Artikel 1 bis 15 von 19 gefundenen...

[1-15] [16-30]

 
Aldean, Jason - they don't know [2016]
7. Studio-Album von Jason Aldean. Er zählt schon seit geraumer Zeit zu den Stadien-füllenden Megastars der Nashville-Szene und was soll man nach sechs Alben, die alle bis auf zwei kleine Ausnahmen unter den Top-5 der Billboard Country- als auch der Genre übergreifenden Charts gelandet sind (die beiden letzten jeweils in beiden Rankings auf Platz 1), großartiges ändern? Aldean und sein Langzeit-Produzent Michael Knox fahren weiter die Erfolgslinie und überlassen das Experimentieren anderen. Gut so! Man ist mittlerweile in der bequemen Lage, sich in Ruhe die Songs herauspicken zu können (natürlich ist auch hier wieder alles am Start, was sich an angesagten Songwritern auf dem Markt befindet), die zu Jason am Besten passen. Mit seiner exzellenten Liveband, bestehend aus Rich Redmond, Tully Kennedy und Kurt Allison, die jederzeit in der Lage ist, auf Augenhöhe mit den arrivierten Nashville Studio-Musikern zu agieren (auch hier sind natürlich wieder bewährte Leute wie u. a. Adam Shoenveld, Danny Radar, Rob McNelley, John Willis, Mike Johnson mit an Bord) hat man dazu ein perfekt eingespieltes und funktionierendes Team, auf das man sich ebenfalls blind verlassen kann. So wird auf seinem neuen Werk "They Don't Know" auch diesmal an die bewährten Konzepte von "My Kinda Party" und "Old Boots, New Dirt" nahtlos angeknüpft. Überwiegend kräftige und mitreißende Countryrocker sowie ein paar Balladen, die vom Anliegen dazu prädestiniert sind, ein Spektakel in den großen Arenen, die mittlerweile nun mal Aldeans überwiegende Projektionsfläche sind, abzuliefern. Die Songs sind durchweg klasse und vielleicht sogar noch ein wenig besser als bei früheren Werken. Erneut gibt es satte 15 Tracks, beginnend mit euphorischen, vom knackigen E-Gitarren durchzogenen "Lights Come On" (belegte bereits Platz 3), bis zum abschließenden, atmosphärischen "When The Lights Go Out". Man hat lediglich wieder die Qual der Wahl, welche Stücke als Singles ins Rennen geschickt werden sollen. Den zweiten Anlauf macht das von dezenter Melancholie gezeichnete, etwas ruhigere "A Little More Summertime", das eher Aldeans sentimentale Seite repräsentiert. Tradition hat ja auch ein Duett mit einer aktuell angesagten Kollegin. Diesmal ist Kelsea Ballerini die Partnerin beim der herzzerreißenden, Blockbuster-tauglichen Ballade "First Time Again". Am wohlsten fühlt sich Aldean aber spürbar, wenn in Southern-rockiger Manier, wie beim krachenden Titelstück "They Don't Know" (geht in Richtung "My Kinda Party"), "One We Won't Forget" oder dem herrlichen "The Way A Night Should Feel" (Co-Writer Brett James) ordentlich Gas gegeben wird.. Fazit: Superstar Jason Aldean geht unbeirrt seinen Weg weiter. Rockiger New Country vom Feinsten! Das Songmaterial ist exzellent und "They Don't Know" bietet erneut exakt das, was seine Fans von ihm hören wollen. Das Album wird, das wissen wir schon jetzt, ganz sicher wieder die Pole erklimmen. Was eigentlich in seiner Karriere nur noch fehlt, ist eine Gene-übergreifende Billboard Top 100 Nr.1-Hitsingle. Bleibt lediglich die spannende Frage, ob es diesmal klappt. Verdient hätte er es und das Material hat allemal die Klasse dazu. Wir sagen, viel Glück und 'toi toi toi', Jason Aldean! (Daniel Daus)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Lights Come On - 3.14
2. A Little More Summertime - 3.39
3. This Plane Don't Go There - 2.59
4. Comin' In Hot - 2.59
5. First Time Again (with Kelsea Ballerini) - 3.24
6. Bad - 3.33
7. They Don't Know - 3.15
8. One We Won't Forget - 3.16
9. Whiskey'd Up - 3.11
10. In Case You Don't Remember - 2.59
11. All Out of Beer - 3.18
12. Any Ol' Barstool - 3.23
13. The Way a Night Should Feel - 3.04
14. Reason to Love L.A. - 3.22
15. When the Lights Go Out - 3.25

