Artikel 1 bis 15 von 22 gefundenen...

[1-15] [16-30]

 
Allman Brothers Band, The - macon city auditorium, macon. ga 2/11/72 [2013]
2 CD-Set! Die Veröffentlichung rarer, historischer Konzerte aus den umfangreichen Archiven der Allman Brothers findet endlich ihre Fortsetzung. Nach "American university 12/13/70" und "S.U.N.Y. at Stonybrook, NY 9.19.71" folgt nun ein großartiges Konzert aus der schwierigen, aber sehr bedeutungsvollen, weil emotionalen Phase der Band zwischen November 1971 und Herbst 1972, der so genannten "Five-Man Band" Ära, als man nach dem tragischen Tod des unvergessenen Duane Allman am 29. Oktober 1971 beschloß, zunächst nur mit Dickey Betts, also ohne zweiten Gitarristen, weiter zu machen. In dieser Zeit wurde der Meilenstein der Band "Eat a peach" fertiggestellt, aus dem einige absolute Klassiker hervorgingen, wie etwa "Melissa", "Ain't wastin' time no more" und "Les brers in a minor". Das nun veröffentlichte Konzert ist eine ganz besondere Show, denn es war die erste Performance der Band in ihrer Heimatstadt Macon nach dem Verlust von Duane. Und es wurde ein fantastischer Auftritt an jenem 11. Februar 1972 im Macon City Auditorium von Macon/Georgia. Wunderbar, dass diese Show nun endlich offiziell für die unzähligen Fans dieser legendären Band zugänglich gemacht wurde.

Das schreibt "Hittin' The Note", das renommierte, den Allman Brothers nahe stehende, Jamrock-Magazin über diese DoCD:

In the 35 year existence of the Allman Brothers Band, the 11-month period of time from November 1971, to the fall of 1972 - often referred to as the "Five-Man Band" era - is an extremely important, emotionally charged, and yet often overlooked chapter of ABB history. On October 29, 1971, the band lost its founder, spiritual leader, and guiding force when guitarist Duane Allman was killed in a motorcycle crash in Macon, Georgia. Words cannot describe the magnitude of devastation that hit the group, but the notion that the band might call it quits was quickly discounted - Duane would have wanted them to play on, so play on they did. Replacing Duane with another guitarist, however, was not an option, so the Allman Brothers decided to move forward as a quintet. They finished recording the studio album that they were working on at the time of Duane's passing - subsequently entitled Eat a Peach - and produced three classic tracks; "Ain't Wastin' Time No More," "Melissa," and "Les Brers in A Minor."

The remaining members - Gregg Allman on vocals and keyboards, Dickey Betts on guitar, Berry Oakley on bass, and drummers Butch Trucks and Jaimoe - hit the stage less than a month after Duane's death, and the music that literally burned with passion served as the best possible form of grieving. At the same time, their style of music was forced to change - missing were the dual harmony lines of Duane and Dickey, as well as Duane's slide guitar mastery. As a result, responsibilities shifted within the group. Aside from now being the only guitarist in a traditional two-guitar line-up, Dickey also took on the unenviable task of playing Duane's slide parts on some of the band's signature tunes, a challenge he more than met - Dickey displayed a versatility that few knew he possessed. Gregg stepped up his Hammond B-3 playing, and his vocals were more important than ever. It was Berry Oakley, however, who underwent the largest transformation. Berry had always played bass like a third guitarist, but with Duane gone, Oakley's playing became monstrous - his thundering lines filled all sorts of voids in the music with an emotion and splendor that was part evil, part magic.

This two-CD package is taken from a show at the Macon Auditorium on February 11, 1972. It was the band's 23rd show without Duane, and the first in their hometown since his loss. Playing two sets that day, the band put on a five-star performance - the music sounded comfortable, natural, and powerful.

After Gregg dedicated the show to "Brother Duane," the Allmans launched into "Statesboro Blues" with Dickey's country-flavored slide and Berry's prowling bass setting the tone, which carried over into a lean "Done Somebody Wrong." Gregg then announced a new song, "Ain't Wastin' Time No More," which was Eat a Peach poignant. A cooking "One Way Out" has Gregg on piano duplicating Duane's slide riff, and then comes a version of "Midnight Rider" with Dickey and Berry combining forces to make up for Duane's absence. The 21-minute "You Don't Love Me" absolutely belongs to Dickey Betts, who delivers a majestic, soaring run that encapsulates the utmost brilliance of his skills. Gregg shines on a sultry "Stormy Monday," which gives way to "Hoochie Coochie Man," where Oakley's whimsical vocals are in stark contrast to his precise bass playing, and "Hot 'Lanta" shows that the ABB could still swing like a jazz band.

Disc Two kicks off with "Les Brers in A Minor," and Berry's bass surges like a tide as Dickey blisters the fretboard, with Butch and Jaimoe underneath, pushing everyone along. "Trouble No More" - sans slide- segues into Berry's renowned opening to "Whipping Post," which showcases a compelling solo by Dickey that climaxes with a maddening crescendo. It was the perfect closer to a day when the Allman Brothers truly were hittin' the note for the folks in Macon.

By the late summer of 1972, the group found itself going through an unplanned but fulfilling transition. During this time, a series of informal jams with the Allman Brothers and a hot young keyboardist named Chuck Leavell took place, and the musical dialogue spoke volumes. The solution to filling out the band's sound became clear - instead of adding another guitarist, they would bring in Chuck's piano as a second lead instrument, and in October 1972, they entered Capricorn Studios to begin work on their next record. After 92 shows, the "Five-Man Band" segment of the Allman Brothers ended on November 2, 1972, when the new line-up played its first gig at Hofstra University, which was taped for ABC's late-night program, In Concert.

Just as the band seemed to be righting itself and heading in a new direction, tragedy struck again. On November 11, 1972, Berry Oakley was killed when his motorcycle collided with a city bus in Macon, only three blocks from the site of Duane's fatal crash. Despite the incomprehensible loss of another Brother, the ABB gamely moved on, adding Lamar Williams on bass and finishing the album Brothers and Sisters, which was dedicated to Berry.

Enjoy this special slice of Allman Brothers' history - just crank up that bass and let 'er boom, 'cause that's what B.O. woulda wanted.

John Lynskey
Hittin' the Note Magazine

Die komplette Setlist:

Disc 1
1. Statesboro Blues - 5:38
2. Done Somebody Wrong - 3:45
3. Ain't Wastin' Time No More - 4:56
4. One Way Out - 6:58
5. Midnight Rider - 3:14
6. You Don't Love Me - 21:32
7. Stormy Monday - 8:26
8. Hoochie Coochie Man - 4:49
9. Hot 'Lanta - 6:18

Disc 2
1. Les Brers In A Minor - 11:55
2. Trouble No More - 3:53
3. Whipping Post - 16:10

Art-Nr.: 8058
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Angebot || Typ: CD || Preis: € 11,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Alvin, Dave & Jimmie Dale Gilmore - downey to lubbock [2018]
Zwei "alte" Haudegen und Pioniere der amerikanischen Roots-Szene tun sich zusammen und liefern ein geradezu brillantes Album ab. Der aus Downey in Californien stammende ex-Blasters-Veteran Dave Alvin und der in Lubbock/Texas beheimatete Roots-/Country-/Folk-/Singer-Songwriter Jimmie Dale Gilmore nehmen uns auf "Downey to Lubbock" mit auf eine wundervolle, ja mitreißende, packende Reise durch musikalisch faszinierende Landschaften von Roots, Blues, Rock, Americana und Alternate Country. Voller Leidenschaft, Biß und mit ungemein viel Gefühl, Seele und Authentizität repräsentieren sie ihre Heimat, Herkunft und musikalischen Einflüsse und Ideologien in 12 herausragenden, sehr abwechslungsreich und dennoch herrlich straight gestalteten und arrangierten Tracks. Zwei davon sind neu von ihnen komponierte, eigene Stücke, der Rest sind wunderbar um-arrangierte Coverversionen alter, beeindruckender Klassiker, die sie in ihrem musikalischen Werdegang auf irgendeine Art und Weise begleitet haben. Was die Beiden (Alvin spielt neben dem Lead Gesang noch bravourös akustische und elektrische Gitarre mit fulminanten Soli, Gilmore überzeugt neben der zweiten Lead-Stimme mit akustischer Gitarre und Mundharmonika) und ihre exzellenten Begleitmusiker (u.a. Skip Edwards - keyboards; Nick Forster - guitars, lap steel, mandolin; David J.Carpenter - bass; Don Heffington - drums und einige mehr) hier abliefern, ist die höchste Roots-, Blues-, Americana-, Rock-Schule. Los geht's mit dem genialen Titelstück "Downey to Lubbock", einem grandiosen, prächtig nach vorn gehenden, herrlich rootsigen, erdigen, "burning harp- and guitar-centered" Bluesrocker, in dem die beiden (sie teilen sich hier, wie auch bei einigen anderen Tracks, den Lead Gesang auf), textlich großartig verpackt, ihre musikalische Geschichte erzählen. Alvin besticht mit famoser Lead Gitarren-Arbeit (tolles Solo) und Gilmore mit nicht minder starkem Mundharmonika-Spiel. Die Nummer, die im übrigen auch toll auf Alvin's "Eleven Eleven"-Album gepasst hätte, hat einen klasse Drive. Welch ein Aufrakt! Es folgt eine saustarke Coverversion von Steve Young's "Silverlake", vorgetragen in einem ganz dezent mexikanisch angehauchten, leicht bluesigen, wundervollen, staubigen Americana-Gewand. Die großartige Begleitung aus vielschichtigen akustischen und elektrischen Gitarren, sowie unaufdringlicher Orgel und ebenso unaufdringlichem Akkordeon passt einfach super. Leicht und locker "galoppieren" die Zwei im Anschluß daran durch die herrliche, mit schöner Mandoline und klasse E-Gitarre inszenierte, lockere John Stewart-Nummer "July, you're a woman". Das ist rootsige, staubige Americana-Musik vom Allerfeinsten. Fantastisch auch das tierische, dezent akustisch beginnende, dann aber mächtig brodelnde, mit furiosen E-Gitarrenläufen und "rattenscharfen" Sax-Einlagen (Jeff Turner) gespickte Blues-Cover von Lightnin' Hopkins' "Buddy Brown's Blues", die hinreißend schöne, melodische, flockige "Mexican-flavoured" Countryrock-Version von Chris Gaffney's "The gardens", die tolle Version des alten 60iger Dino Valenti-/Youngbloods-Klassikers "Get together", das gewaltig rockende "Lawdy Miss Clawdy", wie auch die traumhaft melodische Americana-Nummer "Billy The Kid and Geronimo" - alles Höhepunkte eines von vorn bis hinten packenden Werkes. Dave Alvin und Jimmie Dale Gilmore mit einer herausragenden, ja überragenden Vorstellung, Ein absolutes Ausrufezeichen in Sachen Rootsmusik für das Jahr 2018! Kommt im übrigen in einem sehr schön gestalteten Digipack mit 24-seitigem, reich bebilderten und informativem Booklet.

