Artikel 1 bis 15 von 19 gefundenen...

[1-15] [16-30]

 
Allman Brothers Band, The - fillmore west '71 [2019]
4 CD-Set! Aufgenommen 3 Monate vor dem brühmten Fillmore East-Album, erscheint nun, im Rahmen der Feierlichkeiten zum 50-jährigen Gründungsjubiläum der Band, erstmalig über die Band-eigene "Allman Brothers Band Recording Company", bzw. unter der Nachlass-Lizenz von Galadrielle Allman (Duane Allman's Tochter) & Gregg Allman Estate dieses großartige 4 CD-Set, welches die 3 Konzerte der Allman Brothers im legendären Fillmore West von San Francisco vom 29., 30. und 31. Januar 1971 enthält. Dazu gibt es als Bonustrack noch eine über 45-minütige Fassung von "Mountain Jam", aufgenommen im New Orleans "Warehouse" am 13. März 1970. Zusammengestellt von den Reel-to-Reel Soundboard Masters aus den Archiven der Band, ist dies ein weiteres, historisches Highlight, auf das die Allman Brothers-Fangemeinde sehnlichst gewartet hat.

Aus der Original-Produktbeschreibung:

As part of the ongoing celebration of their 50th anniversary, on September 6 the ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND Recording Company--caretakers of the original band's unreleased catalog--in conjunction with distributor The Orchard will release a four-CD set titled Fillmore West '71, culled from an epic weekend of live music recorded at the legendary San Francisco venue. The Grammy-winning, Rock & Roll Hall of Fame band (formed in March 1969) were in great form on this weekend, where they were the middle act playing between headliners Hot Tuna and the 24-piece opener Trinidad Tripoli Street Band. This will be the debut release of these recordings. The packaging contains a front cover photo of Duane Allman from Jim Marshall Photography (taken at these shows) that has rarely been seen before.
Compiled from reel-to-reel soundboard masters, the January 29 show that kicks off this collection reads like an Allman Brothers Band greatest hits, from opener "Statesboro Blues" through the set-wrapping "Whipping Post." On the next night, the standard sequence of "Statesboro Blues," Trouble No More," "Don't Keep Me Wonderin'" and "Elizabeth Reed" was typically riveting, and then the blues-soaked "Stormy Monday" was worked in, replacing "Midnight Rider." Gregg's vocals were visceral and honest, while Duane and Dickey added down and dirty licks. "You Don't Love Me" showcased some run-and-gun guitar work, and a frenzied "Whipping Post" closed out another solid night. The band--Duane Allman, Gregg Allman, Dickey Betts, Jaimoe, Berry Oakley and Butch Trucks--were loose and talkative and you can hear them really dialing their sound in at what would be a final tune-up for the seminal At Fillmore East album, recorded less than two months later. At Fillmore East would cement the band's place in rock history and Rolling Stone would eventually call it the second-best live album ever released.
Always acclaimed for their explosive live shows, the ABB really ratcheted up the intensity and focus on January 31st. After hammering tightly through the reliable first four, the ABB placed “Midnight Rider” back into the rotation, and then Berry Oakley stepped up to the mic for a wicked and nasty take on “Hoochie Coochie Man,” with Jaimoe and Butch churning full-bore behind him. After an extensive workout on “You Don’t Love Me,” the group worked a relatively new song into the set, “Hot ‘Lanta.” Conceived out of a loose jam at the Big House in Macon, GA, the band’s home base currently an ABB museum, this group composition was cutting-edge fusion, displaying the delightful musical diversity of the Allman Brothers Band. A superior “Whipping Post” concludes the Fillmore West material, but Disc Four goes on to include a wonderful bonus track: a March, 1970 version of “Mountain Jam” from the Warehouse in New Orleans which-at 45 minutes long!-showcases a band that loved to improvise and let the music take on a life of its own.
Kirk West–who served as the “Tour Mystic” and official archivist for the Allman Brothers Band for over 20 years–played a pivotal role in re-acquiring the original live performance two-track, reel-to-reel tapes used for this release from legendary band crew members Twiggs Lyndon, Joe Dan Petty and Mike Callahan, who were the original care takers of these recordings. The tapes had been stored in closets and attics for many years, necessitating careful transfers and several successive attempts at restoration, as technology continued to improve. Interestingly in 1971, however, Kirk was a 20-year-old counterculture entrepreneur who found himself at the Fillmore West during the last four days of January. “I was living in Palo Alto with a bunch of hippie kids who, by and large, were Dead Heads. I had moved to California from Chicago, and I already was a big Allman Brothers fan,” recalls West. “I was insisting that everyone in the house go up to the Fillmore that weekend – ‘Let’s go, let’s go – the Brothers are in town, playing with Hot effin’ Tuna.”

Die komplette Setlist:

Disc 1, 1/29/1971:
1. Statesboro Blues - 4:20
2. Trouble No More - 4:10
3. Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’ - 3:27
4. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed - 14:28
5. Midnight Rider - 3:14
6. Dreams - 11:37
7. You Don’t Love Me - 16:49
8. Whipping Post - 18:50

Disc 2, 1/30/1971:
1. Statesboro Blues - 4:18
2. Trouble No More - 3:57
3. Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’ - 3:50
4. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed - 11:46
5. Stormy Monday - 9:04
6. You Don’t Love Me - 16:21
7. Whipping Post - 16:01

Disc 3, 1/31/1971 Part I:
1. Statesboro Blues - 4:29
2. Trouble No More - 4:05
3. Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’ - 3:41
4. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed - 12:27
5. Midnight Rider - 3:05
6. Hoochie Coochie Man - 4:55
7. Dreams - 10:49
8. You Don’t Love Me - 17:10

Disc 4, 1/31/1971 Part II:
1. Hot ‘Lanta - 5:31
2. Whipping Post_20:53
Bonus Track:
3. Mountain Jam Live At The Warehouse, New Orleans, LA 3/13/1970 (first release of this version) - 45:42

Art-Nr.: 9879
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 44,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Bishop, Elvin - can't even do wrong right [2014]
Blueslegende Elvin Bishop, Gründungsmitglied er Original Paul Butterfield Blues Band, ,ot einem neuen, großartigen Album über das das berühmte "Guitar World"-Magazin schreibt: "Rousing, down-home, feel-good music with spunky rhythms and razor-sharp slide. Bishop's a superb guitarist of great strength and skill - a rockin' good time". Viele Experten bezeichnen "Can't even do wrong right" gar als eines der besten Alben seiner Karriere.

Hier die Original-Produktbeschreibung:

Legendary blues guitarist/songwriter/vocalist Elvin Bishop returns to Alligator Records with CAN'T EVEN DO WRONG RIGHT. With his ''so-loose-they're-tight'' road band behind him, along with friends Charlie Musselwhite and Mickey Thomas, Bishop has created one of the best albums of his career. CAN'T EVEN DO WRONG RIGHT finds Bishop playing, writing and singing some of the most spirited and distinctive blues and roots music today. The CD proves that Bishop is as vital and creative an artist now as he was when he first hit the national scene in 1965 with The Paul Butterfield Blues Band. He is as slyly good-humored and instantly crowd-pleasing as he was when he was scoring Southern rock-styled hits during the 1970s. For five decades, he has never stopped touring or releasing instantly recognizable music featuring his groundbreaking playing, easygoing vocals, witty lyrics and good-time humor.
CAN'T EVEN DO WRONG RIGHT, with hilariously spot-on cover art by musician/artist Paul Thorn, finds Bishop firing on all cylinders and having fun while doing it. With this album, Bishop has created another highlight in a career that covers fifty years and over 20 albums. Five of the songs are Bishop originals, including ''Let Your Woman Have Her Way,'' on which Bishop's friend Mickey Thomas sings lead (this is the first time Thomas, the ex-Jefferson Starship singer, has recorded with Bishop since he provided vocals on Bishop's classic hit ''Fooled Around And Fell In Love''). An outstanding instrumental version of Jimmy Reed's ''Honest I Do'' harkens back to Elvin's childhood: this was the very first blues song he heard coming from Nashville's WLAC, the late night 50,000 watt powerhouse R&B radio station, beaming all the way to his Oklahoma home. In the 1950s in Oklahoma, everything was racially separated except the radio (''They couldn't segregate the airwaves,'' Bishop recalls). With the addition of his Grammy Award-winning pal Charlie Musselwhite on harmonica on ''Old School'' and ''No More Doggin ,'' CAN'T EVEN DO WRONG RIGHT hits its target at every turn.
As Bishop continues to tour and release new music, his stature continues to grow. Through the years his music has appeared in film and television, including the 1997 use of She Puts Me In The Mood (from his Alligator album Big Fun) in Quentin Tarantino's Jackie Brown. In 2005 he performed on the internationally televised Grammy Awards broadcast alongside Keith Urban, Tim McGraw, Gretchen Wilson, Lynyrd Skynyrd and Allman Brothers' guitarist Dickey Betts. He recently appeared in the documentary Born In Chicago. In 2012 and 2013 he was nominated for inclusion into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame as a member of The Paul Butterfield Blues Band.
Now, with CAN'T EVEN DO WRONG RIGHT, Bishop again is ready to share his happy-go-lucky vibe with his fans around the world. His triple-threat guitar/vocal/songwriting talent, along with his ability to deliver a rollicking good time wherever he goes, assures his not-to-be-missed live performances are consistently packed to the gills with cheering fans. The Chicago Tribune says Bishop plays ''good-time music guaranteed to put a smile on your face...serious playing, potent slide guitar and razor-sharp licks.''

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Can't Even Do Wrong Right - 3:46
2. Blues With A Feeling - 4:15
3. Old School - 3:59
4. Let Your Woman Have Her Way - 4:56
5. No More Doggin' - 4:20
6. Everybody's In The Same Boat 4:11
7. Dancin' - 3:11
8. Honest I Do - 3:46
9. Bo Weevil - 3:41
10. Hey-Ba-Ba-Re-Bop - 3:35

Art-Nr.: 8647
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Castro, Tommy & The Painkillers - stompin' ground [2017]
Bluesman Tommy Castro und seine großartigen Painkillers mit einem prächtigen, neuen Album! "Stompin' ground" bringt uns wunderbaren, klassischen soulful Bluesrock, Rockin' Blues und Soul-Blues, dessen Wurzeln im Grenzgebiet von Kalifornien und Mexiko, genauer gesagt in San Jose, wo Castro zu dieser Zeit lebte, in der Ära der Hippie-Kultur der späten Sechziger und Siebziger Jahre liegen. Es war der "soulful" Sound der "Mexican Americans". Wir hören packende Songs, hinreissende Grooves, tolle Melodien, sowie exzellentes Gitarrenspiel und großartigen Gesang von Castro, der sich mit seinen Painkillers in absoluter Top-Form präsentiert. Und dieser herrliche Soul in den Stücken - eine Wonne! Tracks wie das nostalgisch, dynamisch rockende "Blues all around me", die begnadet groovende, balladeske traumhaft melodische Soul-Nummer "My old neighborhood", der dreckige, fast schon ein wenig Richtung ZZ Top daher kommende, einen tollen Drive aufbauende Rockin' Blues-Boogie "Enough is enough", der kochende Hi-Energy-Shuffle "Rock bottom" (Gast ist hier Gitarrenhexer Mike Zito, der sich zusammen mit Castro prächtige Lead Gitarren-Duelle liefert, dazu starkes, hintergründiges Piano-Geklimper), die dynamische Retro Soul-Nummer "Soul shake" im Duett mit Danielle Nicole (ex Trampled Under Foot), sowie das brodelnde "Them changes" sind nur einige stellvertretende Beispiele für ein bestechend starkes Album von Tommy Castro und seinen Painkillers. Hier lodert das Blues- und Soul-Feuer lichterloh. Beeindruckend stark!

