattling ‘Tough Mama,' from Bob Dylan's Planet Waves, into the long reverie ‘Girl on the Mountain,' a song from an earlier side trip, New Earth Mud, given fresh air and a new coat of DayGlo paint (1/30/13)."

Das komplette Tracklisting:

DoLP:
1. Shore Power - 4.41
2. About a Stranger - 5.07
3. Meanwhile In The Gods.... - 6.08
4. Badlands Here We Come - 5.24
5. Clear Blue Sky & The Good Doctor - 7.47
6. Beggar's Moon - 6.55
7. Wanderer's Lament - 5.37
8. Tornado - 5.04
9. Jump The Turnstiles - 6.40
10. Burn Slow - 7.13
11. Humboldt Windchimes - 4.38

7" Single:
1. Humboldt Windchimes
2. Star Crossed Lonely Sailor

Art-Nr.: 8544
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: LP || Preis: € 22,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Robinson Brotherhood, Chris - the magic door [2012]
3 Monate nach "Big moon ritual" lassen The Chris Robinson Brotherhood (die neue, grandiose Formation des Frontmannes der The Black Crowes, nachdem die mal wieder für unbestimmte Zeit auf Eis liegen) kommt nun mit "The magic door" das angekündigte Sequal. Die Scheibe schließt nahtlos an den Vorgänger an. Wunderbarer, authentischer Hippie Roots-/Jamrock mit viel "Soul", viel Psychedeli-Feeling und einem Flair von sehr der Grateful Dead-Philosophie ähnelnden Seventies Retro Westcoast-Anlagen. Chris Robinson selbst zeigt sich bereits jetzt mehr als zufrieden über seine neue Band: "We really feel these records set the stage for another full year, where we'll see how far we can go with it. We already feel successful because we have the freedom to do what we want. And it's always cosmic. The times demand it".

Die Original-Produktbeschreibung:

In June 2012, following a 118-show journey, The Chris Robinson Brotherhood released their debut album Big Moon Ritual (Silver Arrow/Megaforce Records). It is a 'roots-o-licious collection of tunes with beautiful guitar tones, inventive parts, gorgeous solos, and killer vocals all around,' praised Guitar Player (June 2012), while Relix similarly raved by describing the album as 'a full immersion into Southern psychadelics, nine-minute song swoops, extended grooves and wailing vocals' (June 2012). The fruits of the band's hard-charging January 2012 recording sessions with producer Thom Monahan are heard not only on 'Big Moon Ritual' but in its companion album 'The Magic Door', set for release in September 2012.
Each album spotlights seven tunes, with 'The Magic Door' containing six originals 'Someday Past The Sunset', 'Vibration & Light Suite', 'Appaloosa', 'Little Lizzie Mae', 'Sorrows Of A Blue Eyed Liar' and 'Wheel Don't Roll' plus a cover of Hank Ballard's 'Let's Go, Let's Go, Let's Go', a CRB set list staple.
Chris Robinson (lead vocals, guitar), Neal Casal (guitar, vocals), Adam MacDougall (keys, vocals), George Sluppick (drums) and Mark Dutton (bass, vocals) create exciting musical sparks throughout 'The Magic Door'. 'We really feel these records set the stage for another full year, where we'll see how far we can go with it,' say Robinson. 'We already feel successful because we have the freedom to do what we want. And it's always cosmic. The times demand it.'

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Let's Go Let's Go Let's Go - 4:55
2. Someday Past the Sunset - 6:20
3. Appaloosa - 5:17
4. Vibration & Light Suite - 13:56
5. Little Lizzie Mae - 6:19
6. Sorrows of a Blue Eyed Liar - 8:38
7. Wheel Don't Roll - 5:30