Hier noch ein Original U.S.-Review:

You don’t need to know the backstory to this meeting of the minds of Dave Alvin and Jimmie Dale Gilmore, two of Americana’s most respected journeyman roots rockers. That’s because they do the work for you on the opening title track to this partnership where they trade vocals explaining their careers and somewhat unlikely collaboration on this disc’s only co-write.
Ex-Blaster Alvin hails from Downey, California, and ex-Flatlander Gilmore calls Lubbock, Texas home. The two are a decade removed in age but found common ground in their love of Americana music, specifically the blues, rock and roll, R&B, and folk acts that played LA’s famous Ash Grove club which they both frequented. These guys are road-hardened troubadours who know the once-endless highway is going to soon end but are determined to keep the faith. They do that beautifully on this studio alliance.
Alvin’s flinty baritone and Gilmore’s high lonesome, windswept style wouldn’t seem to be a natural combination. But even though there aren’t honeyed Everly Brothers-styled harmonies here, the contrast in their voices makes for a surprisingly riveting blend. They generally switch lead vocals, which also provides a window into which one brought the song - and all but two are covers - to the table.
Alvin pays tribute to late buddy Chris Gaffney by performing his bittersweet Tex-Mex ballad “The Gardens” (one of two tracks that also features legendary West Coast songwriter Van Dyke Parks on accordion) and Gilmore does the same for Steve Young in his warbling cover of the sweet memories on “Silverlake.” But it’s the classic rockers like Lloyd Price’s New Orleans stomper “Lawdy Miss Clawdy” and Brownie McGhee’s gospel-laced closing “Walk On” where the duo really finds their footing. Alvin’s distinctive lead electric guitar snakes through these tracks, bringing high voltage rollicking authority to Lightning Hopkins’ “Buddy Brown’s Blues” and the traditional swamp folk of “K.C. Moan.”
A cover of the Dino Valenti by way of the Youngbloods ’60s “smile on your brother/ love one another” anthem “Get Together” is as pertinent today as it was 50 years ago - perhaps more so - and this version with Gilmore’s trembling voice and Alvin’s taut guitar solo raises the temperature making it feel even more incisive. The California bred singer-songwriter’s lone new solo writing contribution, “Billy the Kid and Geronimo,” tells the fictional tale of a meeting between these two American fugitives, allowing both singers to trade verses based on the characters’ narratives, as they elicit sympathy for their violent lives.
A full band backs the twosome and while this might seem like an unusual pairing on paper, the result is an alternatively sweet, touching, rousing and undeniably heartfelt set that plays to both artist’s strengths while pushing each slightly outside their comfort zone. Hopefully, there will be a follow-up to further expand on this success that brings out the best in both Alvin and Gilmore and seems to just scratch the surface of their deep Americana pedigrees. (Hal Horowitz/American Songwriter)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Downey to Lubbock - 5:49
2. Silverlake - 5:02
3. Stealin' Stealin' - 2:58
4. July, You're a Woman - 3:53
5. Buddy Brown's Blues - 3:51
6. The Gardens - 3:56
7. Get Together - 3:59
8. K.C. Moan - 5:12
9. Lawdy Miss Clawdy - 2:38
10. Billy the Kid and Geronimo - 4:45
11. Deportee - Plane Wreck at Los Gatos - 4:52
12. Walk On - 5:50

Art-Nr.: 9634
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Downey to Lubbock
Silverlake
July, you're a woman
Buddy Brown's Blues
The gardens
Lawdy Miss Clawdy
Billy the Kid and Geronimo

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Bonamassa, Joe - had to cry today [2004]
Atemberaubend! Blues-/Bluesrock-Gitarrenakrobat Joe Bonamassa eilt von Höhepunkt zu Höhepunkt! Die Stärken dieses Knaben scheinen unbegrenzt zu sein! Gerade mal ein Jahr nach dem grandiosen "Blues deluxe" läßt er mit "Had to cry today" den nächsten, absoluten Knüller folgen! Man hat ihm schon bei den vorigen Werken attestiert, das Steigerungen kaum noch möglich seien, doch dieser unglaubliche "Guitarslinger" belehrt uns einmal mehr eines besseren. Noch reifer geworden (vor allen Dingen in gesanglicher Hinsicht war seine Leistung nie besser) besticht Bonamassa auf 11 herausragenden, für ihn typischen, von elektrisierenden und enthusiastischen Gitarrenläufen geprägten Blues-/Bluesrock-Nummern, die einen nicht mehr loslassen! Geprägt von den Einflüssen seiner großen Vorbilder, wie B.B. King, John Lee Hooker, Albert Collins, Robert Johnson oder Stevie Ray Vaughan, bereichert er seinen Stil diesmal mit wunderbaren Chicago-, Delta-, und auch British-Blues-/Rock-Bezügen, ebenso wie mit dem aus früheren Werken schon bekannten Southern-Flair. Sogar ein paar Roots-/Americana- und Country-Einflüsse fehlen nicht (zuweilen hören wir faszinierendes Acoustic-Gitarren-Spiel), was die Platte insgesamt sehr abwechslungsreich macht. Auch die bisweilen eingesetzte Hammond-Orgel macht den Sound angenehm transparent. Ein Sound der auf den Punkt genau, knackig produziert ist (Bob Held), der mal kocht, mal brodelt, mal regelrecht explodiert, druckvoll und sehr intensiv ist, höllisch rockt, zuweilen aber auch mal Raum für ruhigere und entspanntere Momente läßt! Begleitet wird Bonamassa, wie schon bei seinen drei Vorgängeralben auch, von dem fantastischen Drummer Kenny Kramme und dem ebenso starken Bassisten Eric Czar! Los geht's mit dem satt und hart rockenden, powernden, sehr rhythmischen, von rauen, leicht Southern eingefärbten Riffs geprägten, groovenden Uptempo-Knüller "Never make your move too soon", dessen glühendes Gitarrensolo sowohl Musiker als auch Zuhörer schnell auf die richtige Betriebstemperatur bringen. Doch mit der nächsten Nummer, "Travellin' south", gehen die Jungs noch einen Schritt weiter. Jetzt ist der Sidepunkt erreicht! Vollgas bis zum Anschlag heißt die Devise! Ein überschäumender, southern-fried, von einem gewaltigen Slide-Gewitter geprägter Bluesrock-Boogie/Blues Rock'n Roller, der einen fast aus dem Musikzimmer bläst. Was Bonamassa auf der Slide abliefert, ist schichtweg Weltklasse! Der Mann ist ja nicht zu bremsen! "This one is best when played loud driving down the freeway", sagt er selbst über dieses Stück, das manche vieleicht noch von Albert Collins kennen. Anschließend der nächste Knüller, eine hinreißende, fast 7-minütige Version des Lowell Fulson Blues-Klassikers "Reconsider Baby"! Diese Midtempo-Nummer enthält ein fulminantes, rund 2 1/2 Minuten langes, messerscharfes, genauso virtuoses, wie energisches Gitarrensolo, das die Gitarrenfraktion wieder einmal in staunendes Entzücken versetzen dürfte. Wie koordiniert dieser Bursche nur seine Finger? Tolles Drumming und eine prächtige Melodie begleiten das wunderbar locker und lässig beginnende, schön southern- und countryinfizierte, mit transparenten Acoustic-Riffs ausgestattete "Around the bend", das sich, ohne die Lockerheit zu verlieren, von der Kraft her ständig steigert, bis hin zu einem ungemein fetten Gitarrensolo in der Mitte, um schließlich zum Ende hin wieder etwas bedächtiger auszuklingen. Tolles Arrangement! Mit dem Instrumental "Revenge of the 10 gallon hat", einem klasse, melodischen Countryrocker, zollt Joe Bonamassa solchen Gitarrengrößen wie Danny Gatton, James Burton und Clarence White Tribut, ehe er nach der frischen, mit herrlichen Gitarrenspielereien durchsetzten Ballade "When she dances" zum Titelstück "Had to cry today" ausholt: eine fulminante, 6 1/2-minütige, inspirierte, kochende Version der alten Blind Faith-Nummer, mit rauen Retro-Riffs und einem mörderischen Gitarrensolo! Da können Winwood und Clapton nur staunen! Swampig und akustisch beginnt das folgende "The river", ehe donnernde, laute Riffs einsetzen und das Ganze zu einem prachtvollen, krachenden, sehr southern geprägten, kantigen Bluesrocker mutieren lassen. Was für eine Kraft! Eine dreckige Bluesharp und ein qualmendes Slide-Solo tun ein übriges. Hier brennt die Luft! Wie gesagt, der Spielfreude, der Klasse und Virtuosität dieses Joe Bonamassa scheinen keine Grenzen gesetzt zu sein! "Had to cry today" ist erneut ein absolutes Meisterwerk geworden, nicht mehr und nicht weniger! Begeisternder, leidenschaftlicher Bluesrock eines jetzt schon ganz Großen seiner Zunft!!

Art-Nr.: 2664
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Travellin' south
Reconsider Baby
The river

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Brooks, Kix - new to this town [2012]
Brooks & Dunn sind Geschichte, doch nach Ronnie Dunn kommt nun auch die andere Häfte des erfolgreichsten Country-Duos aller Zeiten mit einem Solo-Album! "New to this town" heisst das hervorragend gelungene Werk, mit dem Kix Brooks eindrucksvoll offenbart, was er auch ohne seinen kongenialen Partner in der Lage zu leisten ist. 12 starke Nummern, zumeist sehr kraftvoll und knackig in Szene gesetzt (der Balladen-Anteil ist klar in der Minderzahl), zwischen traditionellen Anlagen und sehr abwechslungsreichem, zuweilen durchaus rockigem New Country. Gast, Slide-Gitarrist und Duett-Partner beim Titelstück ust übrigens Joe Walsh (The Eagles). Die Musik passt durchaus zur Philosophie, die auch Brooks & Dunn verkörperten, hat aber auch ihren eigenen Pep. Die Melodien sind prima! Gratulation an Kix Brooks zu diesem großartigen Album!