Hier ein U.S.-Statement zu diesem Album im Original-Wortlaut:

Swaggering, razor-wire gospel-tinged soul, simmering deep blues and hard-grooving house rockers (AllMusic. com). Gritty, funky, rocking and original (Boston Globe). Blazing soul-blues rocker Tommy Castro’s musical roots run deep. As he unleashes his high-energy music to fans all over the world, Castro is inspired by the sounds he absorbed while coming of age on the rough and tumble side of San Jose, California. During the late 1960s and early 1970s, this was Castro’s home turf – his stomping ground. It was a place where the street-tough Mexican Americans and the counter-culture hippies came together to drink, smoke, laugh, party and listen to tunes – the hippies with their blues and rock, the Mexicans with their soul music. Mixing the blues-rock he loved and the soul music he heard blasting out from the lowriders cruising the streets, along with the socially conscious message songs of the day, Tommy’s own sound was born. He honed his guitar playing to a razor’s edge on the city’s competitive bar scene, where he learned how to capture an audience with his intensely passionate vocals, stellar musicianship and dynamic performances. Almost every major rock and soul act, from Ike & Tina Turner to Janis Joplin to Elvin Bishop and Taj Mahal toured through the area, and Castro was at almost every show. He saw John Lee Hooker, Albert King and Buddy Guy & Junior Wells at the same local blues bar, JJ’s, where he often jammed, dreaming of one day busting out. Over the course of his career, Tommy Castro’s San Jose DNA has always inspired his music, whether he’s squeezing out the deepest blues or the funkiest soul grooves. He and The Painkillers – bassist Randy McDonald, keyboardist Michael Emerson and drummer Bowen Brown – have played hundreds of shows to thousands of music lovers, always leaving his audiences screaming for more. All of his albums are filled with original blues, soul and West Coast rock, each song showing a slightly different side of Castro’s multifaceted musical personality. Billboard says the band plays “irresistible contemporary blues-rock” with “street-level grit and soul.” On his new album, Stompin’ Ground, Tommy Castro opens windows both into his past and his always-evolving musical future. Produced by Castro and guitar wunderkind Kid Andersen and recorded at Andersen’s soon-to-be legendary Greaseland Studio in San Jose, Stompin’ Ground finds Castro letting loose on a set of 12 tracks featuring six originals and new versions of songs he learned and played as a young up-and-comer. He is simultaneously looking back with autobiographical originals and cover songs that inspired him, while forging a forward trail with modern lyrics atop blistering blues-rock. With The Painkillers firing on all cylinders behind him, Castro lays it all on the line from the opening notes of Nonchalant to the final, introspective Live Every Day. From the autobiographical My Old Neighborhood to the socially aware Enough Is Enough and Fear is The Enemy to versions of Elvin Bishop’s Rock Bottom and Taj Majal’s Further On Down The Road (two of his favorite songs from his earliest heroes), Stompin’ Ground is pure musical pleasure. “As soon as we started cutting,” Castro says, “we knew we were onto something.” In addition to the The Painkillers, Castro’s friends Charlie Musselwhite (harp and vocals on Live Every Day), Mike Zito (guitar and vocals on Rock Bottom), Danielle Nicole (vocals on Soul Shake) and Los Lobos’ David Hidalgo (guitar and vocals on Them Changes) add their talents to Stompin’ Ground. “I heard each one of my friends’ contributions on these songs in my head as I was working on them. Happily, when I reached out and actually asked, everyone said yes.”

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Nonchalant - 3:55
2. Blues All Around Me - 3:42
3. Fear Is The Enemy - 3:34
4. My Old Neighborhood - 5:42
5. Enough Is Enough - 3:52
6. Love Is - 4:40
7. Rock Bottom - 4:30
8. Soul Shake - 3:59
9. Further On Down The Road - 4:17
10. Them Changes - 4:47
11.Sticks And Stones - 3:07
12. Live Every Day - 4:28

Art-Nr.: 9518
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Nonchalant
Blues all around me
My old neighborhood
Enough is enough
Rock bottom
Soul shake
Them changes

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Civil Wars, The - same [2013]
Sehnlichst erwartetes Follow-Up des grandiosen Americana-/Singer-Songwriter-/Alternative Country-/Folk Rock-Duos Joy Williams und John Paul White zu dem mit 3 Grammys dekorierten, frenetisch gefeierten Debut "Barton hollow". The Civil Wars machen genau da weiter, wo sie mit ihrem Vorgänger aufgehört haben. Songmaterial und Performance sind exzellent!

Kurze Original-Produktinfo:
The Civil Wars' highly anticipated sophomore self-titled album is the follow up to the three-time Grammy Award-winning duo's acclaimed debut, Barton Hollow.
The Civil Wars was recorded in Nashville between August 2012 and January 2013. Charlie Peacock was once again at the helm as producer for the album. Additionally, Rick Rubin produced the duo's performance for the track "I Had Me a Girl" in August of 2011. Peacock later completed the track by producing the instrumentation and mix.

Exklusives "Track by Track"-Review zu allen Stücken des Albums von Joy Williams:

THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY

This song pays homage to regret. Nearly everybody I've come across has somebody in their life that they wonder what life would be like if they'd never met that person. It's that sliding-door moment -- in the blink of an eye everything could change. Either for the positive or the negative.
John Paul and I wrote this song in the screened-in porch of my and Nate's new home. I remember warm breezes blowing, a mild day. I had recently had my son, Miles, who happened to be asleep with Nate in the living room, right next to the porch. I remember asking John Paul to play quietly so he didn't wake up the baby.

I HAD ME A GIRL

This song always conjures up an image of a glass of whiskey and a lit cigarette. It's a little brooding. A little dangerous. It smolders. It has swagger and grit. It's full of innuendo and Southern Gothic tones. I love the feel of this track, and the way this song came together on the record. "I Had Me a Girl" is one of those musical moments that makes me wish I knew how to play electric guitar. Or any guitar, for that matter.

SAME OLD SAME OLD

This song, to me, represents the ache of monogamy. This isn't an "I'm leaving you" song. It's a vulnerable confession of "I don't want to leave. I want to work on this -- with you." Having said that, someone once told me a story about long-term relationships: to think of them as a continent to explore. I could spend a lifetime backpacking through Africa, and I would still never know all there is to know about that continent. To stay the course, to stay intentional, to stay curious and connected -- that's the heart of it. But it's so easy to lose track of the trail, to get tired, to want to give up, or to want a new adventure. It can be so easy to lose sight of the goodness and mystery within the person sitting right in front of you. That continent idea inspires me, and makes the ache when it comes hurt a little less. To know that it happens to all of us. What I'm realizing now is that sometimes the "same old same old" can actually be rich, worthwhile and a great adventure.

DUST TO DUST

This song is an anthem for the lonely. Sometimes you come across somebody who thinks they are hiding their pain, but if we are all honest, nobody is very good at it. "You're like a mirror, reflecting me. Takes one to know one, so take it from me.” When John Paul and I wrote this late one night in Birmingham, England, we decided to change the pronoun at the end of the song. We wanted to represent that we all experience loneliness in our lives.

EAVESDROP

We brought in our producer, Charlie Peacock, on this song. He helped with arrangements and really helped take the song to a totally different place. Sometimes as an artist, you can't see what needs re-arranging when you're so "in it." Charlie brought perspective. Almost like an eavesdrop within an "Eavesdrop."
Strangely enough, this song always reminds me that my voice has changed since the last album. I have my son to thank for that, truly. When I was first pregnant and performing on the road, I thought something was wrong with my voice. I was having a hard time hitting high notes, while my low notes kept getting deeper and deeper. I did some research with the help of a vocal coach, and learned that hormone levels affect a female singing range. Having a boy, naturally, upped my testosterone levels, making low notes easier to hit and higher notes harder to reach. But the great thing? After having Miles, I regained my high range AND have kept my low range. Pregnancy literally changed the makeup of my vocal cords. There's a different timbre to it now, and I love that I can hear the story of my son in my singing.

DEVIL'S BACKBONE

This song is our take on an Americana murder ballad. It's dark, prickly, anxious. It was fun writing because we just imagined some dust-bowl scenario, a broke-down town, and a man awaiting being hung for something he did in the name of trying to provide for his family. The woman who loves him is watching him standing there on the gallows.
This song always reminds me of when the melody first came to mind. I was doing my makeup in the tiled bathroom upstairs, with my newborn Miles in a yellow rocking bassinet next to me. I started singing, and turned on the voice memo app on my iPhone so I wouldn't forget it. As I sang, Miles started cooing along with me. Not on pitch, mind you, but I'd move a note, and he'd move a note. I'm never deleting that voice memo. It's become one of my favorites.

FROM THIS VALLEY

That's our Grand Ole Opry song. A new spiritual. It's actually the oldest song written on the album. We wrote it before Barton Hollow came out. Even though we didn't have our own recording of it, we started performing it live and it became a fan favorite. It made sense to finally put it on an album. One of my favorite moments on stage every night was singing the a cappella part together.

TELL MAMA

We recorded the performance at Fame studio in Muscle Shoals, a place we'd written a few songs before that made it onto Barton Hollow. I always felt the musical ghosts in that studio, one of whom was the great Etta James. We're a band that's known for covering songs live in our own way, and we thought it would be fun to take a stab at "Tell Mama." I found out later that where we recorded was the same room she recorded her version. That might explain why I kept getting goosebumps.

OH HENRY

We wrote it one week before Barton Hollow, in the mountains of Salt Lake City during our first Sundance Festival. We conjured up a story about a woman who was married to a philandering man. She is begging her man to level with her, and letting him know she can only take so much, a la "it's gonna kill me or it's gonna kill you."

DISARM

Again, we're the band who loves to do covers. Both John Paul and I have always been huge Smashing Pumpkins fans. Nate mentioned it might be a cool cover, and we actually wound up working it out the same day that we wrote "Oh Henry" up in Salt Lake City for Sundance. It turned into another on-stage staple that people asked for every night. We found out later from his then-manager that Billy dug it.

SACRED HEART

We wrote this song in a flat in Paris, with the Eiffel Tower in full view on a cold night. Tall windows, Victorian furniture, and somehow the atmosphere of all of that seeped into the song. Nate and our friends were there in the room as we wrote, all of us drinking wine together. I also loved getting to try out my flawed French. I wrote what words I knew in French, and then had a Parisian friend named Renata Pepper (yes, that's her real name) look it over later and help me translate. When we recorded the song for the album, I called in a French professor from Vanderbilt named Becky Peterson, who has now become a good friend.