Art-Nr.: 7911
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Robinson, Rich - flux [2016]
Ex The Black Crowes Lead Gitarrist Rich Robinson, der zusammen mit seinem Bruder Chris Robinson (Chris Robinson Brotherhoodd" das zentrale Gerippe der "Krähen" bildete, kommt mit einem neuen, enorm starken Solo-Album, von dem er selbst sagt, es sei sein bislang "rundestes" und vollendedstes. In der Tat ist Rich in famoser Verfassung. "Flux" bringt uns eine knapp 60-minütige Reise durch die Landschaften des bluesigen, Gitarren-orientierten Rootsrocks, Southern Rocks, klassischen American Rocks, mit einem Hauch von Americana, Psychedelic und wunderbaren, jammigen Momenten. Erdig, schön "gritty" und ausgetattet mit bestens strukturiertem, erstklassigem Songmaterial liegt diese Musik näher an der der guten alten The Black Crowes, als je zuvor. Und das kommt einfach klasse. Vor allem der stetig zu spürende Southern-Esprit ist einfach großartig. Zudem war Rich Robinson gesanglich nie besser, ganz zu schweigen von seinem blendenden Gitarrenspiel. Gleich der erste Song, "The upstairs land" ist eine "Killer"-Nummer. Was wir hören, ist ein toller, ganz dezent swampig angehauchter, leicht schwüler, dennoch durchaus lockerer, einen unmittelbar gefangen nehmenden Groove, dazu exzellente Gitarren, eine prächtige Orgel-Untermalung und, bei einem überaus kraftvollen Refrain, ein ordentlich "heavy" in Szene gesetztes, psychedelisches Gitarrensolo in der Mitte. Die Nummer bleibt klasse hängen. Toller Song und gleichzeitig der Auftakt für 13 vielseitige, ganz großartige Stücke, die, jedes für sich, ihren ganz eigenen Reiz ausüben. Wie zum Beispiel der erdige, flockige, hinreissend melodische, von Rich gesanglich hervorragend vorgetragene und mit herrlichen Lead Gitarren (die zweite Lead Gitarre spielt hier im übrigen Blackberry Smoke's Charlie Starr) gespickte, astreine Southern Rocker "Music that will lift me", das schön funky groovende (klasse E-Piano, feurige Wah Wah-Gitarren) und mit einem tollen, wieder leicht psychedelisch wirkenden (Wah Wah)-Solo aufwartende, kernige "Eclipse the night", das mit lockerem Pianospiel und feinen Gitarren inszenierte, Americana-mässige, dabei wieder voller Southern-Flair steckende, sehr auch an die Musik seines Bruders Chris und die späten BlackCrowes erinnernde "Time to leave", das wunderbar psychedelische "Astral", der von mächtigen Basslines und glühender E-Gitarre durchzogene Bluesrocker "Which way your wind blows" oder das mit seinen wuchtigen Riffs gar an Led Zeppelin erinnernde, einen prächtigen Album-Abschluß bildente, fette "Sleepwalker". Von vorn bis hinten ist das ein super Album! Ganz klar: Rich Robinson ist an einem neuen Höhepunkt seiner "after Black Crowes"-Karriere angelangt. "Great"!

Die Original-Produktbeschreibung:

With Flux, Rich Robinson presents his most accomplished solo album to date--13 new, original songs that draw deeply on his diverse roots. A blues-rock odyssey straight from Robinson's soul, the guitarist returned to Applehead Studios in Saugerties, NY, the recording facility that has become his creative hub. Nestled away within Woodstock's famed artist enclave, Robinson's work at the studio has yielded Woodstock Sessions, The Ceaseless Sight and now Flux. The entire writing and recording process, explains Robinson, is the driving force for his creativity. I love being in the recording studio, states Robinson simply. It fuels the desire to create within me. I enjoy watching it unfold. Each development fires another idea and in the end you have this organically created song that seeming came out of nowhere. It brings me such joy and peace. It never ceases to amaze me.
Flux showcases a rich variety of tempos, tones and guitar tunings, ranging from the vibrant swagger Robinson first popularized with the Black Crowes to the rich, evocative allure evident in songs such as Sleepwalker and Ides Of Nowhere. Those were great examples of songs transforming from little ideas I originally had. Both just came alive when I had the band with me in the studio. They weren't anything like what I had first envisioned. It was exciting to experience that process.
Robinson's creative process within the recording studio shaped such standout Flux tracks as Music That Will Lift Me, the album's first single. I am always excited by the creation itself, Robinson explains. I used the studio to specifically write that song. I had these parts written but it started to unfold once I got to Applehead Studios. I later wrote the lyrics in Nashville and it had really evolved into something special. Brimming with redemptive spirit, Robinson's vocal and guitar work shine throughout. Joining him on the track is Charlie Starr of Blackberry Smoke who lends guitar alongside Robinson's own.
Backed by musicians Matt Slocum (keys), Marco Benevento (keys), Danny Mitchell (keys) Zak Gabbard (bass), Joe Magistro (drums / percussion), and vocalists John Hogg and Danielia Cotton, Robinson transports the listener with a powerful collection of music. From the groove-laden feel of opener The Upstairs Land, the kick of funk via Shipwreck, and the gospel swell of Everything's Alright, to the emotional build-up of Life and the hearty stomp of closing track Sleepwalker, Flux ebbs and flows through moods, delivering a varied listener experience.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. The Upstairs Land - 3:15
2. Shipwreck - 3:57
3. Music That Will Lift Me - 4:00
4. Everything's Alright - 5:49
5. Eclipse The Night - 3:27
6. Life - 4:42
7. Ides Of Nowhere - 4:03
8. Time To Leave - 4:58
9. Astral - 4:51
10. For To Give - 4:15
11. Which Way Your Wind Blows - 6:20
12. Surrender - 4:25
13. Sleepwalker - 5:25