Wen es interessiert: Hier im Original eine sehr ausführliche, aktuelle Biographie mit der Geschichte zum neuen Album im Original-Wortlaut:

"Wish I was new to this town
Just pullin’ in checking it out for the first time”
— “New to This Town” by Kix Brooks, Marv Green and Terry McBride

It’s been more than 30 years since Kix Brooks was new to the town that he made his home, where he married, raised two children and built an accomplished career as a songwriter, singer and half of the most successful duo in country music history, a weekly national radio show host, magazine columnist, film producer, actor, winery owner and active and influential member of the music industry and community at large.

And yet here he is, picking up where he started when he really was new to this town, when his very first solo single in 1983 lumbered up the country chart to #73 before being hijacked by gravity into oblivion.

“New to This Town” is the title cut from the album that he hopes will reintroduce him to music fans, not exactly as a brand new man—to borrow a phrase from a song he co-wrote many moons ago—but as his own man, with his own songs to sing and his own unique story to tell.
Though the song is about a romantic relationship, metaphorically it suggests another interpretation. “When you’re starting out, there’s so much fear that if you screw up or put out the wrong record, you’ve lost that chance to live your dream. At this point in my career, there’s a different kind of uncertainty and risk that the people who have seen me perform for 20 years as half of Brooks & Dunn won’t be able to see me as anything but that. So in that sense, being new to town would be good to be able to do again.”

Kix Brooks’ career as a musician began long before he came to Nashville, which is less than 100 miles from where the Louisiana native was shipped off for high school at Tennessee’s Sewanee Military Academy. “I wasn’t bad, but I wasn’t good,” he confesses with a smile. “The discipline was good for me. It gave me structure and problem-solving skills, which are really helpful for creative people.”

Brooks grew up in a musical family, had his first guitar before he hit his teens, and while in Sewanee, he began playing coffee houses with his roommate, Nashville native Jody Williams. “Jody turned me on to the Opry,” expanding the range of country music that Brooks already loved. “I was a fan of bluegrass, rock and outlaw country, people like Willie, Cash and Roger Miller. I loved the Allman Brothers, Leon Russell, the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Asleep at the Wheel, Guy Clark, Jerry Jeff Walker. ”
After graduation, he went to Louisiana Tech, gaining a foundational education in reading music and the theory of composition while getting hands-on experience playing clubs around town. Realizing that he wasn’t cut out to be in the marching band, school choir, or orchestra—which were required for a music degree—he switched his major to speech and got into theater, both of which would later serve him well.

A brief sabbatical from school led him to Alaska in 1976, working for his dad, a pipeline contractor. The job was great seed money, he recalls, “So when I got home, I bought a new car, a new guitar, a bottle of whiskey, and I was ready to get back at it.

“I had a band and I did some solo stuff. I could bang on a guitar and open up for just about anybody playing clubs in Shreveport. My plan was to be somebody.”
But an invitation from his sister put “Plan A” on hold. “She called me out of the blue and asked if I would come to Maine and help her with a television production company. So I was doing radio and television production, commercials, and it was a great experience. But I was also playing clubs and was still drawn to that. I enjoyed advertising, I enjoyed Maine. But in my heart of hearts, I just wanted to play music.”

So he took off again for Louisiana but stopped in Nashville to visit with his old roommate Jody Williams. “We stayed up all night talking and playing music, and Jody tried to talk me into staying. He said I could make a living writing songs. I said, ‘A, you’re nuts, and B, I’m going to New Orleans to play music.’”
But as fun as it was, the pace—and the partying—began to take a toll. “I called Jody up and said, ‘Do you really think I could make a living writing songs?’ and he said, ‘Get your ass up here!’”

True to his word, Williams gave Brooks a place to crash and found him a job with a concert production company while arranging meetings for him with music publishers around town.

“Everybody was really nice for about half a song, and then I wrote some more songs and called them back, and everyone was always out to lunch. So I started breaking songs down and figuring out what these guys were doing, which doesn’t mean you can do it, but at least I did my homework and really started working harder at trying to figure out how to do it. I realized it was one thing to make people smile in bars and another thing to make a living as a songwriter in Nashville.”
His hard work paid off, and less than two years after pulling into town, Brooks had a publishing deal and a #1 cut. Some things didn’t pan out, like his first album in 1983 on a label that went defunct before the album was released and a 1989 album on Capitol that went nowhere fast.
But he was making a living—a good living—writing songs for Tree Publishing, where exec Paul Worley took some of his demos to veteran music man Tim DuBois, head of the Arista Nashville record label. DuBois suggested that Brooks write with the winner of a talent competition, a tall, big-voiced Texan named Ronnie Dunn. When DuBois heard their song demos, the rest became Brooks & Dunn history.

In their 20-year ride, the duo recorded 10 studio albums, released 50 singles, scored 23 #1 hits, sold more than 30 million albums, sold out tours from coast to coast and became one of the most awarded acts in country music history.

But in August of 2009, they revealed what had long been a topic between the partners themselves: that after a final tour and a final compilation album, Brooks & Dunn would be no more.

“It was always an arranged marriage that happened to work out really well and produce some great kids. But after 20 amazing, dream-like years, it was time.”
As for the notion of recording a solo album, Brooks took his time—or as much time as realistic for someone who owns a thriving winery, hosts a weekly syndicated radio show, forms a film production company, takes on roles in three movies and writes all but one of the songs for the soundtrack for the western To Kill a Memory, as well as co-writing the soundtrack for a Christmas movie.

“I have a lot of interests, and I wasn’t at that point thinking of what I would do next. I was kind of looking forward to chilling for a year or so. I wanted to take my time. I started writing during the last B&D tour, and when we got done, I kept writing while we were making movies.”
When the time felt right, Brooks approached his album with customary enthusiasm, producing and recording nearly 50 songs before beginning the challenging process of narrowing the field. “There were a few like [the Brooks/Leslie Satcher co-write] ‘Moonshine Road’ that I was sort of building the album around,” he says, “so you try to take the ones that fit the other songs the best, that fit you best, or where the track is just smoking.”

The result is a record that is emphatically and uniquely Kix Brooks—rocking, smoky, swampy and bluesy, with belts of bayou and hits of Cajun zydeco. Nine of the album’s dozen tracks bear Brooks’ name as a co-writer, collaborating with such longtime friends and writing luminaries as Bob DiPiero and David Lee Murphy (on the lyrically clever “Closin’ Time at Home”), Rhett Akins and Dallas Davidson (for the mid-tempo musical celebration of “Bring It on Home”), and Marv Green and Terry McBride on “New to This Town,” the title track single that almost didn’t make the album.

“We were kind of done with everything, I had recorded the album, and Jay DeMarcus and I were doing the soundtrack for a Christmas movie over at his house. But I was thinking about that song, so he was nice enough to help me produce it and let me use the pickers while we were working there. He really liked the song, so I said, ‘Let’s do it together.’”

Later, “The engineer from my radio show said, ‘You ought to get some Joe Walsh-sounding slide on that.’ I’m like, ‘Hmm, what if I could get Joe Walsh?’ My manager is partners with Irving Azoff, who sent it to Joe, and he called me up and put the slide on there for me. So that worked out great.”
In a new-to-this-town, full-circle touch, the album also features two songs that Brooks wrote with Rafe Van Hoy. With Deborah Allen, they penned Brooks’ first #1 as a songwriter (John Conlee’s ’83 chart-topper, “I’m Only in It for the Love”), and they pair here on the backsliding fun of “Complete 360” and team with Curly Putman on the groove-and-soul-filled, after-hours portrait of “my baby’s” “Tattoo.”

Now, with his album complete, Brooks is just looking forward to getting it into the hands of fans and resuming the solo career that began long ago when his entire plan “was to be somebody.”

“That fear I had at one point in my career where you’re scared to death to make the wrong move, I don’t feel that way now. But you still really want to do something that is relevant and makes people rock, and look out at a crowd and know you have connected, you’ve hit that nerve. I don’t think you ever get over that.”

(This biography was provided by the artist or their representative.)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. New to this Town - 4:20
2. Moonshine Road - 4:21
3. Bring It On Home - 3:44
4. There's the Sun - 3:05
5. Complete 360 - 3:16
6. My Baby - 2:55
7. Tattoo - 3:25
8. In the Right Place - 3:47
9. Next to That Woman - 3:21
10. Let's Do This Thing - 2:57
11. Closin' Time at Home - 3:37
12. She Knew I Was a Cowboy - 3:22

Art-Nr.: 7907
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Civil Wars, The - same [2013]
Sehnlichst erwartetes Follow-Up des grandiosen Americana-/Singer-Songwriter-/Alternative Country-/Folk Rock-Duos Joy Williams und John Paul White zu dem mit 3 Grammys dekorierten, frenetisch gefeierten Debut "Barton hollow". The Civil Wars machen genau da weiter, wo sie mit ihrem Vorgänger aufgehört haben. Songmaterial und Performance sind exzellent!

Kurze Original-Produktinfo:
The Civil Wars' highly anticipated sophomore self-titled album is the follow up to the three-time Grammy Award-winning duo's acclaimed debut, Barton Hollow.
The Civil Wars was recorded in Nashville between August 2012 and January 2013. Charlie Peacock was once again at the helm as producer for the album. Additionally, Rick Rubin produced the duo's performance for the track "I Had Me a Girl" in August of 2011. Peacock later completed the track by producing the instrumentation and mix.

Exklusives "Track by Track"-Review zu allen Stücken des Albums von Joy Williams:

THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY

This song pays homage to regret. Nearly everybody I've come across has somebody in their life that they wonder what life would be like if they'd never met that person. It's that sliding-door moment -- in the blink of an eye everything could change. Either for the positive or the negative.
John Paul and I wrote this song in the screened-in porch of my and Nate's new home. I remember warm breezes blowing, a mild day. I had recently had my son, Miles, who happened to be asleep with Nate in the living room, right next to the porch. I remember asking John Paul to play quietly so he didn't wake up the baby.