D'ARLINE

We wrote this song in the studio behind my house in Nashville, on a warm summer day, with the windows and doors open. This song is a sweet lament, of loss and the belief that you'll never be able to love anybody else again. I stumbled across "Letters of Note" on Twitter, and was struck by the title of a letter written by a famous physicist named Richard Feynman: "I love my wife. My wife is dead." A little over a year after her death, he wrote his wife a love letter and sealed it. It was written in 1946, and wasn't opened until after his death in 1988. He ended his note to his long-lost wife with "Please excuse my not mailing this -- but I don't know your new address."
Another aside to this song: While we were recording the song together, John Paul and I could hear crows cawing in the background that I've since named Edgar, Allen and Poe. This recording and performance of the song is the first and only in existence, a work tape recorded simply on my iPhone.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. The One That Got Away - 3.32
2. I Had Me a Girl - 3.45
3. Same Old Same Old - 3.48
4. Dust to Dust - 3.49
5. Eavesdrop - 3.35
6. Devil's Backbone - 2.29
7. From This Valley - 3.33
8. Tell Mama - 3.48
9. Oh Henry - 3.32
10. Disarm - 4.42
11. Sacred Heart - 3.19
12. D'Arline - 3.06

Art-Nr.: 8264
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock; Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
David, Nicholas - yesterday's gone [2019]
Die in der Bluesrock-Szene mittlerweile hoch angesehene, grandiose Gitarristin, Songwriterin und Performerin Samantha Fish glänzt nicht nur selbst mit der Veröffentlichung hochklassiger Alben, sondern etabliert sich auch immer mehr als Förderin junger, hoch talentierter Kollegen, wie zum Beispiel dem exzellenten Gitarristen Jonathon Long, der im vergangenen Jahr über Fish's eigenes "Wild Heart"-Label ein klasse, von ihr produziertes Album veröffentlichte. Neuester, vielversprechender Künstler, den sie nun "am Haken" hat, ist der vorzügliche Songwriter, Keyboarder und Sänger Nicholas David aus St. Paul/Minnesota, dessen neues, wunderbares Album "Yesterday's gone" Miss Fish ebenfalls produzierte und nun über "Wild Heart Records" veröffentlichte. "David has an unbelievable voice and is a strong songwriter", urteilt ein amerikanischer Rezensent - und er hat absolut recht. Der einstige Finalist (2012) der U.S.-"The Voice"-Ausgabe verfügt über eine ungemein warme, sehr angenehme, einem sofort vertraut und dennoch einzigartig vorkommende Stimme voller Soul und Southern-Feeling, die nahezu perfekt zu seiner Musik passt. Seine Musik ist eine, auch instrumentell ungemein ausgewogene Mischung aus Roots-, Blues-, Rhythm and Blues-, Pop- und Soul-Anlagen, durch die eine herrliche, seichte Southern-Brise weht. Samantha Fish hat dabei einen ganz vorzüglichen Produzenten-Job gemacht, denn alles klingt angenehm natürlich und authentisch. Das Songwriting (alle Tracks hat Davis selbst komponiert) ist großartig. Die vorwiegend "piano-driven" Songs werden sehr ausgewogen mit wunderbaren Gitarren veredelt (Duane Betts und Jonathon Long), kommen mit feinen Melodien, hinreißenden Grooves und viel Southern Soul. David durfte im Studio mit einer Band, bestehend aus absolut hochkarätigen Bgelitmusikern arbeiten, die natürlich einen nicht unwesentlichen Teil zum Gelingen des Albums beitrugen, wie zum Beispiel Duane Betts (Allman Betts Band) an der Lead Gitarre (bei 4 Tracks), Jonathon Long (guitars), Charlie Wooton (Royal Southern Brotherhood) am Bass, Scott Graves (drums), und einigen mehr. Davis selbst spielt sämtliche Keyboards. Der großartige Opener "Hole in the bottom" definiert sofort den charakteristischen "Ton" dieses klasse Albums. Die Nummer ist ein voller Seele steckender, mit führendem, harmonisch gefääligem Piano- und Orgelspiel ausgestatteter, herrlich groovender, von einem erfrischenden, lockeren, flotten, wunderbar beschwingten Rhythmus getragener, southern-flavoured Roots-/Blues-/Soul-Rocker, in dessen zweiter Hälfte Dickey Betts' Sohn Duane gleich seinen großen Lead Gitarren-Auftritt hat. Was für ein herrliches, lässiges, ausgedehntes Solo - in bester Betts-/Allmans-Tradition. In dieser Konstellation hätte die Nummer auch glatt von der Allman Betts Band stammen können. Stark! Klasse auch beispielsweise das retro-buesige, voller Southern Soul steckende "Heavy heart" (wieder Betts mit feiner Lead Gitarre) , der southern-infused R & B-Track "With or without" (viel Soul, prächtige Piano-Klänge, schöne Gitarren-Licks), das mit Bruce Hornsby-mässigem Pianospiel inszenierte, knackige, rootsige, leicht southern-bluesige "Curious", der lockere Roots-Southern-Blues "Let u go", das zunächst in einem akustischen Ambiente beginnende, nach rund 40 Sekunden dann aber ordentlich knackig und southern-bluesig, rootsig rockende "Stars" (dezenter Howling Wolf-Touch, tolle Melodie, exzellentes Piano-, Orgel- und Gitarrenspiel), sowie das ein wenig in JJ Cale-/Clapton-Manier groovende "Little by little". Nicholas David zeigt eindrucksvoll sein großes Talent. "Yesterday's gone" ist ein Album geworden, das mit den beteiligten Musikern, Frau Fish an den Reglern und natürlich dem Protagonisten selbst, vor allem auch "mannschaftlich" voll überzeugt. Southern, soulig, rootsig, bluesig - einfach schön!

Hier noch ein Original U.S.-Review:

Perhaps the secret behind Nicholas David’s organic, natural sound is as simple as letting the music arise organically and naturally. There was no apparent rush to create Yesterday’s Gone, released three years after With These Hands. In fact, his time spent opening for, and playing with the Devon Allman Project, seems to have been the catalyst behind the musical connections and inspirations that define his newest album. Recorded in New Orleans with the guiding hand of Samantha Fish, the team of David (vocals, keys), Duane Betts (guitar), Jonathan Long (guitar), Charlie Wooten (bass) and Scott Graves (drums) deftly blends southern soul and blues into an earthy, 11-song collection.
Sharing a similar timbre with its predecessor, Yesterday’s Gone heavily features David’s voice, and it sits high in the mix throughout the album—as it should. Its raw richness serves as the natural focus, but the songwriting and instrumental accompaniment are equally impressive. The mostly upbeat tracks all boast lush, warm, analog sounds that vary in number and amplitude as the songs require. The production is meticulous without being overwrought.
“Hole in the Bottom” sets the tone for much of the album with a heavy emphasis on David’s voice, piano and organ leads, and a willingness to make dynamic changes within individual songs. An understated guitar solo carries the second half of the tune up to the gentle revisitation of the main piano theme. “Heavy Heart” changes tempo, but maintains many of the same characteristics, namely, great playing and an honest, soulful feel.
The first true standout, “With or Without,” begins with and builds around a memorable melody delivered through a dual-guitar harmony. As much as David can carry a song on his own, the shared spotlight with another musical aspect really brings the track to fulfillment. Jazzier than its album-mates, “Curious” employs the same focus-shift away from David’s vocals, and towards the accompaniment that usually buoys the song and the singing.
A true New Orleans gumbo has to include a touch of R&B and a smattering of soul; “I’m Interested” and “Peel Back the Leaves,” respectively provide those ingredients. “Times Turning” opens with an emotive, cascading piano progression that shares space with the album’s most poignant lyrical verses. Immediately contrasting the simple structure of “Times Turning,” “Stars” shines as a multipart composition with an anthemic chorus. Between those two numbers and “With or Without,” a case can be made for any being the best song of the set.
"Little by Little,” a fun, jangly number, closes the album with a Crescent City flavoring of sounds. Yesterday’s Gone’s many components all play their part in making this album a winner. First listenings will undoubtedly gravitate towards David and his mellifluous voice, but each subsequent visit will peel back another layer of the sonic onion. “Peel back the leaves, just one more day, break off the bark, so the roots will stay.” Nicholas “Family Man” David and his cohorts plant profoundly deep roots on this effort. (Willie Witten / Blues Rock Review)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Hole in the Bottom - 3:46
2. Heavy Heart - 5:11
3. With or Without - 5:03
4. I'm Interested - 4:59
5. Peel Back the Leaves - 3:17
6. Curious - 5:50
7. Okay - 5:46
8. Let U Go - 4:14
9. Times Turning - 5:00
10. Stars - 4:35
11. Little by Little - 5:13

Art-Nr.: 9965
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Hole in the bottom
Heavy heart
With or without
Curious
Let u go
Stars
Little by little

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Ellis, Tinsley - ice cream in hell [2020]
Neues Album des Gitarrenvirtuosen aus Georgia, das die Fachpresse jetzt schon als eines seiner besten überhaupt feiert. "'Ice Cream in Hell' has guitar playing that’s frighteningly close to perfect, but what seals the album is the passion beneath the guitar playing" ist nur eins der begeisterten Zitate. In der Tat ist Ellis' Gitarrenspiel auf einem Level, das von nur ganz wenigen erreicht wird. Voller Gefühl, genauso variabel, wie geradeaus und punktgenau, überflüssiges Gefrickel stets vermeidend, dabei aber voller Energie, Inbrunst, Power, Seele und mit unendlicher Virtuosität. Auch gesanglich wirkt der Meister so herrlich natürlich und das Songmaterial ist einfach fantastisch. Nehmen wir nur Tracks, wie beispielsweise den voller Energie steckenden Opener "Last one to know", ein toller Midtempo-Bluesrocker, durchzogen von effektvollen Gitarrenlicks und glühendem Lead-Spiel (super Soli von Ellis, großartiger Orgel-Background von Kevin McKendree, dezente Bläser-Fills), das ähnlich strukturierte, bärenstarke Titelstück "Ice cream in hell" (funkige Riffs, groovende Percussion, famose Gitarrensoli), den schön nach vorn gehenden, klassischen Blues-Boogie "Foolin' yourself", der von bestechender Lead-Gitarre durchzogene, sehr emotionale, herzzerreißende Slow-Blues "Hole in my heart" (das etwa 2 1/2-minütige, ungemein gefühlvolle Gitarrensolo gegen Ende ist schlicht phänomenal), den mit viel Southern Soul, furiosem Drive und geradezu überbordender Slide-Gitarre inszenierten, rockin' and rollin' Blues "Sit tight mama", das mit einem traumhaft schönen Latin-Groove ausgestattete, flockig flotte, dennoch mit enrgetischen Gitarrenläufen gespickte "Everything and everyone", oder der umwerfende, mit regelrecht fasziniernden Gitarrelinien veredelte, packende, kraftvolle Slow-Blues "Your love's like heroin" (begnadete Soli des Meisters) zum Abschluß des Albums - es ist die pure Wonne. "Ice cream in hell" ist nicht mehr und nicht weniger als ein absolut meisterhaftes Blues-/Bluesrock-Werk mit einem Tisley Ellis in famoser Verfassung.