Art-Nr.: 9266
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
BoDeans - indigo dreams [2011]
Hervorragendes, neues Album von Kurt Neumann and Sammy Llanas, aka The BoDeans, die damit wieder zurück zu ihren Wurzeln gehen und den doch etwas experimentierfreudigen Vorgänger hinter sich lassen. Was wir hören ist allerbester Rootsrock/-pop in der typischen BoDeans-Tradition, die ihnen vor 25 Jahren anlässlich ihres damaligen Debutalbums den Titel der "Best New American Band" durch die Leser des amerikanischen "Rolling Stone" einbrachte. Herrlich melodische Songs mit tollem Gesang und eingängigen Arrangements. Klasse Teil!

Hier der offizielle Text des Labels zur Veröffentlichung im Original:

Twenty five years after their T-Bone Burnett produced debut Love & Hope & Sex & Dreams led them to win a Rolling Stone reader s poll as Best New American Band, The BoDeans are still rocking and harmonizing gracefully, touring the U.S. regularly and exposing the kids of their longtime steadfast fans to real, heartfelt and trend-free music. Best known for their mid-90 s Billboard Top 20 hit anthem Closer To Free, which became the theme song for Fox s Party Of Five, the dynamic musical duo Kurt Neumann (vocals and electric and acoustic guitars) and Sam Llanas (vocals and acoustic guitar) is still focused on writing songs that bring good things to the world. Their latest album, Indigo Dreams, is a salute to the working man his dreams, his desires, his love, his responsibilities, his ethos.
For the BoDeans, the fact that their music was never easily pigeonholed into a specific genre or style was more a strength than a problem as their career developed. They followed their debut with Outside Looking In (1987), Home (1989), Black and White (1991), and Go Slow Down (1993), which featured Closer To Free which became a massive pop and adult contemporary hit when the world heard it every week via Party of Five. They released the 2 CD live set Joe Dirt Car and Blend (1996).
A few years after the release of the 17-song compilation The Best of BoDeans Slash and Burn in 2001, they returned to studio recording with Resolution (2004) and then a live album and subsequent DVD called Homebrewed: Live From The Pabst. Still was released in 2008.
The enduring success of the BoDeans is a byproduct of making music that creates a special connection to moments in people s lives. It s not always this dramatic, says Neumann, but we do hear of stories where people are ill or dying and our songs give them a sense of joy and hope. It s always wonderful to be important to peoples lives. We also saw this YouTube clip of two kids in car seats singing one of our songs on a family road trip. Their parents are playing our songs and we are a part of their world in that moment. I want to know someday that I ve brought good things into this world, and this kind of fan response confirms that Sam and I have been able to do this.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1 Blowin' My Mind - 4:09   
2 Paved in Gold - 3:38   
3 Right Now - 4:02   
4 How Can We - 4:14   
5 Way Down - 3:44   
6 Sad Eyes - 3:58   
7 Wrap Me - 3:55   
8 Me Again - 4:11   
9 Don't Wanna Go - 3:14   
10 Rock N Roll Overdrive - 4:48   
11 Father's Day - 4:34   
12 Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is - 4:14   
13 Mercy - 4:25

Art-Nr.: 7489
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Blowin' my mind
Paved in gold
Way down
Sad eyes
Wrap me
Rock n Roll overdrive