I HAD ME A GIRL

This song always conjures up an image of a glass of whiskey and a lit cigarette. It's a little brooding. A little dangerous. It smolders. It has swagger and grit. It's full of innuendo and Southern Gothic tones. I love the feel of this track, and the way this song came together on the record. "I Had Me a Girl" is one of those musical moments that makes me wish I knew how to play electric guitar. Or any guitar, for that matter.

SAME OLD SAME OLD

This song, to me, represents the ache of monogamy. This isn't an "I'm leaving you" song. It's a vulnerable confession of "I don't want to leave. I want to work on this -- with you." Having said that, someone once told me a story about long-term relationships: to think of them as a continent to explore. I could spend a lifetime backpacking through Africa, and I would still never know all there is to know about that continent. To stay the course, to stay intentional, to stay curious and connected -- that's the heart of it. But it's so easy to lose track of the trail, to get tired, to want to give up, or to want a new adventure. It can be so easy to lose sight of the goodness and mystery within the person sitting right in front of you. That continent idea inspires me, and makes the ache when it comes hurt a little less. To know that it happens to all of us. What I'm realizing now is that sometimes the "same old same old" can actually be rich, worthwhile and a great adventure.

DUST TO DUST

This song is an anthem for the lonely. Sometimes you come across somebody who thinks they are hiding their pain, but if we are all honest, nobody is very good at it. "You're like a mirror, reflecting me. Takes one to know one, so take it from me.” When John Paul and I wrote this late one night in Birmingham, England, we decided to change the pronoun at the end of the song. We wanted to represent that we all experience loneliness in our lives.

EAVESDROP

We brought in our producer, Charlie Peacock, on this song. He helped with arrangements and really helped take the song to a totally different place. Sometimes as an artist, you can't see what needs re-arranging when you're so "in it." Charlie brought perspective. Almost like an eavesdrop within an "Eavesdrop."
Strangely enough, this song always reminds me that my voice has changed since the last album. I have my son to thank for that, truly. When I was first pregnant and performing on the road, I thought something was wrong with my voice. I was having a hard time hitting high notes, while my low notes kept getting deeper and deeper. I did some research with the help of a vocal coach, and learned that hormone levels affect a female singing range. Having a boy, naturally, upped my testosterone levels, making low notes easier to hit and higher notes harder to reach. But the great thing? After having Miles, I regained my high range AND have kept my low range. Pregnancy literally changed the makeup of my vocal cords. There's a different timbre to it now, and I love that I can hear the story of my son in my singing.

DEVIL'S BACKBONE

This song is our take on an Americana murder ballad. It's dark, prickly, anxious. It was fun writing because we just imagined some dust-bowl scenario, a broke-down town, and a man awaiting being hung for something he did in the name of trying to provide for his family. The woman who loves him is watching him standing there on the gallows.
This song always reminds me of when the melody first came to mind. I was doing my makeup in the tiled bathroom upstairs, with my newborn Miles in a yellow rocking bassinet next to me. I started singing, and turned on the voice memo app on my iPhone so I wouldn't forget it. As I sang, Miles started cooing along with me. Not on pitch, mind you, but I'd move a note, and he'd move a note. I'm never deleting that voice memo. It's become one of my favorites.

FROM THIS VALLEY

That's our Grand Ole Opry song. A new spiritual. It's actually the oldest song written on the album. We wrote it before Barton Hollow came out. Even though we didn't have our own recording of it, we started performing it live and it became a fan favorite. It made sense to finally put it on an album. One of my favorite moments on stage every night was singing the a cappella part together.

TELL MAMA

We recorded the performance at Fame studio in Muscle Shoals, a place we'd written a few songs before that made it onto Barton Hollow. I always felt the musical ghosts in that studio, one of whom was the great Etta James. We're a band that's known for covering songs live in our own way, and we thought it would be fun to take a stab at "Tell Mama." I found out later that where we recorded was the same room she recorded her version. That might explain why I kept getting goosebumps.

OH HENRY

We wrote it one week before Barton Hollow, in the mountains of Salt Lake City during our first Sundance Festival. We conjured up a story about a woman who was married to a philandering man. She is begging her man to level with her, and letting him know she can only take so much, a la "it's gonna kill me or it's gonna kill you."

DISARM

Again, we're the band who loves to do covers. Both John Paul and I have always been huge Smashing Pumpkins fans. Nate mentioned it might be a cool cover, and we actually wound up working it out the same day that we wrote "Oh Henry" up in Salt Lake City for Sundance. It turned into another on-stage staple that people asked for every night. We found out later from his then-manager that Billy dug it.

SACRED HEART

We wrote this song in a flat in Paris, with the Eiffel Tower in full view on a cold night. Tall windows, Victorian furniture, and somehow the atmosphere of all of that seeped into the song. Nate and our friends were there in the room as we wrote, all of us drinking wine together. I also loved getting to try out my flawed French. I wrote what words I knew in French, and then had a Parisian friend named Renata Pepper (yes, that's her real name) look it over later and help me translate. When we recorded the song for the album, I called in a French professor from Vanderbilt named Becky Peterson, who has now become a good friend.

D'ARLINE

We wrote this song in the studio behind my house in Nashville, on a warm summer day, with the windows and doors open. This song is a sweet lament, of loss and the belief that you'll never be able to love anybody else again. I stumbled across "Letters of Note" on Twitter, and was struck by the title of a letter written by a famous physicist named Richard Feynman: "I love my wife. My wife is dead." A little over a year after her death, he wrote his wife a love letter and sealed it. It was written in 1946, and wasn't opened until after his death in 1988. He ended his note to his long-lost wife with "Please excuse my not mailing this -- but I don't know your new address."
Another aside to this song: While we were recording the song together, John Paul and I could hear crows cawing in the background that I've since named Edgar, Allen and Poe. This recording and performance of the song is the first and only in existence, a work tape recorded simply on my iPhone.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. The One That Got Away - 3.32
2. I Had Me a Girl - 3.45
3. Same Old Same Old - 3.48
4. Dust to Dust - 3.49
5. Eavesdrop - 3.35
6. Devil's Backbone - 2.29
7. From This Valley - 3.33
8. Tell Mama - 3.48
9. Oh Henry - 3.32
10. Disarm - 4.42
11. Sacred Heart - 3.19
12. D'Arline - 3.06

Art-Nr.: 8264
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock; Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Dickinson, James Luther And North Mississippi Allstars - i'm just dead i'm not gone [2012]
Klasse Live-Scheibe des am 15. August 2009 verstorbenen, kultigen "Memphis-Producers" und Bluesmusikers James Luther "Jim" Dickinson. Die Aufnahmen stammen aus einem Konzert aus dem New Daisy Theater in der berühmten Beale Street von Memphis/Tennesse, als Dickinson von der großartigen Band seiner beiden Söhne Luther und Cody Dickinson, den North Mississippi Allstars begleitet wurde. Was die "Familie" spielte war großartiger, erdiger, dreckiger Memphis- und Hill Country-Blues im typischen Stil der North Mississippi Allstars, incl. prächtiger Slide Gitarrenarbeit (großartige Soli) von Luther.

Aus der Original-Produktbeschreibung:
Despite Memphis music enigma Jim Dickinson's long, winding, illustrious, and infamous musical career as a musician and producer, he never released a live album. Until now that is. I'm Just Dead, I'm Not Gone fills that gap in his catalog. Recorded in 2006 at the New Daisy Theater on Beale Street in Memphis, the album pairs the music legend on piano and lead vocals with his kids' band, the North Mississippi Allstars (Luther Dickinson, guitar; Cody Dickinson, drums; Chris Chew, bass), and special guest Jimmy Davis on rhythm guitar and backing vocals in a riotous set of blues, R&B, and country covers played at maximum speed and volume. It was all captured in the moment -- without further window dressing -- by Kevin Houston. From the elder Dickinson's poignantly surreal poem that opens Sir Mack Rice's "Money Talks" (in which, at 90 mph, he discusses everything from prayer, George W. Bush, honey, bad whiskey, and money), the proceedings are off to an uproarious start. It's raw and non-stop. While everything here works exactly as it should, there are some real standouts. The snaky blues cover of Buffy Sainte Marie's "Codine" is among the most original readings of the tune ever, with ghostly piano and Luther's deep blues lead guitar. The rocked-up party blues in Furry Lewis' "Kassie Jones" is another. Things get country-fried on Bob Frank's "Red Neck, Blue Collar" and Terry Fell's anthem "Truck Drivin' Man." Closer "Down in Mississippi" features a smoking extended guitar break by Luther, who shines throughout. But the real star is the man the album is named after. His command of the proceedings is no less authoritative than Jerry Lee Lewis' and just as unhinged as Charlie Feathers'. A cursory listen will offer the mistaken impression that this is a glorified bar gig. That said, a slightly deeper one will yield proof of Dickinson's prophetic, historical genius: in his persona and practice, he embodies the crossroads of all American roots song forms, from folk and blues to R&B and rock. His advice for his sons -- ...It's okay to rush, but don't drag..." -- is proven here time and again. At a shade over 42 minutes, I'm Just Dead, I'm Not Gone is a concise yet fully fleshed, sweaty, grimy, gritty exercise in everything that is truly great about rock & roll.

Die komplette Tracklist:

1 Money Talks - 5:35
2 Ax Sweet Mama - 3:55
3 Codine - 6:28
4 Red Neck, Blue Collar - 4:47
5 Kassie Jones, Pt. 1 - 4:55
6 Rooster Blues - 3:05
7 Never Make Your Move Too Soon - 4:01
8 Truck Drivin' Man - 4:24
9 Down In Mississippi - 5:33

Art-Nr.: 7848
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Money talks
Codine
Kassie Jones
Never make your move too soon
Truck drivin' man
Down in Mississippi

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Evans, Morgan - things that we drink to [2018]
Klasse U.S.-Debut des Australiers Morgan Evans, der drauf und dran ist in Nashville richtig Fuß zu fassen. Evans, in übrigen verheiratet mit der immens erfolgreichen Kelsea Ballerini, spielt eine überaus gefällige und voller Hitpotential steckende Mischung aus lockeren, gut zu verarbeitenden und sehr melodischen, mal dynamischen, mal langsameren Songs an der Schnittstelle zwischen New Country und Countrypop, die geradezu darauf warten die Charts zu stürmen. Enthält seinen ersten Nr.1-Hit, das flotte "Kiss somebody," und den neuen Hit "Day drunk". Natürlich darf auch ein Duett mit seiner Liebsten, Kelsea Ballerini, nicht fehlen ("Dance with me").