Hier noch ein Original U.S.-Review:

There are no right or wrong answers with music. It’s subjective and everyone brings their own preferences and past experiences to the listening process. So what works for one person won’t necessarily work for another. Having gotten that out of the way, Tinsley Ellis does blues rock right and Ice Cream in Hell is positively correct.
Ellis is a guitarist’s guitarist, with 17 solo albums to his name, but not enough name recognition. I’m not sure if Ice Cream in Hell will address that marketing challenge, but in a perfect world, it would, because it’s a phenomenal album. Where Ellis’ 2018 album, Winning Hand, featured the same high-quality guitar playing, there was something a bit staid about it all, like he was striving for perfection at the expense of emotion. Ice Cream in Hell has guitar playing that’s frighteningly close to perfect, but what seals the album is the passion beneath the guitar playing.
Ellis’ guitar work is so good, it’s easy to ignore his singing, which is charmingly ordinary. I have no idea what it’s like to have talent, but I imagine it’s very easy to hide behind it. If I could play half as well as Ellis, you’d hear me jamming on every street corner and subway car from here to Maryland. Ellis could just as easily lean on his guitar prowess, but he doesn’t, putting a lot of work into his vocals. On the title track, he sounds delightfully ragged, like he recorded the track after doing a live show. It’s bluesy and brave as anything.
And while we’re on the subject of the title track, that song is surprisingly pretty. Ellis’ guitar hops through the track with lines that have that bright Allman Brothers feel, but also a dark gritty bluesiness. Keyboardist/co-producer Kevin McKendree sets a beautiful table for Ellis, on this and each of the album’s tracks. The two musicians have a great relationship, obviously listening to each other and playing off each other, while maintaining every song’s structure. There are plenty of gorgeous musical passages and licks, but the two always turn back to the song.
I was blown away by how fluent Ellis is in so many styles. The songs, all Ellis originals, sound familiar. He has his own takes on blues rock classics, but his ability to nail all of those licks we know so well, while still preserving his own muscular playing, which lies firmly in the Albert King/Stevie Ray Vaughan camp, consistently impressed me. “Sit Tight Mama” has Ellis playing slide in the style of Hound Dog Taylor. “Evil Till Sunrise” recalls Jimi Hendrix’s “Stone Free.” “Everything and Everyone” features a Carlos Santana sound. Ellis isn’t stealing licks or trying to present himself as someone he’s not. He’s just paying tribute to his inspirations.
If you’re a blues rock fan and aren’t familiar with Ellis’ work, this is a great place to check in. Ice Cream in Hell is blues rock from a master at the height of his power, vocally and instrumentally. Ellis showcases monster tone, vibrato that feels like an earthquake, and all-around tasteful playing. He is always the right answer.
(Steven Ovadia / Blues Rock Review)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Last One To Know- 4:44
2. Don't Know Beans - 3:43
3. Ice Cream In Hell - 4:13
4. Foolin' Yourself - 4:30
5. Hole In My Heart - 6:45
6. Sit Tight Mama - 4:00
7. No Stroll In The Park - 4:41
8. Evil Till Sunrise - 3:03
9. Everything And Everyone - 4:00
10. Unlock My Heart - 3:54
11. Your Love's Like Heroin - 7:07

Art-Nr.: 9981
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Last one to know
Ice cream in hell
Foolin' yourself
Hole in my heart
Sit tight mama
Everything and everyone
Your love's like heroin

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Horsehead - sympathetic vibrations [2012]
Grandios! Brian Robbins vom in Fachkreisen überaus renommierten Webzine "jambands.com" ist völlig aus dem Häuschen und spricht von "one hell of an album". Man kann dies nur mit einem dicken Ausrufezeichen unterschreiben. Obwohl in der Breite noch immer weitestgehend unbekannt und lediglich unter Insidern ein Begriff, muss man das in Richmond/Virginia beheimatete Quartett Horsehead ohne jeden Zweifel als eine der stärksten und besten (Gitarren)Rootsrock-, Americana Rock-Bands der Gegenwart bezeichnen. Mit ihrem neuen Album "Sympathetic vibrations", ihrem bereits vierten, liefern sie (mal wieder) eine regelrechtes Musterbeispiel ganauso geradlinigen, straighten wie variantenreichen Rootsrocks ab. Nein, sie setzen Maßstäbe! 13 fantastische Songs präsentieren uns die Herren, genauso zeitlos wie aktuell, mal mit einem Hauch von Country- und Heartland Rock Anlagen, mal mit einem bluesigen Flair, staubig, erdig, "gritty", würzig, durchzogen von prächtig hängen bleibenden Hooklines und durchweg wunderbaren Melodien, dargeboten in vollendeter, musikalischer Qualität. Horsehead sind: Kopf, Produzent, Songwriter und Frontmann Jon Brown (lead vocals, guitar, percussion), Kevin W. Inge (lead guitar, pedal steel, piano, organ, background vocals), Randy Mendicino (bass) und Gregg Brooks (drums). Unterstützt wird die Band von einigen renommierten Gästen, wie zum Beispiel Drive-by Truckers' Jay Gonzales, der bei drei Stücken das Klavier bedient. Bestimmt werden die Arrangements vorwiegend von dem massiven, satten und dreckig erdigen Gitarrensound Brown's ind Inge's, die sich dabei vorbildlich ergänzen. Die Riffs stecken voller Saft und Kraft, die Lead Gitarren-Führung wirkt genauso spannend wie vertraut und eingängig, Dazu kommen einige herzhafte, flammende Soli, die die ganze Spielfreude der Band ausdrücken. Ergänzt wird dieses vielschichtige Gitarrengewand durch adäquat involvierte Klavier- und Orgel-Einsätze, und manchmal die herrlich eingebundene Pedal Steel von Kevin Inge. Es ist die pure Wonne dieser Band zuzuhören. Die Rolling Stones, Son Volt, Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers, The Band, The Black Crowes, The Jayhawks, Dan Baird, John Hiatt, die Bottle Rockets, Neil Young's Crazy Horse, alle hinterlassen irgendwie ein paar Spuren, aus denen Horsehead schließlich ihren unwiderstehlichen, eigenen Stil kreieren, der nur nach ihnen selbst klingt. Jon Brown drückt es so aus: "We don’t sound like anyone else, we sound like Horsehead". Ein paar Songbeispiele: "Darkened streets" ist ein ungemein erdiger, kraftvoller, mitreissender Rootsrocker mit einem leichten, unterschwelligen Crazy Horse- und Stones-Touch. Massive Gitarren bestimmen das Geschehen, die Melodie ist exzellent. Jon Brown singt großartig, Kevin Inge brilliert mit einem begnadeten, glühenden Gitarrensolo voller Leidenschaft - es ist eine Pracht. Das Feuer der Band springt unmittelbar auf den Zuhörer über. Wundervoll! Das anschließende, voller Dynamik und Schwung losrockende "Emptiest arms in the world" knüpft nahtlos an den Vorgänger an. Ein furioser, melodischer, abgehender "American Rock'n Roller" mit herrlichen Lead Gitarren-Linien und kernigen Riffs. Geradezu magisch schraubt sich der Song in unsere Gehörgänge und will nicht mehr weichen. Hammer! Einen Hauch von Countryrock-Feeling versprüht das mit traumhaften Pedal Steel-Klängen verzierte "Get up". Beginnt wunderbar locker und flockig, wird zum Ende hin aber immer kraftvoller, dabei jedoch nicht weniger melodisch. Auch ein gewisses Heartland-Flair ist spürbar. Klingt fast wie eine Synthese aus Anlagen von Bruce Springsteen und den legendären New Riders Of The Purple Sage. Geht nicht? Und wie das geht! Horsehead kriegen das in beeindruckender Manier hin. Ultrastark auch der von gewaltigen, fetten Riffs bestimmte, straighte Rootsrocker "Big sun" mit seinem mächtigen, nach vorn gehenden Drumming. Inge spielt abermals ein tolles Gitarrensolo. Schön hier der dezent psychedelische Retro-Touch und die feinen Klavier-Ergänzungen. Das letzte Stück der Scheibe, die großartige Ballade "Candy (by the side of the west highway) bewegt sich schließlich im schönen Roots-Fahrwasser der unvergessenen The Band. Doch welchen Song man sich auch anhört, einer ist stärker als der andere. Die Truppe besticht mit unglaublicher Qualitäts-Kontinuität. Keine Frage, "Sympathetic Vibrations" ist ein absolutes Rootsrock-/Americana Rock-Meisterwerk!

Hier noch das eingangs erwähnte, begeisternde Review von "jambands.com" im Original:

Go ahead – reel off your favorite alt-country/Americana/whatever-you-want-to-call-it albums of all time … the seminal statements of the genre. What would be on the list? Son Volt’s Trace ? Whiskeytown’s Faithless Street ? Hollywood Town Hall by The Jayhawks? Wilco’s A.M. ? Whatever the albums are, what about them grabs ahold of you? Smart lyrics and a stone-real delivery? A haybale punk vibe? Garage pop crossed with Exile On Main Street -style cellar funk? Twanging crunch? Crunchy twang?

Here – have some of all of the above. World, meet Horsehead. The album is Sympathetic Vibrations – their fourth – and I humbly offer it up as being real and good and raggedy and right.
Sympathetic Vibrations delivers – name your poison, bucko. The album enters softly with “Moving Target” – just Horsehead principals Jon Brown and Kevin W. Inge (the self-proclaimed “Dimmer Twins”). Brown leads the way on vocals with acoustic guitar in hand, while Inge infuses the tune with wisps of keys and lovely pedal steel. By the way, it’s worth noting that the frigging guy – Inge – basically taught himself pedal for this album. If you’re not familiar with the beast’s workings – foot pedals, knee levers, ten strings and all – then Inge’s accomplishment might be lost on you. Trust me – there are folks who’ve been pickers all their lives who wouldn’t dare get near a pedal steel in a recording studio. Inge may be a rookie steeler, but he handles it like a seasoned pro, adding washes of sparkle amongst the grit on “Get Up” and putting the thing on full stun for “Spinning Your Wheels” with a slightly raspy-voiced tone that is absolutely beautiful.

Brown is the band’s lead voice and tunesmith. The album’s 13 cuts show he knows how to convey his songs’ souls (and the characters who inhabit them) in short order – from the heartbroke, dirt-streaked weariness of “God Damned The Rain To Fall” (Travis Rinehart’s guest banjo completes the picture) to the ominous won’t-take-no-for-an-answer stalk of “Sweet On You”. On “Emptiest Arms In The World” Brown delivers the goods with flannel-shirted soul and the confidence of a man who could rebuild his own carburetor. And the good-byes of “Candy” leave you wishing him well and hoping like hell that he and that gal end up together in a good place.

Bassist Randy Mendicino ended up swapping rhythm partners midway through the Sympathetic Vibrations session when longtime drummer Andre LaBelle left the band and Gregg Brooks settled in behind the kit. It’s a tribute to all three that the transition was a seamless one and only the liner notes tell the tale – there are no obvious splits between the Mendicino/LaBelle and Mendicino/Brooks tunes. Dig the nuts-on lurch of “Darkened Streets” (think vintage Molina/Talbot slam – and listen for the “Norwegian Wood” tease in the guitar break); the driving rhythm of “Running For The Door” tears along like a cousin to Tommy Tutone’s “867-5309” before Brooks and Mendicino shift gears and go into full surf mode; “Wasting Time” is big and majestic – beat-down, but not without pride just the same.

Multi-instrumentalist Inge (we’ve already discussed his grossly-amazing pedal steel contributions) is all over this thing: doubling up with Brown on guitar here … adding some organ here … a bit of piano here … a master of divining what a particular tune needs – no more and no less. Horsehead buddy (and Drive-By Trucker) Jay Gonzales sits in on piano for a couple of tunes, the most notable being the walloping rocker “Big Sun”.