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Brown Band, Zac - pass the jar: live from atlanta ~ 2 cds & 1 dvd [2010]
2 CD & 1 DVD-Set! Live from The Fabulous Fox Theatre in Atlanta! Was für ein grandioses Konzert! Country, Roots-, Southern- und Jamrock-Freunde - alle werden sie an dieser Doppel-CD und vor allem an dieser 2-stündigen Live-DVD ihre helle Freude haben. Vor zwei Jahren, das neue Album der Zac Brown Band, "The foundation", wurde gerade veröffentlicht, mutmassten wir, wie sich im Nachhinein herausstellen sollte, mit geradezu hellseherischer Fähigkeit: "Amerika feiert die Zac Brown Band als die neue Senstion im Country-Circuit". Heute, Millionen verkaufter Alben und vier Nummer 1-Hits später, ist klar, wie sehr Amerika diese Band tatsächlich feiert. Doch der große Erfolg kam alles andere, als über Nacht, wie der ein oder andere vielleicht glauben mag. Nein, es ist ein Erfolg, für den die Band hart gearbeitet hat, durch Innovation, durch Kreativität, durch jahrelanges Touring, durch akribische Arbeit, durch Vertrauen in die eigenen musikalischen Fähigkeiten - und die sind immens. Die Zac Brown Band ist ein Phänomen, deren Spielvermögen und Abwechslungsreichtum ganz aussergewöhnlich sind. Durch ihren riesigen Erfolg in den Country-Charts werden sie natürlich von ihrem Label in den Staaten als Country-Band vermarktet. Das ist einerseits auch okay, weil die Songs ihres letzten Albums durchaus als Country(rock)-Songs zu bezeichnen sind, wenngleich mit einer deutlichen Roots-, Americana-, Southern-Note. Doch.die Zac Brown Band versteht sich selbst, wie es auch ihre unzähligen, loyalen Fans tun, als vielmehr, als "nur" eine Country-Band. Sie sind darüber hinaus eine (Southern)Rock-Band, eine Rootsrock-Band, eine vor Spielfreude nur so strotzende Jamrock-Band, die längst ein hoch angesehenes Standing in all diesen Genres, vor allem auch im Jamrock-Bereich, geniesst. Warum, das zeigt dieser überragende Auftritt der Truppe vom 30. Oktober 2009 aus dem alt ehrwürdigen Fox Theatre von Atlanta/Georgia, einer Show, die sie zusammen mit ein paar Freunden und Gästen (u.a. Kid Rock, Little Big Town, Joey + Rory) zu Gunsten des Wiederaufbaus des historischen Georgia Theatre's von Athens spielten. Zac Brown sagte eonmal voller Stolz über seine Musiker: "Everybody in my band is able to burn his instrument to the ground. I'm blessed because the people I play with are just fantastic". Wie recht er hat. Was die Truppe hier aufführt ist schlichtweg begeisternd. Wir hören in traumhafte Melodien gebettete, flockige Countryrock-Songs, die, bei allem Southern-Flair, genüsslich zwischen der karibischen Leichtigkeit eines Jimmy Buffett oder Kenny Chesney, und der sommerlichen Frische und Lockerheit der Eagles hin und her schwanken, aber wir hören auch von heissen Grooves getragenen Rootsrock mit Reminiszensen an The Band, wir hören sehr temperamentvolle, grassige Ausflüge, die an Railroad Earth oder Leftover Salmon erinnern, und vor allem hören und erleben wir auch kochenden, brodelnden, vor Spielfreude nur so strotzenden Southern Rock an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wet Willie, The Marshall Tucker Band, der Charlie Daniels Band und The Allman Brothers Band - teils mit ausgedehnten, rassigen Gitarren-Jammings, und vereinzelt auch mal mit einer, die Atmosphäre zusätzlich aufheizenden Bläser-Attacke. Doch im Grunde genommen läuft das ganze Konzert ungemein entspannt ab, auch wenn es auf der Bühne brennt. Das Feeling ist immer locker, ja hat gar so etwas wie ein entferntes, frühsiebziger-mässiges Grateful Dead-ähnliches Hippie-Flair. Was für eine klasse Live-Truppe! So erleben wir neben tollen Versionen der Hits des vergangenen Albums (u.a. "Whatever it is", "Jolene", "Toes", "Highway 20 ride" und "Chicken fried") und einiger neuer Zac Brown-Originale auch eine Menge hoch interessanter Coverversionen, wie z.B. Robbie Robertson's "The night they drove old dixie down", eine geniale Fassung von Charlie Daniels' "The devil went down to Georgia", die dem guten alten Charlie in beeindruckender Wesie zeigt, wie man dieser Nummer richtig Feuer unterm Hintern macht, eine beherzte, starke Fassung von dem The Marshall Tucker Band-Klassiker "Can't you see" (mit Gast Kid Rock als Lead-Sänger) und eine tolle Version von Bob Dylan's "I shall be released" (nur auf CD enthalten). Es ist wirklich mehr als beeindruckend, welch ein instrumentelles Feuerwerk alle Musiker abzubrennen (klasse beispielsweise das zündende, ausgedehnte E-Gitarren-Solo beim über 10-minütigen "Who knows") und welch ein phantastischer Sänger Zac Brown ist. Einfach wunderbar, diese warme, relaxte Stimme, die unterschwellig ein wenig an James Taylor erinnert, aber im Timbre durchaus auch Spuren von Alan Jackson, Jimmy Buffett und Henry Paul aufweist. Das Publikum im ausverkauften Fox Theatre ist aus dem Häuschen und feiert mit der Zac Brown Band eine ausgelassene Country-, Grass-, Roots-, Southern-, Rock-, Jam-Party, an der wir mit dieser tollen Doppel-CD und klasse gefilmten (in HD) DVD (toller Sound) teilhaben dürfen. Das sind zwei Stunden pure Freude! Ein grandioses Konzert einer großartigen Band! Kommt in einer edlen Digipack-Aufmachung mit feinem Schuber und reich bebildertem Booklet. Die DVD ist "code free" und somit auf jedem DVD-Player abspielbar!