Hier ein Original U.K.-Review:

Morgan Evans captured the hearts of the UK when he released his lead single Kiss Somebody. With just a handful of songs out, Morgan has continued to build his UK fanbase with a couple of trips here including playing C2C Festival. Although we don’t often like to focus on an artists craft through their significant other, we can’t not mention Evan’s wife Kelsea Ballerini when she is so clearly the muse of most of his songs.
Morgan’s debut album Things That We Drink To starts with the song American, Evan’s seems to be describing his wife;
She’s got hair as gold as Kansas Wheat, her body moves like bourbon street in New Orleans, so wild and free She’s American, making my life better than it’s ever been.
American is a great start to the album and has that earlier Keith Urban style to it. This album is actually so much better than I thought it would be. With the title being Things That We Drink To I was somewhat afraid it was going to be a bunch of typical bro – country songs that sound just like all the other artists out there who sing about beer, trucks, dirt roads and women in little tight blue jeans or something. But this album has a lot more depth to it.
A lot of the songs are not just radio friendly but arena friendly and are definitely of the standard where you can imagine a huge arena concert and the music bouncing off the arena walls and everyone singing along.
Songs such as I Do are more mid tempo and in I Do’s case, is a love letter to his wife and well lets face it, us country fans are suckers for a real life country music love story.
Song for the Summer lost me a bit. I think it will prove popular amongst a lot of fans as has a great dance beat to it but it isn’t for me. It has an element of Sam Hunt in it and although I quite like Hunt, I just can’t seem to get into it.
Day Drunk which was another single is a great summer anthem song but again, neither here nor there for me sadly.
Kelsea Ballerini joins Morgan for Dance With Me for a stunning ballad. This is a gorgeous romantic country song as it should be. There is beauty in its simplicity and it isn’t over produced. The words are of course believable as they are true. Kelsea may not like love songs but Morgan clearly does and we are so glad about that or we wouldn’t have this song. I would be very surprised if this doesn’t get released as a single.
Me on You has a bit of an R&B element to it. It has a sweet guitar riff throughout and a nice beat to it. Although I am not keen on the clubby dance element to country music, this song can easily have that vibe but would also be amazing stripped back.
The title track Things That We Drink To, is thankfully not your typical drinking song but a breathtaking dedication to a friend of Morgans, his late manager who sadly passed. (More on that can be found here. ) This song has a strong anthem feel to it and its down tempo stylings are really quite infectious especially in the piano accompaniment. The emotion in Morgan’s vocals, lyrics and music is honest and quite deep. I like a song with meaning, a song where you can actually feel where the artist is coming from and what they a feeling on some level. The subject was obviously someone very dear to Morgan and the song is both happy and sad at the same time with the feeling of loss but also great memories and celebration of friendship. I think the songs music and words encompasses all of that and I would certainly drink to that.
We Dream is about those childhood dreams and childhood freedom. It is a good song but might be one that takes me a while. I sadly feel the same way about Everything Changes. Both aren’t bad tracks but may take a listen or two.
Young Again is a great song to close the album on. It has a Folk music way about it and is like an Irish drinking song and I enjoy those type of drinking songs as they feel a lot more happy and are the kind of songs that bring unity. I can see this song being one of those live songs that make people in the crowd all sway arm and arm whilst of course, raising glasses.
Overall this is a quality, celebratory album that certainly has that “Let’s raise our glasses” feel to it. Things That We Drink To has a lot of fun and thoroughly enjoyable songs.
There is a really bright future for Morgan Evans and he is definitely on his way up to being one of the big names and I am actually really excited about it. If he continues to deliver music similar to what he has now then I am more than happy for him to sit up there on the top of the charts. (Hnnah Jessica / Building Our Own Nashville)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. American - 3:03
2. Kiss Somebody - 3:33
3. I Do - 3:30
4. Song for the Summer - 3:32
5. Day Drunk - 3:14
6. Dance with Me (feat. Kelsea Ballerini) - 3:19
7. Me on You - 3:26
8. Things That We Drink To - 3:08
9. We Dream - 3:36
10. Everything Changes - 3:17
11. Young Again - 2:55

Art-Nr.: 9740
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Giddens, Rhiannon - tomorrow is my turn [2015]
Großartiges Solo-Debut der Frontfrau und Multi-Instrumentalistin von den Carolina Chocolate Drops. Die fantastische Sängerin brilliert mit einer ungemeni facettenreichen Scheibe zwischen Americana, Roots, Folk, Blues, Jazz, Country, Gospel, Rock und Soul, produziert von T Bone Burnett. Bärenstark beispielsweise ihre Interpretationen von Dolly Parton's "Don't let it trouble your mind" oder Elizabeth Cotten's "Shake sugaree". Unter den beteiligten Musikern sind solche Größen wie etwa T Bone Burnett (guitar), Colin Linden (guitar), Dennis Crouch (bass), Jay Bellerose (drums), Gabe Witcher (fiddle) und Keefus Ciancia (keyboards). Charismatisch! Edel!

Die Origianl-Produktbeschreibung:

Rhiannon Giddens, singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, and founding member of Grammy Award-winning Carolina Chocolate Drops, makes her solo recording debut with Tomorrow Is My Turn, due out February 10, 2015, on Nonesuch Records. The album was produced by T Bone Burnett.
Burnett first worked with Giddens when she performed last fall at a concert he curated at New York City’s Town Hall that was later broadcast on Showtime: Another Day, Another Time: Celebrating the Music of “Inside Llewyn Davis.” Backstage, Burnett was immediately moved to ask if he could produce a record with her. “It was clear the first time I heard her at rehearsal that Rhiannon is next in a long line of singers that include Marian Anderson, Odetta, Mahalia Jackson, Rosetta Tharpe,” Burnett says. “We need that person in our culture.”
For her first solo disc, Giddens chose a broad range of songs from genres as diverse as gospel, jazz, blues, and country. In addition to the traditional “Black Is the Color,” tracks include Hank Cochran’s “She’s Got You,” made famous by Patsy Cline; Dolly Parton’s “Don't Let It Trouble Your Mind”; “O Love Is Teasin’,” popularized by the Kentucky-reared “mother of folk” Jean Ritchie; and Elizabeth Cotton’s “Shake Sugaree.”
“I had already started putting together a list of songs that didn’t really fit into the Chocolate Drops world,” Giddens explains. “At the top was ‘Tomorrow Is My Turn’ [immortalized by Nina Simone]. Seeing Nina do it on YouTube was revelatory. I knew she’d gone through a lot of hard times, as so many people did in that time period. Watching her sing this song, with the words ‘tomorrow is my turn,’ I began to think about the struggle of her and women like her.” The significance of this song led Giddens to make it the title of the album as well. “Other songs started getting on my list and they were all by women or interpreted by women,” she says.
"Tomorrow Is My Turn" was recorded in Los Angeles and Nashville, with a multi-generational group of players whom Burnett assembled. Among them are fiddle player Gabe Witcher and double bassist Paul Kowert of label-mates Punch Brothers; percussionist Jack Ashford of Motown’s renowned Funk Brothers; drummer Jay Bellerose; guitarist Colin Linden; legendary backup singer Tata Vega; veteran Nashville session bassist Dennis Crouch; and Giddens’ Drops touring band-mates, multi-instrumentalist Hubby Jenkins and beat-boxer Adam Matta.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Last Kind Words - 4:13
2. Don't Let It Trouble Your Mind - 3:39
3. Waterboy - 3:45
4. She's Got You - 4:17
5. Up Above My Head - 3:09
6. Tomorrow is My Turn - 4:37
7. Black Is the Color - 3:45
8. Round About the Mountain - 3:30
9. Shake Sugaree - 4:24
10. O Love Is Teasin' - 4:32
11. Angel City - 3:52

Art-Nr.: 8790
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Grateful Dead - crimson, white & indigo: philadelphia, july 7, 1989 [2010]
3 CD & 1 DVD-Set! 7. Juli 1989 im JFK-Stadium von Philadelphia! Das komplette Konzert, sowohl auf 3 CDs, als auch auf DVD! Die DVD spielt knapp 3 Stunden (ebenso natürlich die CDs) und ist "code free" (auf jedem DVD-Player abspielbar)! Exzellente Bild- und Tonqualität! Die CDs sind in HDCD gemastert, die DVD bietet 2.0 Stereo und 5.1 Surround Mixes!

Hier die offizielle Grateful Dead Release-Infos zu diesem 3CD/DVD-Pavckage:

Here’s a cool way to kick off the new year and decade: Coming soon is a fantastic new release called Crimson, White and Indigo, a DVD/3-CD set that captures every second of the Grateful Dead’s superb July 7, 1989 concert at Philadelphia’s John F. Kennedy Stadium. If you loved the popular 2005 DVD/CD release Truckin’ Up to Buffalo, from July 4, 1989, well, this is the very next show: why, it’s practically like being on tour without having to pitch in gas money, eat bad road food, swelter in the heat or score a miracle ticket. Nope, all the work has been done for you—from the crisp multiple-camera shoot (with no video effects, you’ll be happy to hear) produced from the tastefully executed live screen video feed directed by long-time Grateful Dead collaborator and concert video guru Len Dell'Amico, to the crystal clear and powerful audio, mixed from the original 24-track analog tapes in both Dolby Digital stereo and 5.1 surround (for the DVD), and mastered in HDCD (for the CD). But the proof is (always!) in the playing, and this show from the sizzling summer of ’89 tour is sure to please both hard core and casual fans with its energy, diverse song list and passionate playing.

Two years removed from the craziness that surrounded the “comeback” tour of 1987 and the Dead’s unprecedented flirtation with mainstream success—thanks to “Touch of Grey” and the In the Dark album—the group was still riding the crest of that wave and attracting thousands of new fans with each passing tour. The summer of ’89 began in style for the Dead on the solstice itself with a nationally televised/broadcast concert from Shoreline Amphitheatre in Mountain View, Calif. A week and a half later, the GD circus hit the road for seven East Coast stadium shows, followed by a handful in Midwest amphitheaters. The group was in excellent form throughout, offering a great selection of old and recent favorites, and polishing some of the new songs which would make up their album-in-progress at the time, Built to Last. Visually, the Dead’s stage set that summer was perhaps the most spectacular they ever mounted—designed by noted Czech artist Jan Sawka, it consisted of dozens of enormous painted canvas panels covered with various patterns, colors and shapes—some abstract, some concrete; quite an amazing sight in an enormous stadium.