“Big Sun” alone could sell you on Horsehead: wicked grab-you-by-both-ears opening guitar riffs; big bass swoops and straight-ahead drumming; enough crash-and-thrash to get your attention before settling into the palm-muted chug of the verses. Brown tells his tale perfectly about the folder at a laundromat who “smelled of soap and cigarettes.” It’s obvious the story can go only go one way – and the fact that the song evolves into a total guitar workout is the perfect way to tell the tale. The song fades at about the 5-minute mark, but comes roaring back with an eff-you-we’re-not-done attitude: Mendicino and Brown join forces while Brooks rolls and tumbles in glorious drum ecstasy; and Inge simply plays the piss out of his six-string. Of all the titles Horsehead wears well, “Big Sun” proves that above all, they are one hell of a rock and roll band.

And beyond that, Sympathetic Vibrations is one hell of an album.

(Brian Robbins)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Moving Target - 2:42
2. Darkened Streets - 5:07
3. Emptiest Arms in the World - 3:40
4. Hard Hand to Hold - 4:40
5. Get Up - 4:11
6. God Damned the Rain to Fall - 3:56
7. Running for the Door - 3:50
8. John Adams - 4:32
9. Spinning Your Wheels - 3:34
10. Big Sun - 6:14
11. Wasting Time - 5:04
12. Sweet On You - 3:19
13. Candy (By the Side of the West Highway) - 4:00

Art-Nr.: 8055
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Darkened streets
Emptiest arms in the world
Hard hand to hold
Get up
Running for the door
Big sun
Candy (by the side of the west highway)

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Indigenous - gray skies [2017]
Der in Bluesrock-Kreisen, im übrigen vollkommen zu Recht, hoch angesehene und gefeierte Gitarrenzauberer, Sänger und Songwriter Mato Nanji und seine großartige Band Indigenous beglücken ihre Fans (und die, die es noch werden wollen/sollten) weiterhin mit kontinuierlich starken Veröffentlichungen. Jetzt liegt mit dem wunderbar kraftvollen "Gray skies" ihr neues Werk vor - und auch das ist wieder ein "Mörder"-Album geworden. Gespickt mit exzellentem, prächtig hängen bleibendem und spannendem Songmaterial und voillgepackt mit Mato's begnadeten, aufregenden, fulminaten, mal explosiven, mal sehr gefühlvollen Gitarrenläufen (Stevie Ray Vaughan, Johnny Winter, Jimi Hendrix, R. L. Burnside und Jr. Kimbrough gehören zu seinen prägendsten Einflüssen) erhalten die Freunde höchster Gitarren Bluesrock-Kost einmal mehr die absolute Vollbedienung. "Guitarslinger" Mato Nanji gehört definitiv zu den Besten des Genres.

Die Original-Produktbeschreibung:

Mato Nanji, long-time front man of Native American band Indigenous, makes an effort to improve his craft with each record. His playing and singing have never been better than on his 11th commercial outing, ''Gray Skies.'' On this fourth CD for Blues Bureau International, produced by Mike Varney, Mato once again forges ahead, pushing himself to new personal bests. ''Gray Skies'' contains the high-caliber guitar playing for which Mato has become known, alongside his strong, soulful voice which are applied to a fresh assortment of high-level blues rock songs. After delivering Indigenous' last three critically acclaimed Blues Bureau CD's and 2012's much lauded ''3 Skulls And The Truth,'' where he shared the guitar and vocal duties with Los Lobos' front man David Hidalgo and North Mississippi Allstars' front man Luther Dickinson, ''Gray Skies'' is Mato's next logical step in the evolution of Indigenous' time-tested blues rock brand. Like the Jimi Hendrix Experience, Stevie Ray Vaughan and Cream, Indigenous' songs feature a strong lead singer/lead guitarist in Indigenous' front man, Mato Nanji, who is without a doubt, one of the most impressive blues-rock players/singers on the circuit today.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Stay Behind - 5:11
2. I'm Missing You - 4:56
3. Lonely Days - 4:06
4. Healers - 5:28
5. On My Way - 4:03
6. Hear My Voice - 6:08
7. Let It Shine - 4:58
8. Don't Know Where To Go - 4:14
9. Let's Carry On - 3:59
10. Both To Blame - 6:04
11. You Broke It You Bought It - 3:02
12. What You Runnin' From - 4:51

Art-Nr.: 9555
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Stay behind
I'm missing you
Lonely days
On my way
Hear my voice
Don't know where to go
Both to blame
What you runnin' from

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Jayhawks, The - paging mr. proust [2016]
Herrlicher Rootsrock, Americana und Alternate Countryrock in klassischer Jayhawks-Tradition - Gary Louris und seine Freunde präsentieren sich mit ihrem neuen Album "Paging Mr. Proust" in bestechender Form. Die Band wirkt frisch wie eh und je und strotzt nur so vor Spielfreude. Wunderbar flockiges, aber auch schön rockiges, immer mit einer feinen Portion erdigem "grit" durchzogenes Songmaterial, eingebunden in großartige Melodien. Eine Pracht-Vorstellung der Jayhawks!

Aus der Original-Produktbeschreibung:
Paging Mr. Proust finds the 2016 Jayhawks still remain one of America s foremost rock bands: based around leader Gary Louris gift for melody that has made them such a respected and seminal group for almost three decades. Paging Mr. Proust features the long-time core of the Jayhawks: Gary Louris (lead vox/guitars), Marc Perlman (bass), Tim O Reagan (drums/vox), and Karen Grotberg (keyboards/vox). From the jangle of album opener Quiet Corners & Empty Spaces to the trademark harmonies of Isabel s Daughter to the more pensive Lover Of The Sun , it is clear that The Jayhawks power remains undiminished from their initial national impact, 1992 s Hollywood Town Hall. Other tracks such as the sludgy rocker Lost The Summer , the kraut-rock groove of Ace and the taut minimalism of Comeback Kids bring new sounds to the palette. Paging Mr. Proust shows a commitment to adventure and forward motion, which makes this collection of songs exciting and instantly memorable.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Quiet Corners & Empty Spaces - 3:06
2. Lost the Summer - 3:31
3. Lovers of the Sun - 3:15
4. Pretty Roses in Your Hair - 4:20
5. Leaving the Monsters Behind - 3:47
6. Isabel's Daughter - 3:26
7. Ace - 5:36
8. The Devil Is in Her Eyes - 3:36
9. Comeback Kids - 4:00
10. The Dust of Long-Dead Stars - 3:37
11. Lies in Black & White - 3:35
12. I'll Be Your Key - 3:48

Art-Nr.: 9156
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Kentucky Headhunters, The with Johnnie Johnson - meet me in bluesland [2015]
"Incredible"! So bringt es ein begeisterter U.S.-Fan auf den Punkt! Großartige Kooperation der urigen Southern Rock-Haudegen und dem legendären Pianisten von Chuck Berry, die gemeinsam ein mächtig kochendes Blues-/Bluesrock-/Boogie-Album einspielten. Ja, die Kentucky Headhunters spielen den Blues, allerdings gepaart mit ihrem typischen, straighten, von fetten Gitarren geprägten Southern Rock-Indikatoren. Entstanden sind die Aufnahmen im Jahre 2003, als Johnnie Johnson, den das Musikmagazin "Rolling Stone" einmal als "The greatest sideman in Rock'n Roll" bezeichnete, nach einer ausgedehnten Tournee mit den Rolling Stones, bei der er das Piano bediente, nach Kentucky flog, um seine guten Freunde, die Kentucky Headhunters, bei den Aufnahmesessions für deren Album "Soul" zu unterstützen, die ihn baten, das ein oder andere Stück mit seinem wunderbaren Klavierspiel zu veredeln. Doch aus diesen Session wurde viel mehr. Die Protagonisten spielten und spielten gemeinsam, hatten dermassen viel Spaß, dass diese Sessions gar nicht mehr enden wollten. Vor allem der rockin' Blues hatte es ihnen angetan. Die Tapes mit diesen hervorragenden Aufnahmen verschwanden anschließend in den Archiven - bis heute. 10 Jahre nach dem Tod von Johnson, der 2005 im Alter von 80 Jahren verstarb, entschieden sich die Kentucky Headhunters nun, diese Prachtaufnahmen zu veröffentlichen. Welch ein Glück! Was für ein leidenschaftlicher, ausgelassener, großartiger Trip in das Land des southern-rockigen Blues und Boogie. Nehmen wir nur den fetten, baumstarken Opener "Stunblin'", ein prächtiger "stompin'" Roadhouse-/Southern Rock'n Roll-Boogie, vollgepackt mit "hämmerndem" Piano und kochenden, straighten, typischen KHH-E-Gitarren-Riffs, den Slide-getränkten, brodelnden Blues-Shuffle "Walking with the wolf" (großartige Slideguitar-Linien, tolles Piano-Solo), den wundervoll rockenden Blues-Boogie "She's got to have it" (exzellente Piano-/Gitarren-Bgleitung, tierisches E-Gitarren-Solo), den straighten Riff-/Southern Rocker "Party in heaven", den hinreissenden, dabei ungemein kraftvoll und rau in Szene gesetzten Slow-Blues "Meet me in bluesland" (grandiose, ausgedehnte, von schönen Piano-Fills umgarnte Lead Gitarrenläufe, schönes Klavier-Solo und toller, inspirierter, intensiver Gesang von Richard Young), oder das voller Southern Soul steckende "Shufflin' back to Memphis", mit seiner exzellenten Slideguitar-/Klavier-Begleitung - welche Nummer man auch herauspickt, das Zeug dampft, bluest, rockt und "kickt", was das Zeug hält. Übrigens, auch der Sound ist spitzenmässig. Toll, dass dieses Material nun endlich der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht wurde. Famos!

Aus der Original-Produktbeschreibung:

On January 25, 2003, Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Johnnie Johnson -- the man Rolling Stone called “the greatest sideman in rock and roll” for his groundbreaking piano work with Chuck Berry -- stepped on stage at Houston, Texas’ Reliant Stadium. He joined his hosts, The Rolling Stones, for a rousing rendition of Honky Tonk Women. After hanging out all night with Keith Richards, Johnson got on a plane and flew to Kentucky. There he reunited with his good friends, Grammy-winning Southern blues-rockers The Kentucky Headhunters -- brothers Richard and Fred Young, Greg Martin, Doug Phelps and Anthony Kenney. The plan was to have Johnnie lay down some piano for the band’s upcoming release, Soul. But the vibe was too strong and the music too good, so the tape just kept rolling. With songs and arrangements furiously being created on the spot and everything recorded live as it happened over the course of three days, a magical musical event was underway. Because the whole session was spontaneous, there were no immediate plans to release an album. After Johnnie’s death in 2005, the tapes, while never forgotten, remained unissued. The performances, which can now be heard on Meet Me In Bluesland, found Johnson playing some of the deepest and most rocking blues piano of his legendary career. With The Kentucky Headhunters at their down-home best, the album is a country-fried, blues-infused party from start to finish. The album grooves from the raunchy rock of Stumblin’ to the slide-fueled Superman Blues to the roof-raising version of Little Queenie to the salacious She’s Got To Have It (the last vocal Johnson ever recorded). “The minute Johnnie sat down with us, the music was a kind of ecstasy,” says guitarist/vocalist Richard Young. “Johnnie made us play like real men,” says guitarist/vocalist Greg Martin. “Playing with him, the groove got bigger and much more grown up.” Drummer Fred Young adds, “We all admired Johnnie from the start. The first time we played with him was the first time I ever felt like we were doing it right. The music we made on Meet Me In Bluesland is as good as it gets.” The relationship between Johnson and The Kentucky Headhunters dated back to 1992. Headed to New York for a Grammy Awards party, Greg picked up the new Johnnie Johnson CD, Johnnie B. Bad, for the ride. The band listened to nothing else all the way to New York. Having no idea he’d be at the party, they were shocked to see Johnnie Johnson sitting alone at a table. After some quick introductions, the musicians talked for hours, becoming fast friends. In 1993 they released their first collaboration, That’ll Work, on Nonesuch. They took the show on the road, playing gigs from the West Coast to New England, from Chicago’s Buddy Guy’s Legends to New York City’s Lone Star Café. They performed at The Jamboree In The Hills in Belmont County, Ohio, where Johnson, with the Headhunters triumphantly jamming behind him, played to over 30,000 fans. From their very first meeting, Johnson and The Kentucky Headhunters stayed close, getting together whenever possible. In 2003, when the band asked Johnson to record with them again, he couldn’t wait to get back to Kentucky and make music with his friends. Over the next three days, they created an album filled with rollicking, timeless performances. “Johnnie’s music was spontaneous, organic, magic energy,” says Greg. “During the recordings, everything was off-the-cuff and easy; a higher power just took over. This album is special, and we’re very happy in 2015 that it’s coming to fruition.” Adds Fred, “Johnnie gave us the gift of letting us know what it was like to do something great.”