Art-Nr.: 9203
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
The upstairs land
Music that will lift me
Eclipse the night
Time to leave
Astral
Which way your wind blows
Sleepwalker

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Robinson, Rich - the ceaseless sight [2014]
Baumstarkes, neues Album des The Black Crowes Co-Finders und Gitarristen Rich Robinson, mit dem er endgültig aus dem Schatten seines Bruders Chris tritt.

Ein begeistertes U.S.-Review:

The Ceaseless Sight is the third solo album from The Black Crowes founder member Rich Robinson recorded last year at Applehead Recording, Woodstock, New York. His solo albums have been few and far between, possibly because they only come along when the Crowes are on hiatus, but perhaps that’s a good thing, because they are always a treat, well worth the wait. As songwriter Robinson has always driven the Crowes forward with an unmistakeable sound, and it’s magnified here as he steps out of brother Chris’s frontman shadow and takes the spotlight himself. He’s accompanied by Joe Magistro (drums) and Marco Benevento (keyboards), and by guest vocalists Amy Helm and Katrine Ottosen, and Steve Molitz, who plays keys on “Down the Road.”
I’m struggling to pick a standout track because it’s one of those albums that just flows as one cohesive piece of work. That said, there are numerous influences. One Road Hill, featuring guest vocalist Amy Helm, with it’s folky hand-clapping conjures up images of playing guitars round the campfire. I Remember features the kind of blues guitar that seems to read your soul and translate your feelings into the purest of sounds. The same can be said for Robinson’s voice on In You. He has a far less rough, rocky voice than his brother, and on this song it’s plaintive, wistful and thoroughly beautiful. The guitar solo on Down The Road is probably as all out rock as the album gets, which is fitting as this is also the track which gives the album its name, “Past land and lakes and vista ‘scapes, ceaseless sight on the horizon.” This Unfortunate Show is the most Black Crowes like track, with percussion, keyboards and voice building into the catchiest chorus on the album, and guest vocals from Katrine Ottosen adding another element.
Special mention should also go to the album artwork. Often with reviews we listen to a digital download, but in this instance I had the chance to hold an actual CD in my hand and pore over the accompanying booklet. It’s very basic, just song lyrics and production information, but lots of thought has clearly gone into its sepia toned, soft focus cornfield photography, blended on the cover with original artwork by Marq Spusta, and inside with a flowing font and simple filigree which work with the music very well.
In short, this is that rare treat, an album where every track is a piece in a puzzle, put them together and you have something I’ll be listening to for a very long time. Which is good, because it’ll probably be a long wait for the next Rich Robinson album! I don’t give full marks to many albums, I like to think 4/5 gives you something to work towards, but I just can’t justify not giving this album the full 5/5. (Planetmosh)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. I Know You - 4.13
2. Down The Road - 4.11
3. One Road Hill - 4.17
4. The Giving Key - 5.45
5. This Unfortunate Show - 3.46
6. In Comes The Night - 4.15
7. Inside - 4.00
8. I Have A Feeling - 5.30
9. I Remember - 3.49
10. In You - 5.14
11. Trial And Faith - 5.40
12. Obscure The Day - 4.52

Art-Nr.: 8585
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Rogers, Kenny - you can't make old friends [2013]
Lang erwartetes, neues Album von Kenny Rogers, das die Countrylegende kürzlich als sein vielleicht bestes, das er je aufgenommen habe, bezeichntete. Enthält über 30 Jahre nach "Islands in the stream" mit dem Totelstück "You can't make old friends" ein neues Duett mit seiner "alten" Freundin Dolly Parton.

