Artikel 1 bis 1 von 1 gefundenen...


Garcia, Jerry - on broadway: act one - october 28th, 1987 [2015]
3 CD-Set! Erste Veröffentlichung einer neuen Serie historischer Jerry Garcia-Konzerte, die die Shows der Jerry Garcia Band am Broadway zum Thema hat. Die vorliegenden 3 CDs haben die kompletten, bislang unveröffentlichten Sets vom 28. Oktober 1987 aus dem berühmten Lunt-Fontanne Theatre am New Yorker Broadway zum Inhalt. An diesem Tag gab es zwei akustische Sets der Jerry Garcia Acoustic Band und einen elektrischen mit der Jerry Garcia Band. Großartig!

Hier der offizielle Text zur Veröffentlichung im Original:

We're excited to announce the debut of On Broadway, a new archival series celebrating Jarry's magical 13 night run at the historic Lunt-Fontanne Theatre in New York City's Broadway theater district. On Broadway: Act One - October 28th, 1987 presents three complete sets of music, including previously unrelease matinee and evening acoustic sets from the Jerry Garcia Acoustic Band, as well as the evening electric set from the Jerry Garcia Band. The release was produced from newly remastered two-track soundboard recordings originally captured to digital audio tape and includes previously unpublished live photos, and a liner note essay by author, historian and Grateful Dead publicist, Dennis MyNally.
"The (two) Garcia Bands' - Jerry Garcia Acoustic Band, and the electrig JGB - 1987 run on Broadway from October 15th through Halloween was destined to be memorable for many reasons", as Dennis McNally states in the liner note essay. There's record setting ticket sale figures, a destiny tied to Jerry's namesake (Broadway composer Jerome Kern) and of course the sheer visual addity that is Deadheads descending upon The Great White Way, but what shines brightest is Garcia's juvial abd relaxed mood which sets the stage for the inspiring performances contained within the release. The below excerpt drom McNally's liner notes sums up the magic contained within the collection perfectly.
"The electric JGB was its usual solid self, ripping up Jerry's customany mix of Dylan (note especially Melvin's gorgeous, outstanding synthesizer work at 'Knockin' on Heaven's Door'), reggae (Peter Tosh's 'Stop That Tarin'), Mowtown (Marvin Gaye's 'How sweet it is') and Los Lobos' 'Evangeline'. The most interesting original here is the not-so-commonly sung 'Gomorrah', which garcia simply nails.
But it was the acoustic band that was unusual in this context, and it's worth some particilar attention. There are bluegrass songs - the Stanley Brothers' 'If I lose', amon others - folk songs - Libba Cotten's 'Oh babe it ain't no lie' - and country songs like the Tex Logan-arranged 'Diamond Joe' or Mel Tillis and Webb Pierce's 'I ain't nver', which has a Garcia/Nelson vocal duetthat sounds just like the Everly Brothers. The material was classy and fun and in some odd way just exactly right for Broadway".

Die kompletten Setlists:

Disc: 1
1. Opening Announcement
2. Deep Elem Blues
3. I m Troubled
4. Spike Driver Blues
5. Band Introductions
6. Blue Yodel #9
7. Short Life of Trouble
8. If I Lose
9. I m Here To Get My Baby Out of Jail
10. Oh Babe It Ain't No Lie
11. Drifting To Far From The Shore
12. Ragged ut Right

Disc: 2
1. Opening Announcement
2. I ve Been All Around this World
3. Ballad of Casey Jones
4. Blue Yodel #9
5. I m Troubled
6. Rosa Lee McFall
7. Band Introductions
8. Diamond Joe
9. I Ain't Never
10. It's A Long Long Way To the Top Of The World
11. Bright Morning Stars
12. Ragged But Right

Disc: 3
1. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
2. Forever Young
3. Stop That Train
4. Band Introductions
5. Run For The Roses
6. Evangeline
7. Knockin' On Heaven's Door
8. Gomorrah
9. Tangled Up In Blue
10. My Sisters and Brothers

Art-Nr.: 8889
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 23,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!