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Stumblin' - 3:08
2. Walking With The Wolf - 3:28
3. Little Queenie - 3:31
4. She's Got To Have It - 3:18
5. Party In Heaven - 3:28
6. Meet Me In Bluesland - 5:44
7. King Rooster - 4:31
8. Shufflin' Back To Memphis - 4:50
9. Fast Train - 3:34
10. Sometime - 3:55
11. Superman Blues - 4:02

Art-Nr.: 8872
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Stumblin'
Walking with the wolf
She's got to have it
Party in heaven
Meet me in bluesland
King rooster
Shufflin' back to Memphis
Superman blues

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Magpie Salute, The - high water ll [2019]
Zweites, voller Dampf, Power und baumstarkem "rootsy and bluesy Rock'n Roll" steckendes Studioalbum und Sequel zu dem letztes Jahr erschienenen "High water l" von The Magpie Salute, der aktuellen Band um die beiden ex The Black Crowes-Gitarristen Rich Robinson und Marc Ford, sowie Sven Pipien (Bass), ebenfalls ehemals The Black Crowes. Vervollständigt wird die Truppe von Matt Slocum (Keyboards) und Joe Magistro (Drums), alles exzellente Musiker, sowie dem hervorragenden Lead Sänger und Frontmann John Hogg. Zusammen fabrizieren die Sechs ein wunderbar fettes Gebräu aus erdigem, bluesigerm, stark Gitarren orientiertem Rock/Southern Rock/ Roots Rock und Jam Rock, der durchaus artverwandt mit dem der "Krähen" ist. Und das ist auch gut so! Das Songmaterial ist erstklassig - genauso gut strukturiert, wie jammig freizügig und spielfreudig. Die Musiker, vor allem die Gitarristen Rich Robinson und Marc Ford, bekommen jede Menge Freiraum für ihr exzellentes Spiel. The Magpie Salute gelingt mit "High water ll" ein absoluter Volltreffer, der nicht nur die Gefolgschaft der ehemaligen The Black Crowes vollends begeistern dürfte.

Hier noch ein Original U.S.-Review:

Here's the release of High Water II, the highly-anticipated second studio album from Rich Robinson’s latest band, The Magpie Salute.
Robinson (The Black Crowes) is again joined by fellow-travelers Marc Ford (The Black Crowes) on guitar, bassist Sven Pipien (The Black Crowes), drummer Joe Magistro, and keyboardist Matt Slocum, along with the remarkable John Hogg again handling the vocals. Together, the band conjures up a thick stew of psychedelia-tinged Americana Rock & Roll; a clear extension and expansion of the ideas we heard in their 2018 studio album High Water I.
Densely layered and packed full of musical ideas, these twelve tunes aren’t, with the exception of a few choruses, exactly “sing-along” songs. They’re most definitely “feel along” songs; the kind you’ll listen to way more than once, discovering new things with repeated plays. What we have here is a band in search of the source, the central universal vibe, and they’re getting mighty close.
The Magpie Salute means business and they prove it with opener “Sooner or Later.” Everything you need to know about the album is contained in this track. The band fills every sonic frequency from the opening bars, yet Hogg’s vocals and stream-of-consciousness lyrics still grab your attention and rise above the maelstrom of sound, then the nearly-chanted chorus gives you a soft place to land between verses and righteously buzzy lead breaks. A deep bass and piano open then settles into a very Stones-y groove on “Gimme Something” that is a straight-up visit to the church of Rock, right down to the “take me higher” chorus. Preach it. End of Summer track “Leave it All Behind” then kicks hard on the power of Joe Magistro’s heavy-hitting drums, then sneaks in a brief, trippy Beatle-esque middle section complete with vibrato chords.
Some powerful horn arrangements lift the country-tinged Americana of “In Here” to another place entirely. This stand-out track feels like a spirit-lifting anthem for every trembling searcher who remains undaunted. The Magpie Salute finally slows things down a bit and lets you catch your breath with the sad and pretty porch-picking open of “You and I” before building to another powerful and untethered finish; Robinson’s guitar mirroring every emotion in the vocals. The same template works, in spades, on “Mother Storm.” The spare acoustic open lays a foundation the band uses to build sound and emotion to a gorgeous peak, that leads to a long, slow fade-out that feels like waking up from a difficult but important dream. That mid-career Stones-y vibe deep in the band’s DNA returns on “Mirror Mix,” creating a bed of sound and vibration that listeners will want to lay down on while absorbing the “Feel what’s on the inside” chorus.
The mournfully beautiful Don Quixote-esque ode “Lost Boy,” featuring a guest turn on vocals and fiddle from Alison Krauss is a quiet gem that’ll drop tears in many beers. The band then switches gears entirely as the trippy sonic hi-jinx return on the sassy “Turn It Around.” With its strutting “Jean Genie” vibe, and gnarly guitar line snaking throughout, this is the kind of track that would be a rock radio hit if rock radio still existed. The trip peaks with “Life is a Landslide” as the first few ominous opening bars quickly give way to a bouncy through-the-looking-glass jaunt that sneaks in a heavy survival tip: “Life is a landslide you ride along or you die.” Following on that theme, the band reminds you to “live in the moment” with the bouncy blues/funk of “Doesn’t Really Matter.” But even this strutting, seemingly straight-ahead rocker surprises with an unexpected, blissed-out and dreamy middle section that then shifts back, on a dime, to a re-funkified coda. It’s that kind of extra effort that sets this band apart.
Album closer “Where is This Place” is a journey all its own. Building from the band’s slowest, swampiest opening groove and built on a loose guitar loop that I can’t quite call a “riff,” this jam has enough space for all the players to contribute and a tribal/hypnotic chorus that matches the guitar line. This is the band working toward its core essence; they’re not here to explain anything, they’re trying to get to a place of universal feeling and they want you to come along. You’re going to want to join them on High Water II.
(Tom O’Connor / Rock and Blues Muse)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Sooner Or Later - 3:33
2. Gimme Something - 4:05
3. Leave It All Behind - 3:00
4. In Here - 3:22
5. You And I - 3:46
6. Mother Storm - 4:06
7. A Mirror - 4:12
8. Lost Boy (feat. Alison Krauss) - 4:21
9. Turn It Around - 3:54
10. Life Is A Landslide - 4:12
11. Doesn't Really Matter - 4:28
12. Where Is This Place - 4:11

Art-Nr.: 9908
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Mathus, Jimbo & The Tri-State Coalition - white buffalo [2013]
Rural Guitar-Rootsrock, Americana, Mississippi Swamp-Rock, Delta-Blues, Alternative Country Rock, Hill Country Blues, Southern Soul - welcher dieser Bezeichnungen man für die mitreissende Musik dieser begnadeten Truppe auch verwenden mag, es passt immer. Jimbo Mathus und seine Band The Tri-Star Coalition (die Burschen kommen aus den drei verschiedenen U.S. Bundesstaaten Arkansas, Missouri und Mississippi) nennen es schlicht "Catfish Music". Sie legen mit ihrem neuen Album "White buffalo" geradezu ein Meisterwerk amerikanischer Roots-Musik hin. Mathus war der Kopf der sehr bekannten, mittlerweile aufgelösten, verrückten "Hyper-Ragtime" Rock-Formation Squirrel Nut Zippers, doch von seiner Herkunft und musikalischen Natur her ist der Mann aus Mississippi ein überaus produktiver, genialer Songwriter für durch und durch authentische "born-in-the-bone Southern music", ein Fahnenträger für die Kultur und die Mythologie des Südens. Genau das setzt er mit seiner fantastischen Band (neben Jimbo Mathus: lead vocals, lead guitar, mandolin sind das Matt Pierce: Telecaster guitar, Eric Carlton: keyboards, Terence Bishop: bass und Ryan Rogers: drums) auf beeindruckende, packende Art und Weise um. Jimbo Mathus beschreibt den "Tri-Stste"-Sound als "a true Southern amalgam of blues, white country, soul and rock'n roll". Besser kann man's nicht ausdrücken. Und die Musik der Truppe hat richtig Feuer. Bestimmt wird sie vorwiegend von einem sehr transparenten, vielschichtigen Gitarrensound, immer wieder kongenial ergänzt durch Orgel- und/oder Piano-Untermalungen und einer knackig troscken agierenden Rhythmusfraktion. Es herrscht ein vorwiegend raues, durchaus dreckiges, zuweilen aber auch sehr natürliches, frisches Ambiente, gepaart mit wunderbaren Melodien, das durch eine exzellente, sehr klar abgestimmte, "tighte" Produktion perfekt in Szene gesetzt wird. Verantwortlich dafür zeichnet niemand Geringerer, als Roots-König Eric "Roscoe" Ambel (u.a. the Del Lords, The Yayhoos, Steve Earle). Es muss aber auch einen Heidenspass gemacht haben, dieses umwerfende Songmaterial ins richtige Licht zu rücken. Gleich die erste Nummer, "In the garden", ist ein Knüller: Trockene, wunderschöne Mandolinen-Riffs erklingen, Jimbo's ungemein inspirierter, ausdrucksstarker Gesang setzt ein und langsam kommt die ganze Band ins Rollen. Wir hören ein großartiges Akkordeon, dreckige E-Gitarren, dazu flüssige Telecaster-Linien, ein gewisses Soul- und Gospel-Flair und einen tollen, swampigen Groove. Southern-/Delta-/Rootsrock, der einen unwiderstehlich in seinen Bann zieht. Im Verlauf des Albums haut die Truppe dann einen Haufen krachender Rocker raus, wie etwa das fulminante, schwer kochende Titelstück "White buffalo", ein von massiven E-Gitarren (lichterloh brennendes, dreckiges Solo) und fetter Orgeluntermalung bestimmter Volldampf Roots-/Southern-/Bluesrocker, der gar einen Hauch von Hendrix verbreitet (allerdings auf Mississippi-/Roots-Terrain), oder das an die Georgia Satellites, aber auch an die North Mississippi Allstars erinnernde "Fake hex", besticht aber auch mit einigen hinreissnden (Alternative)Countrynummern, wie zum Beispiel das grandios arrangierte "Poor lost souls", das klingt, als sei es einer imaginären, gemeinsamen Session von Hank Williams, Johnny Cash, Gram Parsons und The Band entsprungen (tolle Akkordeon-Klänge, schöne Mandolinen-Fills und herrliche, "mehrstimmige" Gitarrenlinien). Bärenstark auch die knackige, erdige Ballade "Tennessee walker mare" mit ihrer großartigen Melodie, Mathus' tollem, angerauten Gesang und einem Gitarrenbreak, das gar an The Allman Brothers Band zu erinnern scheint. Es ist alles gesagt und doch wiederholen wir uns gerne noch einmal: Jimbo Mathus & The Tri-State Coalition's "White buffalo" ist schlichtweg ein Meisterwerk. Das ist sie, die grandiose, fesselnde "Catfish"-Musik des amerikanischen Südens!