In what would turn out to be the final rock concert in Philly’s JFK Stadium (the first was The Beatles in August 1966; the aging stadium itself dated back to 1926), the Grateful Dead come out on a brutally hot afternoon (after a fine opening set by Bruce Hornsby & the Range) with rock ’n’ roll on their minds. “Hell in a Bucket” is an appropriate opening choice for a day that is nearly hot as Hades, and then Jerry takes the party to the next level with a truly inspired “Iko Iko.” He’s all smiles, and that’s always a good sign! From there, the first set dips into some blues (“Little Red Rooster”), Hunter-Garcia classics like “Ramble on Rose” and “Loser,” a potent version of Dylan’s “Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again,” a wonderfully exploratory version of “Let It Grow,” and finally, Brent Mydland’s still-newish anthem “Blow Away,” which is one of his finest performances of that rockin’ tune.

You gotta love a second set that opens with a warm and inviting “Box of Rain”—peppy and nicely sung—and then right on its heels a “Scarlet Begonias” > “Fire on the Mountain” that is as “up” and celebratory as you could hope for: The “Scarlet” breezes along with joyous purpose, and the “Fire” hits all sorts of mighty peaks; at nearly 25 minutes, it’s a spectacular pairing. “Estimated Prophet” is marked by a smoldering intensity and then the jam that follows settles into the majestic Hunter-Garcia ballad “Standing on the Moon,” surely one of their greatest late-era compositions, and played only seven times before this standout version. The DVD depiction of the “Rhythm Devils” percussion duel gives us a fascinating glimpse of the tools and techniques Mickey and Bill used to create their magical alchemy, and then, following “Space,” the band launches into a hair-raising, careening “Other One” (dig how the camera shows us Phil’s rumbling bass intro up close!), Jerry takes us down to the docks of the city for an emotional “Wharf Rat,” and Bob gets back into party-mode for the concluding “Lovelight.” The encore of Dylan’s “Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door” offers a beautiful grace note for a show that has taken us through so many different spaces and moods.

The beautifully designed package for Crimson, White and Indigo (the name comes from a line in “Standing on the Moon,” of course) includes loads of great photos by Bob Minkin and an essay from veteran Grateful Dead observer Steve Silberman. All in all it’s a wonderful show from a great year!

Die komplette Setlist:

Disc 1
1 Hell in a Bucket - 6:50   
2 Iko Iko - 7:46   
3 Little Red Rooster - 9:32   
4 Ramble on Rose - 7:35   
5 Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again - 9:17   
6 Loser - 7:15   
7 Let It Grow - 12:42   
8 Blow Away - 12:29   

Disc 2
1 Box of Rain - 4:46   
2 Scarlet Begonias - 9:58   
3 Fire on the Mountain - 13:42   
4 Estimated Prophet - 9:12   
5 Standing on the Moon - 8:19   
6 Rhythm Devils - 10:08   

Disc 3
1 Space - 10:09   
2 The Other One - 7:47   
3 Wharf Rat - 10:31   
4 Turn on Your Lovelight - 8:20   
5 Knockin' on Heaven's Door - 8:41   

DVD
1 Hell in a Bucket   
2 Iko Iko   
3 Little Red Rooster   
4 Ramble on Rose   
5 Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again   
6 Loser   
7 Let It Grow   
8 Blow Away   
9 Box of Rain   
10 Scarlet Begonias   
11 Fire on the Mountain   
12 Estimated Prophet   
13 Standing on the Moon   
14 Rhythm Devils   
15 Space   
16 The Other One   
17 Wharf Rat   
18 Turn on Your Lovelight   
19 Knockin' on Heaven's Door

Art-Nr.: 6867
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 31,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Locash - the fighters [2016]
Klasse Album des Duos Locash, das sind Preston Brust und Chris Lucas, die in der Vergangenheit schon als Locash Cowboys auf sich aufmwerksam machten. "The fighters" bezeichnen manche Experten schon als eines der besten Countryalben des Jahres (zum Beispiel das höchst anerkannte Fanzine "Roughstck" - siehe Original-Review im Anschluß). In der Tat gelingt den beiden eine dynamische, schmissige Kombination aus Tradition und modernem "Feel Good"-Country/Countryrock der jungen, wilden Nashville-Generation. Die Songs gehen bestens in Ohr und stecken voller Hit-Potential, wie ihre erste Nummer 1, das starke "I love this life". Die Burschen kommen rüber wie eine Mischung aus modernen Montgomery Gentry, Justin Moore, Thomas Rhett, Jake Owen, Florida Georgia Line und Luke Bryan. Macht richtig Laune!

Review von "Roughstock" im Original-Wortlaut:

Duo’s Reviver Records debut is the culmination of a lot of hard work and each track on the album represents the band well.
Life is all about the moments where you have a choice to make. Do I keep going or do I move on. For LOCASH’s Preston Brust and Chris Lucas, there is no other choice but to keep going. Much like their good friend Chris Janson, LOCASH’s hard work paid off earlier this year when “I Love This Life” became their first #1 hit (and recently RIAA Gold-certified) and serves as the lead-off hitter for The Fighters. The ear worm is still one of country radio’s most-played songs and is backed up by the hit “I Know Somebody,” a song which hit the Top 30 just this week. That song is one of three outside written tunes, joining “Ring On Every Finger” and the album closing title track “The Fighters.”
This album found the duo working with friend and frequent co-writer Lindsay Rimes serving as their producer and it’s a match made in hillbilly heaven. His production techniques blend the best of modern country music with the traditional sounds of the past into a cohesive blend of vibe-y feel good songs, every one of ‘em a potential radio hit.
“Ring On Every Finger,” from Thomas Rhett, Jesse Frasure and Josh Kear is the kind of song that could easily be a massive hit. The lyrics are sweet in the way a man goes about proposing to the love of his life and there are some clever lyrical moments to go with the jovial melody. “Shipwrecked” is still a powerful ballad that deserves to be heard on the radio and streaming playlists. It’s emotive the production of the record helps it feel grand and epic, as the lyrics demand. “Moonwalkin” and “All Day” feel like LOCASH songs while “God Loves Me More” may on the surface feel like it isn’t a love song but that’s exactly what it is and it’s told in a unique lyrical way.
I actually didn’t think that LOCASH would be able to top the impactful “Shipwrecked” as a song that should be their third single but they did just that with “The Fighters,” a song the band recorded at the end of the album process after asking some songwriting friends to send them one of their best. The song, written by Tom Douglas, Rodney Clawson and Matt Dragstrem is definitely great. There’s a pulsating lyrical grove of stick-to-it’dness in the song and that suits LOCASH perfectly as if there were a song that described the journey to country music stardom for LOCASH, it definitely would be “The Fighters,” a song that anyone who has overcome something in their life will absolutely relate to.
A cohesive album from track one to eleven, LOCASH’s The Fighters is a record which has the duo poised for stardom they seemed destined to achieve from the moment they started recording together all those years ago. This one is definitely one for The Fighters and clearly deserves consideration as one of 2016’s best country album releases. (Matt Bjorke)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. I Love This Life - 3:28
2. Ring on Every Finger - 3:32
3. I Know Somebody - 3:17
4. Shipwrecked - 2:53
5. Moonwalkin - 2:31
6. Drunk Drunk - 2:55
7. All Day - 3:14
8. God Loves Me More - 2:59
9. Till the Wheels Fall Off - 3:04
10. Ain't Startin Tonight - 2:50
11. The Fighters - 3:40

Art-Nr.: 9194
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Moody, Ruth - these wilder things [2013]
Betörend schönes, zweites Solo-Album von Ruth Moody, einem Drittel der gefeierten kanadischen Folk-/Americana-Formation The Wailin' Jennys. Mark Knopfler ist ein bekennender Fan von Ruth und sagt: "I can't take her off my jukebox", All Music Guide bezeichnet das Werk schlicht als "delicious and refreshing". In der Tat begeistert die charismatische, junge Kanadierin mit einem tollen Album voller herrlicher, melodischer, zumeist zart und fragil vorgetragenen, überwiegend akustisch arrangierten und recht sparsam instrumentierten Songs, die sich genüßlich auf einem Terrain zwischen Folk, Bluegrass, Roots, Country, Americana und dezenten Rock-Elementen tummeln. Instrumente wie akustische Gitarren, Dobro, Mandoline, Piano, zurückhaltende Keyboards und E-Gitarren, auch mal eine Flöte oder eine ganz dezent wahrnehmbare Trompete bestimmen das Geschehen. Ruth's wunderbare, zarte Stimme und der musikalische Rahmen harmonisieren fantastisch miteinander. Das gesamte Klangbild besticht mit einer herrlichen, unverbrauchten, rootsigen Natürlichkeit. Musikalische Gäste sind u.a. der eingangs erwähnte Mark Knopfler, Jerry Douglas (Alison Krauss & Union Station), Aoife O'Donovan und Wailin' Jennys-Kollegin Heather Masse. Enthält eine gnadenlos starke, akustische, zwischen Folk und Bluegrass hin und her balancierende Coverversion von Bruce Springsteen's Mega-Hit "Dancin' in the dark". Ruth Moody mit einem hinreissenden Album!