Hier die offizoelle Produktbeschreibung im Original:

With an astonishing recording career that now spans over seven decades, you would think music legend Kenny Rogers had already accomplished it all. However, you d be wrong. Rogers 2013 album You Can t Make Old Friends proves once again that he still has plenty to say. The album reunites Rogers with long-time friend and collaborator, Dolly Parton, for a brand new duet on the title track, "You Can t Make Old Friends." It was over thirty years ago when Kenny and Dolly released "Islands In The Stream, " which went on to become an instant classic and one of the most successful singles by a duo in history.
"What a thrill it was for me to work again with my buddy, Dolly Parton, and what a special song, " remarked Rogers. "Working with Dolly is always a little like going home. Everything felt comfortable. " With a collaboration of producers, including Kyle Lehning, Warren Hartman, and Dann Huff, You Can t Make Old Friends is Rogers first country album since the release of Water & Bridges in 2006. Rogers considers this release the most varied and complete album of his lifetime.
"I can honestly say this may be the best album I've ever recorded, " added Rogers. "The musical diversity is extraordinary. It goes from songs I would normally sing, to songs I would normally never even listen to. In this business, you do albums to both grow artistically, and for the sheer love of music. We chose what I think are the most diverse and best songs I've ever had access to." You Can't Make Old Friends showcases a certain familiarity that can be expected from Rogers, along with fresh twists of creativity that see the versatile Grammy Award-winner stretching his artistry into new musical territory. In addition to the great story songs and love songs Rogers has become well known for, flavors of rock and roll, soul, gospel, southern rock, zydeco, and sounds of the Southwest are embraced in this bold recording.
Kenny Rogers had a massive year in 2013, including the announcement of his induction into the Country Music Hall of Fame this fall. Rogers also performed on the main stage at this year s Glastonbury Festival to a colossal audience on the grounds and around the UK as it was televised on BBC. His Through The Years World Tour included stops in Morocco, England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, Switzerland, Canada and the U.S. In addition, a novel Rogers co-wrote with Mike Blakely, What Are The Chances, and Rogers New York Times Best Selling autobiography, Luck Or Something Like It, were both released.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. You Can't Make Old Friends (with Dolly Parton) - 3:58
2. All I Need Is One - 3:31
3. You Had to Be There - 4:00
4. 'Merica - 3:44
5. Turn This World Around - 4:32
6. Dreams of the San Joaquin - 6:06
7. Don't Leave Me in the Night Time (with Buckwheat Zydeco) - 2:51
8. Look at You - 3:57
9. Neon Horses - 4:31
10. When You Love Someone - 3:41
11. It's Gonna Be Easy Now - 3:47

Art-Nr.: 8349
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Romano, Daniel - come cry with me [2013]
Shooter Jennings sagt über Daniel Romano und sein exzellentes Album "Come cry with me": "Gram Parsons mixed with George Jones" - und recht hat er. Aber wie Romano das macht: Einfach fantastisch! Klassischer Old School, Sixtiers-angelehnter Country, ohne jede Schnörkel, durch und durch authentisch, voller hinreissender "lonesome crying steelguitar" und wunderschönen Melodien. Und trotzdem trifft er den Zahn der Zeit. Ein super Teil!

Das komplette Tracklistng:

1. Middle Child - 3:48
2. Two Pillow Sleeper - 3:51
3. Just Between You and Me - 3:39
4. I'm Not Crying Over You - 2:53
5. He Lets Her Memory Go (Wild) - 5:02
6. Chicken Bill - 2:31
7. When I Was Abroad - 2:16
8. Where No One Else Will Find It - 2:40
9. That's the Very Moment - 4:14
10. A New Love (Can Be Found) - 3:33

Art-Nr.: 8047
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 12,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Middle child
Two pillow sleeper
Just between you and me
He lets her memory go (wild)
Chicken Bill
When I was abroad
That's the very moment