Als Beispiel, wie dieses großartige Album in den Staaten aufgenommen wird, hier noch, für die, die es interessiert, die ausführliche, begeisternde Besprechung von Brian Robbins, vom renommierten und hoch geschätzten Webzine "jambands.com" im Original:

In 2011, I wrote a review of Jimbo Mathus’ Confederate Buddha album, referring to the music on it as “rooted deeply in Mathus’ beloved Mississippi Hill Country, but the messages contained within the dozen tracks came from – and reach out to – some place far, far away.” My feelings about Confederate Buddha still stand – it’s a hell of a piece of work. But let me tell you something right now, folks: I don’t know what sort of gris-gris Mathus and his Tri-State Coalition (bassist Ryan Rogers, drummer Terrence Bishop, keyboardist Eric Carlton, and guitarist Matt Pierce) called upon during the recording of White Buffalo, but they have conjured up some mighty, mighty fine tunes.
You don’t have to wait for the magic to take hold: Mathus’ sweet mandolin ushers in “In The Garden” while Jimbo doles out some philosophy and advice – rolled in flour and pan-fried to a golden brown by the Coalition, who fall in behind him midway through the first verse. Carlton’s accordion infuses the tune with a Delta vibe; Bishop and Rogers keep the beat simmering somewhere between the Scottish Highlands and a Tibetan mountaintop; Pierce pilots his Telecaster through some amazing twists and turns; and through it all, Mathus’ brave little mando carries the torch that lights the song’s soul. The White Buffalo is off and running.
The best way to get to the core of what this album is all about is to dive right into the middle of the beast: the amazingly eclectic-yet-perfectly-united trifecta of “White Buffalo”, “Hatchie Bottoms”, and “Fake Hex”. The title tune comes roaring out of the speakers with enough force to make you duck your head – all rolling and a’tumbling drums and ga-wooping bass and wailing guitars and flashes of wild-ass voodoo funk ::: JIMI! ::: but there’s not a Cuban heel nor bit of tie-dye in sight; this is flannel-shirted and raggedy-blue-jeaned get-down-to-it psychedelia – as real as the button missing on that there thermal t-shirt, my friend. No sooner has the wild-colored dust and vapors and cymbal sizzles from “White Buffalo” settled than a gently-strummed acoustic guitar wraps its loving arms around you and takes you to “Hatchie Bottoms”. “In 20 and 10 I went back home again to the funeral of my Uncle Bobby …” sings Jimbo – and by the time the rest of the band has fallen into step, you are headed home as well, feeling every ounce of sweet and mournful ache ::: HANK! ::: that Jimbo and the boys lay on you. There’s hardly enough time to wipe your eyes before “Fake Hex” takes off, gee-tars all snapping and biting and chasing their tails in total Some Girls -era Stones glory ::: KEITH! ::: and it’s a hell of a mess Jimbo’s singing about (“Ever since I knew ya, you ain’t brought me nuthin’ but heartache”) but when they go roaring off into the wham/crash/wail of the bridge at 1:37, you’re helpless to do a thing except dance, dance, dance.
And that’s when you realize that what these crazy/talented bastards have managed to pull off is capturing the spirit of some sort of ::: JIMI! ::: HANK! ::: KEITH! ::: HOLY ROCK ‘N’ ROLL TRINITY – not by doing killer impressions or relying on plastic studio-created ambience … no, no, no. What Mathus and the Coalition have done is slow-boiled rock ‘n’ roll right down to its syrupy goodness, and then played it with every ounce of their collective beings – in a big ol’ room with big ol’ mics and a big ol’ vibe.
Sun Studios had it. Big Pink had it. The Basement Tapes and Motel Shot had it. And White Buffalo has it – a function of Mathus’ Delta Recording Service in Como, MS (an old high-ceilinged grocery store converted to a studio – that still shares a building with the local post office); a function of producer Eric “Roscoe” Ambel’s total grasp of who these players are and what they want to do; and a function of the players themselves knowing who they are and what they want to do.
Settling into White Buffalo is like hanging out in a cool old house where every chair is comfy; it’s chock full of moments to burrow into. Mathus’ and Matt Pierce’s harmonized guitar spirals on “Tennessee Walker Mare” are the sweetest you’ve heard since Dickey and Duane made the sun shine on “Blue Sky” while “Run Devil Run” will make the hair stand up your arms and have you brushing swamp vines out of your face that aren’t there.
“(I Wanna Be Your) Satellite” is a neat mix of crunch and velvet – a garage with a Wall Of Sound in the back. The boys lay down passages of cool doo-wop between the growled/yelped sing-‘em-like-you-feel-‘em verses. Eric Carlton’s cheesy-toned organ is the perfect glue; Ryan Rogers’ bass repeatedly builds the tune’s tension up and keeps things on edge; and pay attention to the start-stop-start drum roll that Terrence Bishop goes into at the 1:50 mark – one of the coolest bits of just-right-and-no-more rock rhythm laid down since Mickey Waller’s roll between the first and second verses of Every Picture Tells A Story. (Don’t take my word for it – go look it up.)
“Poor Lost Souls” is another tune whose words are of today, but whose soul comes straight out of an old AM radio speaker with Hank Williams doing the testifying for Mother’s Best Flour: “She’s just a lump of coal/but she could have been a diamond.” (Pierce tickles and prods his Tele into everything from Bakersfield ticky-tick rhythms to heartbreaker pedal steel-ish twang.) “Self?” is a study in introspection, honesty, and crunchy guitars; “Useless Heart” is more of the same – only different. Jay Bennett would’ve loved it.
Interplanetary honky tonk? Born-in-the-bone Americana? Yes and yes – and a few dozen other descriptions would fit, as well. It matters not what you call it, though – Jimbo Mathus and the Tri-State Coalition are playing your song.
Too early to start this year’s “Best Of” list? Nope. And White Buffalo is an easy pick.
(Brian Robbins/jambands.com)

Die komplette Tracklist:

1. In the Garden - 2:56
2. (I Wanna Be Your) Satellite - 2:39
3. Tennessee Walker Mare - 4:53
4. White Buffalo - 3:10
5. Hatchie Bottoms - 3:26
6. Fake Hex - 2:21
7. Poor Lost Souls - 3:42
8. Self? - 2:09
9. Run Devil Run - 4:02
10. Useless Heart - 3:37

Art-Nr.: 8033
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
In the garden
Tennessee walker mare
White buffalo
Fake hex
Poor lost souls
Self?
Useless heart

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
McEntire, Reba - keep on loving you [2009]
Reba's neue... - und es ist wieder ein prima Album geworden. Reba McEntire ist eine großartige Künstlerin, die es problemlos versteht, sich den Gegebenheiten des modernen Nashville's anzupassen, ohne auch nur im geringsten ihre Wurzeln zu leugnen. Genau das ist ihr hier bestens gelungen. So ist "Keep on loving you" ein modernes, überwiegend schön knackiges, kraftvolles Country-/New Country-/Contemporary Country-Album geworden, das typisch Reba ist, und eindrucksvoll offenbart, dass die Diva in Nashville's Gegenwart angekommen ist. Klasse!

Reba hat zu jedem einzelnen Stück des neuen Albums ein paar Gedanken und Statements preis gegeben, die wir nachstehend im Originaltext weitergeben:

1. "Strange" (Wendell Mobley, Jason Sellers, Neil Thrasher)
"I liked the way it has a lot of different melodies to it. It has great range, but the main reason I like it is because it's so sassy. I love the attitude of it. It's totally different, but it reminds me of the attitudes of `Can't Even Get the Blues.' I seem to have success with sassy attitude songs. This song is about a woman who has been left behind from her partner or boyfriend, and she is trying to feel sad, but it's just not working, so she's going on with her life. It's a strong woman song."

2. "Just When I Thought I'd Stopped Loving You" (Mark Nesler, Rivers Rutherford)
"This is the song that Rivers Rutherford wrote with Mark Nesler. I loved the beat and the melody. It reminded me of a Rascal Flatts song in the first part of it. It's really catchy. It's a song that I'd be singing the middle of the night when I woke up, so I knew it would be a great song when it is in your subconscious like that. I would say this is the least powerful woman song, because she is like, `Oh, I can't give in and take you back one more time, I can't,' but then she does. I hate to say it's a booty call song, but it does remind me of that. I guess this is my booty call song!"

3. "I Keep On Lovin' You" (Ronnie Dunn, Terry McBride)
"We were in the studio recording with Tony Brown, and Tony had said they were just finishing up some of the Brooks & Dunn songs. He said, `You ought to listen to this one song. I just love the song. I think it is wonderful. I think it can relate to a couple who have been together for a short time or a long time, but basically a long time. We've been through the highs and lows and ups and downs, we've fought and gotten back together, but no matter what we go through, I'm going to keep on loving you. I think it's an anniversary song."

4. "I Want a Cowboy" (Katrina Elam, Wayne Kirkpatrick, Jimmie Lee Sloas)
"Katrina Elam co-wrote this song. I am a huge fan of Katrina Elam. She is one of the best singers I've ever heard. I asked Tony to ask Katrina if I could cut `I Want a Cowboy.' She came in and sang some of the harmony on it too. It's a great kick-ass song that is good attitude. And I'm a cowgirl; I've rodeoed 10 years and I'm a third-generation rodeo brat, so I thought it was just perfect."

5. "Consider Me Gone" (Steve Diamond, Marv Green)
"It's a strong woman song. I'm sure there are tons of women who get the cold shoulder when the husband comes in from work. He's had a rough day and she's had three kids at home, especially if it's summer. He doesn't want to talk, something's going on and it's confrontation time. If you are giving me the cold shoulder, if you're not wanting to talk to me, and if things aren't getting any better and if I don't turn you on, consider me gone. Here's the way the cow eats the cabbage. It's like, let's poop or get off the pot. Tell it like it is. It's a pretty cool song and it's confrontation time. That is one thing that is wrong with relationships, that there's not enough communication."

6. "But Why" (Jason Sellers, Neil Thrasher)
"I love the melody. It's one of those love songs that I usually don't record. It's also a strong woman song: `I can do this by myself, but why would I want to when I can share it with you?' It's a real sweet love song. It's a very soft song."

7. "Pink Guitar" (Ed Hill, Jamie O'Neal, Shaye Smith)
"This is just a kick-ass fun song. I can see lots of little girls going, `Yeah, I want to play guitar.' When I was growing up, guitars were for boys; that was the men's instrument, especially an electric guitar. Girls could play an acoustic guitar. I remember the girl who played on one of the awards shows with Carrie Underwood. She got out there and played her butt off. That was when I found `Pink Guitar.' I said, `She's going to love this song.' I love the attitude of it. It's still country; it's almost like `Fancy.' This girl had this dream and she went on to survive and succeed. It's real cute and I love to sing it."