Hier noch ein Original U.S.-Review:

These Wilder Things, the second solo album by Ruth Moody of the Wailin' Jennys, is both apiece and apart from her 2010 debut Garden. While her lyric concerns seem similar on the surface and the music is still rooted in contemporary folk, this ten-song collection ranges farther and wider. Acoustic instruments still dominate the landscape and Moody plays many of them, but the stylistic diversity here is a further step down the road. She wrote all but one song here, a playful, acoustically driven cover of Bruce Springsteen's '80s hit "Dancin' in the Dark," but her reading of it -- sans pulsing keyboards and desperate masculine voice -- makes it fit seamlessly with her songs here: they all seek connection with something larger, in life, love, and spirit. The bluegrass gospel in "One Light Shining," with dobro from Jerry Douglas and backing vocals by Aiofe O'Donovan, projects that bigger reality inside a small frame. So is the minor-key, broken love song "Pockets," with silvery guitar and backing vocals from Mark Knopfler. This is Moody at her darkest; one can feel her protagonist's desolation in the grain of her airy soprano, and Knopfler's grainy baritone comes from the ether as the absent lover sings with the narrator across time and space. The title track features the trace of a Moog by producer David Travers-Smith, but it merely underscores Moody's piano and determined voice. Her protagonist is addressing her fear and doubt, and lets them know solemnly that she will move past them into a wide-open future. Travers-Smith's flügelhorn and e-horns add a ghostly gospel affirmation in the backdrop. Her bandmates help out with backing vocals on the sweet country love song "One and Only," with its slow chugging guitars. Mike McGoldrick's low whistle and John McCusker's fiddle provide traditional Celtic flavor to "Life Is Long," which reinforces its simple yet profound poetry of passage and return. Closer "Nothin' Without Love" finds her on banjo in this aching, jazzy, romantic paean that juxtaposes economic and emotional poverty; it aches to transcend both. Moody's gaze on These Wilder Things is indeed still an interior one, but it's more confident and more sophisticated musically and lyrically. The protagonists in these beautiful songs accept what they encounter, and truthfully and variously recount that adventure to the listener with an open heart.
(Thom Jurek, Rovi)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Trouble and Woe - 3:16
2. One and Only - 4:55
3. Dancing in the Dark - 4:19
4. These Wilder Things - 5:14
5. Trees for Skies - 3:32
6. Pockets - 5:03
7. Make a Change - 4:42
8. One Light Shining - 4:43
9. Life Is Long - 5:37
10. Nothing Without Love - 5:00

Art-Nr.: 8185
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock; Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Trouble and woe
One and only
Dancing in the dark
These wilder things
Pockets
One light shining

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Morgan, Whitey and The 78's - same [2010]
Wer sagt, Outlaw Country ist tot? Nix da, Whitey Morgan and The 78's sind eine "rough-hewn, edgy" Honky Tonk Band aus Flint im U.S. Bundesstaat Michigan, die in ihrer großartigen Musik den Spirit von Waylon Jennings, David Allan Coe, Billy Joe Shaver, Johnny Paycheck und Johnny Cash, aber auch den solcher Traditionalisten wie George Jones und Merle Haggard weiterleben lassen. Toller, purer Outlaw Country, Honky Tonk, Traditional Country, Old School Country, oder, wie es ein U.S.-Rezensent treffend ausdrückt, "hard-edged, 2-stepping, beer-soaked barroom music" - das ist es, was die "78's" mit viel Herz zelebrieren. Die musikalischen Roots liegen dabei deutlich in den frühen Siebzigern, in der rauen, "rowdy" Countrymusic, mit der Waylon & Co. damals unaufhaltsam auf Nashville zurollten und begannen in den Charts Einzug zu erhalten. Doch Whitey Morgan (der Bursche heisst mit richtigem Namen Eric Allen) und seine Freunde schlagen eine, von zwangloser Unbekümmertheit und viel Frische geprägte Brücke zwischen diesen Retro-Roots und modernem, zeitgemässem Honky Tonk des 21. Jahrhunderts. Alles wirkt dabei ungemein authentisch und ehrlich. Die Burschen sprechen mit ihrer Musik viel mehr den über den Highway knatternden Biker oder hart arbeitenden Farmer an, als die jungen "Hochglanz-Cowboys" Nashville's. Das kommt kraftvoll, gleichzeitig aber sehr lässig, cool und geradlinig rüber. Mit viel Herz eben. Morgan verfügt über eine für das Genre geradezu prädestinierte, tolle Stimme - "rowdy", staubig, tief, Whiskey-resistend, irgendwo an der Schnittstelle zwischen Waylon und dem "Man in Black". So singt ein echter Outlaw. Damit würde er auch glatt als einer der berühmten "Highwaymen" (Cash, Jennings, Kristofferson, Nelson) durchgehen. Weitesgehend werden die Songs in einem sehr angenehmen Midtempo präsentiert, immer mal wieder unterbrochen von einem flotteren Track oder einer Ballade. Transparente Gitarren aller Art (akustisch, elektrisch, Baritone) spielen bei den Arrangements die dominierende Rolle, wobei aber auch die surrende Fiddle und vor allen Dingen die immer wieder traurig heulende Pedal Steel nicht wegzudenken sind. Es passt alles wunderbar zusammen und wird rhythmisch von adäquat in Szene gesetztem Bass- und Schlagzeugspiel perfekt ergänzt. Das Album, übrigens eingespielt in Levon Helm's Woodstock Studio "The Barn", enthält 7 von Whitey Morgan, aka Eric Allen, geschriebene Eigenkompositionen und 4 ausgewählte Covers, die von vorn bis hinten jeden "working class outlaw who loves country music to the core" begeistern werden. Los geht's mit einem prächtigen Remake des alten J. D. Loudermilk-Klassikers "Bad news", den Whitey und seine Mannen in einer herrlich knackigen, unterschwellig angerockten Fassung präsentieren. Tolle Melodie, klasse E-Gitarren, inklusiver zweier exzellenter Telecaster-Soli und grandioser Pedal Steel-Einsätze von Gast Larry Campbell (u.a. langjähriger Sideman von Bob Dylan). Es folgt der großartige, raue, urige, ebenfalls von wunderbarer Pedal Steel durchzogene Barroom Honky Tonker "Turn up the bottle", der eindringlich und überaus authentisch die Erinnerung an eine enttäuschte Liebe zum Thema hat, die man wohl nur im stark alkoholisierten Zustand ertragen kann, während, aus der Jukebox klingend, niemand geringerer als George Jones den Schmerz mit einem teilt. Weitere Highlights: Die herrlich melodische, relaxte, dennoch "roughe", "rural" Outlaw Country-Nummer "Memories cost a lot" (eine alte Hank Cochran-Komposition) mit seiner klasse Fiddle, der jaulenden Steel und tollen Baritone E-Gitarre, der erdig nach vorn "galoppierende", dreckige Country-Blues-/Honky Tonk-Boogie "Buick city" mit seinem tollen "Rambling"-Feeling (klasse Harp-Spiel, großartige Electric Slide Gitarre, inklusive eines würzigen Solos), die herrliche "Pure Country"-Nummer "Cheaters always lose", wieder instrumentiert mit schöner Baritone E-Gitarre, heulender Pedal Steel, sägender Fiddle und feiner, wohl klingender Mundharmonika (exzellenter, trauriger Outlaw-Gesang), das urige "Honky Tonk queen" mit seinem starken Saloon-Flair, u.s.w, u.s.w., bis hin zu dem Spaghetti Western-kompatiblen "Long road home"! Ein ganz starkes Album von Whitey Morgan and seinen 78's! Nein, Outlaw Country ist nicht tot! Im Gegenteil! "Move it on over, there’s a new sheriff in town"...

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1 Bad News - 5:17   
2 Turn Up the Bottle - 3:43   
3 Memories Cost a Lot - 3:51   
4 Buick City - 3:11   
5 Meanest Jukebox in Town - 2:24   
6 Cheaters Always Lose - 3:10   
7 Hard Scratch Pride - 4:59   
8 Honky Tonk Queen - 3:17   
9 Where Do Ya Want It? - 2:45   
10 I Ain't Drunk - 3:00   
11 Long Road Home - 5:03

Art-Nr.: 7143
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Bad news
Turn up the bottle
Memories cost a lot
Buick city
Cheaters always lose
Honky Tonk queen

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Pistol Annies - interstate gospel [2018]
Fantastisch! Ein Meisterwerk! Lone Star Annie (Miranda Lambert), Holler Annie (Angaleena Presley und Hippie Annie (Ashley Monroe) sind nach 5 Jahren Pause zuzück mit Album Nr. 3 und versetzne ihre Fans damit in Verzücken. Innovativer, kreativer und besser kann man frische und moderne Countrymusic kaum spielen. Wir hören eine hinreißende, in wunderbare Arrangements und prächtige Melodien verpackte, sehr abwechslungsreiche Mixtur aus peppigen, abgehenden "Rockern" und exquisiten, überaus intelligent gestalteten Balladen und Midtempo-Nummern, die trotz aller Progressivität und hoch spannenden, knackigen Interpretationen immer zu ihren "True Country"-Wurzeln stehen. Waren die ersten beiden Alben der "Annies" schon brillant, so haben sie nun ihr absolutes "Masterpiece" abgeliefert. Ohne jeden Zweifel eine der besten und "aufregendsten" Country-Veröffentlichungen des Jahres 2018.

Hier noch ein Original U.S.-Review:

The Pistol Annies — Miranda Lambert, Ashley Monroe and Angaleena Presley — who have previously recorded two of the smartest and most sophisticated albums on gender and sex, have outdone themselves with Interstate Gospel. The new album is more ambivalent, deeper and more bittersweet, casting a more melancholy hue. It is an album that tackles what they call "generations of shame," trying to tell the truth in a genre that often encourages lies, especially lies about the comforts of home.
It is an album about how terrible men are — how that terror has a genuine seductive quality, but also about how boring men can be, and the oppressive feelings brought on by both. It is an anthology of how many ways, both banal and excessive, hetero-normative pressures can be.
In exquisite harmonies and with lush guitars, they talk about what they believed at the altar, and what they no longer believe now that she was no longer "blinded by diamonds and driven by lust" (on "When I Was His Wife." The lullaby soft "Cheyenne" is a perfect story song about a woman who loves "country music and broken-in boots," who finds "plenty of pool table cowboys to hold her." It is a song that mentions Cheyenne's daddy and grandmother as roots for sadness, but there is a move where the narrator wants to be like Cheyenne, who treats love "as cold as the beer in her hand." It is a song so intense in feeling, and ambivalence, as brilliant as Sammi Smith's "Toast of 45" or Tammy Wynette's "Womanhood."
"Cheyenne" is not the only song that makes arguments about loneliness and autonomy. There are also moments where the claiming of women's sexual autonomy is genuinely audacious, using desire to break all social bonds — on the rollicking "Got My Name Changed Back," a rockabilly beat celebrates refusing a cheating man's name in favour of her own. On the blues grind of "Sugar Daddy," she claims to be a "red dirt queen of the palace" who states plainly that "there ain't a damn man in Dallas who wouldn't put a ring on her hand." I believe her, every sexy, shimmering inch of self-confidence is the sexiest claim of autonomy in years.
There are ballads that have the same confidence, but work somewhat between the pleasure of "Sugar Daddy," and the othering of something like "Cheyenne." "Milkman" is a tale of how restrictive life in a small town can be; the song that trades verses between the Annies, about the relationship between a free-wheeling daughter and a repressed mother. The daughter wants her mother to drink on a Sunday, make it past the water tower, pick wild flowers, and more importantly love the milkman in addition to loving her biological family. Cheating songs are often heartbreak songs; a cheating song where a child recognizes how oppressive loving daddy can be, is made even more shocking by how gently the argument is presented.
The last two Pistol Annies albums ranged from very good to brilliant; this album seems to be a breakthrough, a masterpiece that extends their already formidable gifts. (Anthony Easton / Exclaim.ca)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Interstate Prelude - 1:07
2. Stop Drop and Roll One - 3:02
3. Best Years of My Life - 3:42
4. 5 Acres of Turnips - 2:55
5. When I Was His Wife - 3:29
6. Cheyenne - 4:16
7. Got My Name Changed Back - 2:54
8. Sugar Daddy - 3:38
9. Leavers Lullaby - 4:01
10. Milkman - 3:22
11. Commissary - 3:35
12. Masterpiece - 4:38
13. Interstate Gospel - 3:01
14. This Too Shall Pass - 3:02