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Romano, Daniel - if i've only one time askin' [2015]
Sein Label beschreibt ihn als "“a young man with an old mind", der amerikanische Rolling Stone ist begeistert und sagt, seine Songs “lead their baritone-voiced creator down a path filled with countrypolitan crooning, honky-tonk heartache and mid-century melodrama", Shooter Jennings nennt ihn schlicht eine Kreuzung aus Gram Pasons und George Jones... - die Fachwelt lobpreist den Kanadier aus Ontario in den höchsten Tönen. Vollkommen zu Recht! Daniel Romano's neues Album "If I've only one time askin'" knüpft nahtlos an seinen begnadeten 2013er Vorgänger "Come cry with me" an und bietet einmal mehr fantastischen, voller hinreissendem Twang steckenden, klassischen Old School, Fifties-, Sixties- und Seventies-angelehnten Retro-Country ohne jeden Schnörkel, durch und durch authentisch und dennoch absolut auf der Höhe der Zeit. Traumhafte Melodien, großartiges Songwriting, dieses herrliche Country Nostalgie-Feeling, das pure Honky Tonk-Flair, heulende Steelguitar, klimperndes Klavier, tolle Akkordeon-Sounds und ein mit den typischen "Klischees" behafteter Country-Groove (das meinen wir im allerbesten Sinne durch und durch positiv) machen diese Songs zu genialen, "cineastischen" Country-Perlen. Was für eine Wonne! Ob das pompös arrangierte (fette Streicher) "I'm gonna teach you", die mit einer Gänsehaut-Melodie aufwartende, von heulender Pedal Steel begleitete, herrlich "schnulzige" Ballade "Old fires die", das locker und flockig daherkommende, mit einem tollen Gram Pasons Claifornia-Feeling aufwartende, wieder wunderbar melodische "Strange faces", das wohlige "There's a hardship", der twangige, mit tollem E-Gitarren-Picking verfeinerte, grandiose Honky Tonker "Learning to do without me" - ein Stück ist stärker als das andere. Daniel Romano, der ehemalige Punk Rock'n Roller, lebt und agiert in seiner ganz eigenen Countrywelt. Faszinierend!

1. I'm Gonna Teach You - 2.35
2. Old Fires Die - 3.38
3. Strange Faces - 3.00
4. All The Way Under The Hill - 2.55
5. If I've Only One Time Askin' - 2.54
6. The One That Got Away (Came Back Today) - 4.13
7. There's A Hardship - 3.30
8. Learning To Do Without Me - 3.21
9. Two Word Joe - 3.18
10. If You Go Your Way (I'll Go Blind) - 4.58
11. Let Me Sleep (At The End Of A Dream) - 4.18

Art-Nr.: 8938
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Angebot || Typ: CD || Preis: € 9,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
I'm gonna teach you
Old fires die
Strange faces
If I've only one time askin'
There's a hardship
Learning to do without me
Let me sleep (at the end of a dream)

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Secret Sisters, The - you don't own me anymore [2017]
Großartiges, neues Album von Lydia and Laura Rogers aus dem US-Bundesstaat Alabama, aka The Secret Sisters, die, ausgestattet mit fantastischen Stimmen (hinreissender Harmonie-Gesang), erneut einen geradezu magischen Mix aus Folk, Country, Bluegrass, Gospel, Roots und Americana präsentieren. Songs wie etwa der folkig swingende Opener"Tennessee river runs low", das auf einem dem früheren Neil Young ähnelnden Groove basierende, auch ein wenig an The Band erinnernde "Mississippi", die erneut folkig agehauchten Americana-Nummern "Carry me" und "'Til it's over", das mit dem Material der jungen Emmylou Harris vergleichbare, wunderschöne "He's fine", das grassige "King Cotton", oder der herrliche, traditionelle Country-Waltz "Little again" zeigen eindrucksvoll, über welch außergeöhnliches, vielseitiges musikalisches Gespür die beiden und ihre exzellenten Begleitmusiker verfügen. Zum Genießen!

Hier ein Original U.S.-Review:

The Secret Sisters, much like the characters in some of their songs, know a thing or two about surviving. After a meteoric debut in 2010 shepherded by the likes of Dave Cobb and T Bone Burnett and heaps of praise for both their self-titled, cover-heavy album and their live shows, they found themselves dropped by their label, set adrift in a management change, and embroiled in a lawsuit. Ultimately, the sisters – Lydia and Laura Rogers – had to file personal bankruptcy. They went from opening shows for Bob Dylan and Paul Simon to cleaning houses to make ends meet. That’s a pretty tough spot from which to think about new music, but amid all the chaos, new songs were brewing. A nudge from Brandi Carlile (who ended up producing, along with her bandmates the Hanseroth twins) and a successful crowdfunding campaign brought You Don’t Own Me Anymore to life.
And what a vivid, beating-heart life it is. It’s hard to put this album on as background music when the characters reach out so openly, the music spills out so energetically, and the harmonies pull heartstrings so earnestly. Listen, each song compels, and learn something. Or at least feel something – and it seems nearly the whole range of human emotion is represented here, as realistically as a phone call from a friend or the pages of a diary.
Opening track “Tennessee River Runs Low” (check it out in the video below) is a delightfully retro-sounding declaration of intent – a statement that the Sisters are back and ready for whatever life might wish to dish out. And what follows is equally compelling and just plain great to listen to. “He’s Fine” captures with aching realism the heartbreak of being alone after the one you love ends up loving someone else, and “To All the Girls Who Cry” is a warm hug and a glass of wine to all sisters who are hurting. Title track “You Don’t Own Me Anymore” is simultaneously lovely and dark in sound, a chronicle of the process of standing up after being knocked down. It’s an entirely new take on an age-old theme – something the Secret Sisters prove on this album they excel at.
The sisters’ soaring harmonies sound like a letter found in a closet, nostalgic and classic – yet utterly modern as applied to songs that capture life in our own time. On You Don’t Own Me Anymore, the Secret Sisters have found their sound, and appear utterly at home and here to stay.
(Stacy Chandler / No Depression)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Tennessee River Runs Low - 3:41
2. Mississippi - 4:23
3. Carry Me - 4:05
4. King Cotton - 3:12
5. Kathy's Song - 3:43
6. He's Fine - 3:43
7. To All the Girls Who Cry - 4:22
8. Little Again - 4:03
9. You Don't Own Me Anymore - 3:51
10. The Damage - 3:26
11. 'Til It's Over - 2:56
12. Flee as a Bird - 2:35

Art-Nr.: 9472
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock; Country
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Tennessee river runs low
Mississippi
Carry me
King's cotton
He's fine
Little again
'Til it's over

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Seldom Scene - long time... seldom scene [2014]
Seit über 40 Jahren besteht diese legendäre, überaus einflussreiche Bluegrass-Formation nun schon Jetzt haben sie in ihrer aktuellen Besetzung, es ist die längste unveränderte in der Historie der Band, noch einmal 16 ihrer großen Klassiker neu eingespielt und dafür ein paar alte Weggefährten, wie die Original-Mitglieder John Starling und Ton Gray, sowie Emmylou Harris eingeladen, sie bei dem ein oder anderen Song zu unterstützen. Das Ergebnis ist großartig. Toll zum Beispiel die neue Fassung von Herb Pedersen's "Wait a minute" oder Gram Pasons' "Hickory wind". Edle, exquisite Bluegrass-Musik von einer der ganz großen Bands des Genres. Enthält ein feines, 36-seitiges Booklet!

Die Original-Produktbeschreibung:

For more than four decades, profoundly influential bluegrass band The Seldom Scene has shared its undeniable talent, progressive repertoire, and creative spirit both in the studio and on stage. Long Time: Seldom Scene features fresh interpretations of 16 oft-requested tunes and is the band's first studio album since the GRAMMY-nominated album Scenechronized in 2007. It's a family reunion in all the best ways, featuring the current and longest-running lineup, joined by founding members Tom Gray and John Starling and guests Chris Eldridge, Emmylou Harris, and Rickie Simpkins.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. California Cottonfields - 3:04
2. Wait a Minute (feat. John Starling) - 5:13
3. What Am I Doing Hangin' Round - 2:49
4. Hickory Wind (feat. Emmylou Harris) - 4:02
5. I'll Be No Stranger There - 2:19
6. Walk Through This World with Me - 2:32
7. Big Train (From Memphis) - 2:45
8. With Body and Soul (feat. Emmylou Harris, Tom Gray, John Starling) - 3:21
9. Paradise - 2:56
10. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue - 3:20
11. Mean Mother Blues (feat. John Starling) - 3:07
12. My Better Years - 3:42
13. Little Georgia Rose (feat. Tom Gray) - 2:54
14. Like I Used to Do - 4:09
15. Through the Bottom of the Glass - 2:42
16. Lorena - 5:26

Art-Nr.: 8553
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


Zurück || Weiter