8. "She's Turning 50 Today" (Liz Hengber, Tommy Lee James, Reba McEntire)
"It's a song about a woman who found out that her husband left on Saturday for a woman who is half her age. She spent the day lying in bed, but then on Monday got up, loaded up her pickup truck and began a new chapter of her life. She went on with her life and didn't look back. I wrote the first two lines of `She's Turning 50 Today' and sent it to Liz Hengber. I said, `Why don't you work on this a little bit and email me back what you've got?' Two years went by, and I said, `Liz, what about that song?' She said, `Tommy Lee James and I are going to work on it. So by the time this album came around to start recording, they sent me an MP3 of it while I was in the studio. I rewrote the second verse to make it more personal and relate to me when I left Stringtown, Oklahoma, in 1987. So in a way it's about me leaving a relationship, but it was certainly years ago, but put the two together."

9. "Eight Crazy Hours (In the Story of Love)" (Leslie Satcher, Darrell Scott) "This is a song I was on the fence about because it was so deep that I just didn't know how to take it. And so I let Autumn McEntire Sizemore, my niece, listen to it. She started crying and said, `You've got to record this song.' I let more people listen to it and they were like, `Oh my gosh!' It didn't hit me as hard as it did a lot of other people. I guess I haven't had to get away. I think my music is my release. Whenever I am menopausal or whatever, I can release things in my music when I sing. That is my therapy. It touched so many people that I recorded it. When I sang it live it choked me up so much that I couldn't get through it. This woman has a meltdown and she is just putting sheets on the bed and winds up in a bunch of dirty clothes on the floor, crying her eyes out. She checks into a cheap motel and lets it all out, crying in the bathtub. It was just as simple as picking up the kids and she's back in life again. She just needed to go away and take time for herself. Eight hours later, they're sitting around table eating chicken and laughing. It's eight crazy hours and the story of love."

10. "Nothing To Lose" (Kim Fox)
"Nothing to Lose" was on Melonie Cannon's album. When I was working with (Melonie's father) Buddy Cannon years ago, he gave it to me. I love Melonie's voice. `Nothing to Lose' was one of those songs that I said, `Man, if I could ever record that...,' so I did. I told everybody, `I want to feature the band on this,' so we let the band play two or three times. Everybody had an instrumental. It's about a woman leaving on the bus going down to Georgia. She doesn't know where she's going and doesn't know what lies ahead, but she doesn't care. It's another strong woman song."

11. "Over You" (Michael Dulaney, Steven Dale Jones, Jason Sellers)
"Whew! That is a sad song, kind of like Anne Steele. It's a beautiful melody. (My husband) Narvel said he loved this song. He would play the demo over and over. It's just one of those about `I knew the day would come when we would see each other again. You look great and got on with your life, but I'm still not over you.' It's really sad."

12. "Maggie Creek Road" (Karen Rochelle, James Slater)
"We were in the studio and I was having trouble with my resonance; I wasn't getting my soft voice at all. During lunch I saw Dr. Richard Quisling, my throat doctor in Nashville, and he opened up my sinuses or resonances or something. I came back to the studio and started singing again and Tony Brown's mouth dropped open, `My gosh, what did he do to you?' `He lasered out a little infection.' I put Dr. Quisling on my album thanks-yous. He is just a miracle worker. I had been on the fence about this song, but Tony really wanted me to record it. While I was coming back in, I said, `Let's do `Maggie Creek Road' next,' and he said, `Yes!' It's about this woman who has a daughter that is almost déjà vu for this mother. The little girl is leaving with evidently an older man on a date. This is what happened to the mother 20 years ago. She isn't going to let history repeat itself, so she follows them. They are parked down by the river and she opens the door and takes care of the situation. As the song says, `You don't want to see Mama go to war.' Mama was protecting her daughter. It's one of those swampy Louisiana songs with that feel."

13. "I'll Have What She's Having" (Jimmy Melton, Georgia Middleman)
"This is a cute song. I loved it the first time I heard it. They had horns on it and I said, `Of course we'll change it to fiddle and steel guitar.' It's real sassy. A woman is walking into a bar and she's looking for a man. She sees a woman having a good time, dancing with a man. `I'll have what she's having... and by the way, that looks hot.' We'll have fun with it onstage."

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1 Strange - 3:00   
2 Just When I Thought I'd Stopped Loving You - 3:50   
3 I Keep on Lovin' You - 3:13   
4 I Want a Cowboy - 3:39   
5 Consider Me Gone - 3:38   
6 But Why - 3:28   
7 Pink Guitar - 2:53   
8 She's Turning 50 Today - 4:05   
9 Eight Crazy Hours (In the Story of Love) - 4:04   
10 Nothing to Lose - 4:47   
11 Over You - 3:56   
12 Maggie Creek Road - 4:50   
13 I'll Have What She's Having - 2:59

Art-Nr.: 6516
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Old Dominion - happy endings [2017]
Großartiges, neues Album der aufstrebenden und unter den Countryfans ordentlich von sich Reden machenden Band aus Nashville/Tennessee, der abermals ein prächtiger Wurf in Sachen Mainstream Country mit dezentem Pop-Einschlag gelingt. Toller Gesang, hervorragende Melodien und ein höchst ansprechendes, musikalisches Niveau vereinen sich in 12 erstklassigen Tracks, die nahezu alle mit immensem Hit-Potential gesegnet sind. Stark!

Hier ein Original U.S.-Review:

The band behind hits like "No Such Thing As A Broken Heart," “Break Up With Him” and “Song For Another Time” return with 12 track follow-up to “Meat And Candy.”
It has often been said that a band’s hardest album to make is their second album. The album after expectations have been placed based on markers established by their first album. While Happy Endings may have been hard to make for a band spinning plates between family obligations, tours, songwriting appointments and the very recording of the album, Old Dominion makes it all seem effortless. It’s not only a continuation of the formula from the Gold-certified debut Meat And Candy but also expanded on thanks to expansive melodies and sharper, more mature lyrical songs written by a band who knows who they are and what they’re good at.
With a dozen tracks, Happy Endings finds the narrator pleading with the woman of their dreams in “Be With Me” while the John Lennon-esque piano intro of “Shoe Shopping” gives away to some of the band’s trademark sing-song-y, wordy, lyrics with a great hook of “If you’re shoe shopping, why don’t you try me on for size.” This is the stuff great pop songs are made of. Strong harmonies drive the opening of “Not Everything’s About You” and that grounds the band’s southern roots and Milsap-80’s country/pop melodies while “Written In The Sand” seeks a declaration of a relationship, to see if it’s going the distance or if it’s going for speed (“Written in the stars baby or are we written in the sand”).
The melodies run deep on Happy Endings showcasing why Old Dominion has become one of the biggest bands in country music. And as proof, they serve up a twist with one of the most melodic, interesting songs on the album, “New York At Night.” The little curveball is that guitarist Brad Tursi is given the chance to be the lead vocalist instead of regular frontman Matthew Ramsey (The other members of the band consist of Geoff Sprung, Whit Sellers and Trever Rosen). "New York At Night" proves Brad Tursi’s a good lead vocalist too and he gives a Kings of Leon-like guitar solo for added measure. “A Girl Is A Gun” and “Hotel Key” both have lyrical moments that will leave you singing along while the live closer “Can’t Get You” gives folks some great insight to what makes the band so fun to see live.
Unbeknownst to fans who have only heard the radio hits is the fact that Old Dominion is quite adept at ballads and showcase as much on “So You Go,” a song about the feelings we all have gone through when you feel the ending of a relationship. “Still Writing Songs About You” is a second ballad on the project and it finds a guy who may be tangentially related to the guy in “So You Go” but this is a guy who is always inspired to write songs about the woman who owns his heart. It also feels like a cousin to “Song From Another Time.”
The mere fact that we haven’t talked about opening single “No Such Thing As A Broken Heart” is proof at how deep Happy Endings is. The band’s creativity and personality is evident in that song and the cover art of each of their three projects (This one being cross stitch). The “sophomore slump” is a very real thing in but it’s something Old Dominion needn’t worry about as they’ve successfully navigated a record with Happy Endings that suggests the band is not only here for a good time but they’re here for a long time.
(Matt Bjorke / Roughstock)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. No Such Thing as a Broken Heart - 2.56
2. Shoe Shopping - 3.41
3. Not Everything's About You - 3.54
4. Hotel Key - 2.46
5. Be with Me - 2.49
6. Written in the Sand - 3.04
7. So You Go - 2.46
8. Stars in the City (feat. Little Big Town) - 3.19
9. New York at Night - 3.34
10. A Girl Is a Gun - 2.54
11. Still Writing Songs About You - 3.35
12. Can't Get You - Live - 3.15

Art-Nr.: 9513
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Pitney, Mo - behind this guitar [2016]
Junger, 23-jähriger, hoch gehandelter Countrymusiker aus Cherry Valley, Illinois, dem in Nashville eine große Zukunft prophezeit wird und den die groißen amerikanischen Magazine, wie "Rolling Stone Country", "The Huffington Post" und "Billboard" als "one of the strongest male vocalists to come along in some time” bezeichnen - im übrigen vollkommen zu Recht, wie wir finden. Denn Mo Pitney ist in der Tat einer, der in der Lage ist, die Countrymusic wieder auf den "rechten Weg" zu bringen. Durch und durch Traditionalist kommt er mit wunderbaren Songs und einer hinreissenden Stimme, die irgendwo zwischen dem jungen Keith Whitley und Randy Travis engesiedelt ist. Seine Lieder sind geprägt von einer herrlichen, unbeschwerten Lockerheit und einem tollen "flowing feeling", mit dem sie sich sofort auf natürliche Art und Weise ihren Weg in die Ohren der Liebhaber unverfälschte Countrymusic bahnen. Großartige Country-Gitarren, Pedal Steel, Klavier, Orgel, Dobro, Fiddle - typische Countryinstrumente halten sich in den prächtigen Arrangements genüßlich die Waage Das alles ist vollkommen befreit auf poppigen, aufgemotzten Klängen oder gar von befremdlich in die Musik einegbauten Rap- oder elektronischen Momenten, wie bei so vielen der "huppen" Maintreamkünstler. Nein, Pitney's Musik ist in ihrer ganzen Konsistenz ehrlicher, authentischer, "handgemachter" purer Country. Mit an Bord hat er die ganz Großen der Nashville Studiogarde, wie beispielsweise Randy Scruggs, Paul Franklin, Aubrey Haynie, Bryan Sutton, JT Corenflos, Greg Morrow, Michael Rhodes, und, und, und. Produziert hat Altmeister Tony Brown! Ein fantastische Debutalbum von Mo Pitney. Perfekter "Stoff" für die Traditionalisten und Fans solcher Leute wie Merle Haggard, Alan Jackson, George Strait, sowie der bereits genannten Keith Whitley, Randy Travis und weiterer Seelenverwandter dieser "Spezies".

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Country - 3:16
2. Clean Up On Aisle Five - 3:41
3. Come Do A Little Life - 2:56
4. It's Just A Dog - 3:59
5. Everywhere - 2:53
6. Boy & A Girl Thing - 3:05
7. I Met Merle Haggard Today - 3:43
8. Take The Chance - 3:37
9. When I'm With You - 2:55
10. Love Her Like I Lost Her - 4:07
11. Behind This Guitar - 4:02
12. Give Me Jesus - 4:05

Art-Nr.: 9296
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


|| Weiter