Art-Nr.: 9732
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Ray, Michael - amos [2018]
Nach den beachtlichen Erfolgen mit seinem Debut von 2015 legt der aus Florida stammende Michael Ray nun sein zweites Album vor, das ihn noch einmal deutlich weiterentwickelt und gereift zeigt. Nach seinem Großvater "Amos" betitelt, der ihn musikalisch stark geprägt hat, liefert Michael 11 großartige New Country-/Mainstream Country-Songs voller Nashville Hit-Potential ab, ohne dabei allerdings allzu sehr auf elektronischen und Country-fremden "Schnickschnack" zu setzen, was das Ganze äußerst angenehm macht. Nein, er setzt auf ehrliche, "handgemachte" New Country-Musik, die sehr erfrischend rüberkommt. Großen Anteil daran hat sicher auch Produzenten-Ikone Scott Hendricks (u. a. Blake Shelton, Brooks & Dunn, Alan Jackson, Restless Heart), der eben einen unverfälsxhten, zeitlosen, dabei alles andere als unmodernen, klaren Sound bevorzugt. Das Songmaterial reicht von rockigen Uptempo-Nummern bis hin zu wunderbaren, kraftvollen Balladen, immer geprägt von Michael's toller Stimmer, prächtig hängen bleibenden Strukturen und einer vielschichtigen, satten Instrumentierung. "Amos" ist die nächste Erfolgsgeschichte von Michael Ray. Bester, niveauvoller New Country im musikalischen Umfeld solcher Kollegen wie Blake Shelton, Jon Pardi, Chris Young, Justin Moore & Co..

Hier noch ein Original U.S.-Review:

There’s something noteworthy about what Michael Ray brings to the table on his new album, Amos. Maybe it’s the spirit of his beloved grandfather that Ray personifies in the album’s namesake, but Amos is more than just a body of country songs – it’s a symbol of Ray’s growth as an artist. Since Ray topped the chart in 2016 with “Think a Little Less,” he’s proven that Amos was worth the wait, drawing in one’s attention with his compelling voice and convincing delivery that makes for his most dynamic project to date.
The timing of the album’s summer release is a perfect match for the feel-good vibe that’s weaved throughout Amos’ spirit, as evidenced by the nostalgic “Summer Water,” lively “Fan Girl,” flirtatious “You’re On” and the irresistible “One That Got Away.” The 11-track project is slick all the way down from Ray’s polished vocals to the skillful production that blends authentic country elements with the genre-bending sounds that have broadened the country perspective.
With the lighthearted tracks comes a series of sentimental moments that demonstrate an emotional depth that diversifies Ray’s artistry. The moving “Her World or Mine” reflects this, as Ray delivers an emotive conviction that makes it the most captivating song on the record. Through both the pain-soaked lyrics and the honest passion in Ray’s vocals as he sings “One of us moved on, one of us got stuck, one of us sleeps good, one of us hates to face the night, just depends if you’re talking about her world or mine,” it feels as though your heart is breaking alongside his own, exhibiting a raw vulnerability that proves his artistic strength. Should he continue to offer songs in this vein, he could place himself in the category of the legends and timeless heartbreak songs he so admires. The album’s lead single “Get to You” also demonstrates Ray’s earnest side as he tries to reach out to a woman afraid to love, staying in tune with the heartfelt nature he portrays on his other romantic numbers.
While Ray has always been a promising vocalist, his voice truly glows on Amos, making each song come to life with his combination of strength and purity. But it’s the sense of conviction he brings to each track that shows just how much Ray has grown, seeming to truly envelope himself in every story portrayed in this compilation of songs.
Though Ray has already established himself in the genre with two chart-topping hits, Amos is bound to not only expand upon this success, but prove his stamina as a well-rounded artist capable of honesty and depth, two qualities crucial to the core of the genre he embraces whole-heartedly.
(Cillea Houghton / Sounds like Nashville)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Fan Girl - 3:30
2. One That Got Away - 3:38
3. Summer Water - 3:06
4. Get To You - 3:11
5. Forget About It - 2:46
6. Her World Or Mine - 3:28
7. You're On - 3:04
8. I'm Gonna Miss You - 2:44
9. Dancing Forever - 3:34
10. Girl From Spring Break - 3:20
11. Drink One For Me - 3:28

Art-Nr.: 9637
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Robinson Brotherhood, Chris - phosphorescent harvest [2014]
The Chris Robinson Brotherhood mit ihrem herausragenden, dritten Studioalbum! Die neue Formation des The Black Crowes-Frontmannes mit einem ganz herrlichen, lockeren, den unbeschwerten Duft der freien, zwanglosen Hippe-Kultur geradezu riechenden Roots-/Jamrock-Album voller wunderbarer Psychedelic- und Westcoast-Attribute. Baumstarkes, live zuletzt schon vielfach gespieltes Songmaterial. Großartig, wie die Band ihre rootsige Grundlage, die stets spürbare Frische der Westküste und psychedelische, teils ein wenig spacige Keyboard-Linien in einen homogenen, jammigen Einklang bringt. CRB in Bestform! Die Stimme der The Black Ctowes und der Spirit von Grateful Dead - was für eine Kombination!

Die offizielle Produktbeschreibung:

The CHRIS ROBINSON BROTHERHOOD are set to unveil their third studio album PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST via Silver Arrow Records. The band--Chris Robinson (lead vocals, guitar), Neal Casal (guitar, vocals), Adam MacDougall (keys, vocals), George Sluppick (drums) and Mark Dutton (bass, vocals)--will also hit the road in conjunction with the album's release. The tour officially starts April 29 at Terrapin Crossroads in San Rafael, CA with dates confirmed into late May (and more to be announced).
PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST is a treasure trove of 10 songs--including several the band road-tested over the last few years--that advances the band's kaleidoscopic sound, which is deeply soulful, rootsy and spacey all at once. There's strong songcraft here, with a free-flowing delivery; it is music that is in no hurry to reach its destination but firmly knows where it is going. From the beginning, the CRB set out to do something different from what they had done before, creating their own scene with a musical prowess, cohesive songwriting and a unified commitment to experimentation, both in the studio and on the road (they've performed over 230 shows since forming in 2011).
"The best perspective I have on what's going on in my life--good and bad--is what comes out in the songs," says Chris Robinson. "As you move on in time, you get older, you have relationships. Some of them are good, some fail. Friends. Drugs. Life. Death. People come, people go. Songwriting is a completely different emotional response to your life and to what it means, to in some poetic nature, put it out there."
PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST follows the release of the companion albums Big Moon Ritual (June 2012) and The Magic Door (September 2012) plus last year's live quadruple vinyl Betty's S.F. Blends, Vol 1. The group continues to record with producer Thom Monahan, and Robinson wrote all of the songs with Casal, save for two that are Robinson solo compositions ("Tornado," "Jump The Turnstiles").
"We're really going by the electricity and the vibrations that we can sort of tune in to," Robinson recently told Relix magazine (Jan/Feb '14). "There's a psychedelic component to it. That's part of the greasing the wheels of the great cosmic engine, with psychedelic thought and philosophy and action. If you get my drift." He went on to talk about the more rock and roll feel on PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST, and his overall vision for the Brotherhood: "I'm not going to have hit records. I don't write pop songs. But then again, I find a deep need to express myself and how I'm feeling and where I am and where I've been and where I'm going by writing songs. Why change something to make it easier for anyone else, when I think if we stay sincere and keep our energies in a real creative place, then people will wander into our small community, and it maybe would get more popular…to tend that garden is a great responsibility. But I want it to grow." Check out the whole Relix feature here.
Rolling Stone editor David Fricke picked the CHRIS ROBINSON BROTHERHOOD as one of his favorites of 2012, and praised their live performance in New York City, saying "…the singer's acid-country Brotherhood, with ex-Ryan Adams guitarist Neal Casal, were a sublime time onstage and across these two albums, recorded at the same sessions and issued six months apart. The Irving Plaza show was a characteristic live high. In the second set, Robinson steered out of a rattling ‘Tough Mama,' from Bob Dylan's Planet Waves, into the long reverie ‘Girl on the Mountain,' a song from an earlier side trip, New Earth Mud, given fresh air and a new coat of DayGlo paint (1/30/13)."

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Shore Power - 4.41
2. About a Stranger - 5.07
3. Meanwhile In The Gods.... - 6.08
4. Badlands Here We Come - 5.24
5. Clear Blue Sky & The Good Doctor - 7.47
6. Beggar's Moon - 6.55
7. Wanderer's Lament - 5.37
8. Tornado - 5.04
9. Jump The Turnstiles - 6.40
10. Burn Slow - 7.13
11. Humboldt Windchimes - 4.38

Art-Nr.: 8543
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Shore power
About a stranger
Meanwhile in the Gods...
Badlands here we come
Clear blue sky & the good doctor
Wanderer's lament
Burn slow

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


|| Weiter