Die komplette Setlist:

Disc 1:
1 Whatever It is - 4:04   
2 Let It Go - 4:37   
3 It's Not Ok - 4:09   
4 Jolene - 5:26   
5 Who Knows - 10:28   
6 The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down - 4:28   
7 Sic 'Em On a Chicken - 4:05   
8 Where the Boat Leaves From/One Love - 3:51   
9 Trying To Drive - 4:32   
10 Alabama Jubilee - 2:57   
11 Blackbird - 7:14   
12 The Devil Went Down To Georgia - 4:31   

Disc 2:
1 Can't You See - 5:46   
2 Highway 20 Ride - 4:15   
3 Whiskey's Gone - 2:47   
4 Colder Weather - 4:29   
5 Junkyard - 6:07   
6 Free/Into the Mystic - 7:36   
7 America the Beautiful - 1:41   
8 Chicken Fried - 5:10   
9 I Shall Be Released - 6:04   
10 Bar - 3:59   
11 Toes - 4:33   
12 We're Gonna Make This Day - 7:52   

DVD:
1 Intro   
2 Whatever It is   
3 It's Not Ok   
4 Jolene   
5 Who Knows   
6 The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down   
7 Sic 'Em On a Chicken   
8 Junkyard   
9 The Devil Went Down To Georgia   
10 Trying To Drive   
11 Alabama Jubilee   
12 Can't You See   
13 Highway 20 Ride   
14 Colder Weather   
15 Free/Into the Mystic   
16 Toes   
17 America the Beautiful   
18 Chicken Fried   
19 We're Gonna Make This Day   
Bonus Tracks:
20 Cheater Cheater - Joey + Rory
21 All American - Levi Lowrey
22 My Name is Money - Sonia Leigh
23 Money Don't Make You Happy - Nic Cowan
24 Say What?

Art-Nr.: 6909
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock; Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 29,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Burnside, Cedric - benton county relic [2018]
Drummer, Gitarrist, Sänger, Songwriter und "Bluesman" Cedric Burnside ist der Enkel des großen Hill Country-Blues-Veteranen R. L. Burnside, eine faniliäre Verbindung, die in diesem Fall ein absoluter Segen ist. Cedric führt die Tradition der Burnsides zu 100 Prozent fort und präsentiert mit seinem neuen Album "Benton Country Relic" ein ganz großariges Werk besten Hill Country Blues-Zeitgeistes. Dreckig, authentisch, ehrlich durch und durch, auf der Höhe der Zeit, dennoch absolut traditionell verwurzelt, hören wir straighten, direkten, von großer Spielfreude und prächtigen Grooves dominierten, feinsten, erdigen Hill Country-Blues und -Bluesrock, voller "Feeling, voller Seele und voller Energie. Die tiefen Einflüsse reichen von Junior Kimbrough, Jessie Mae Hemphill, Otha Turner und natürlich R. L. Burnside, über die North Mississippi Allstars (Luther Dickinson brachte Cedric vor vielen Jahren zum Gitarrespielen, was er heute exzellent beherrscht), bis hin zu den Black Keys und White Stripes. Die Reviews der einschlägigen amerikanischen Blues-Magazine und -Institutionen zu diesem Album sind überwältigend. Ganz großer Auftritt von Cedric Burnside, der siese Musik einfach in aller Natürlichkeit in seiner DNA hat.

Hier noch ein Original U.S. Review:

The best blues songs have an element of danger like they’re going to fall apart at any moment. It’s a feeling not unlike building Ikea furniture while drunk. Cedric Burnside’s Benton County Relic taps into that invigorating feeling of falling, perfectly slowing the beat of songs to create huge grooves and using raw guitar to accentuate the melodies.
Cedric Burnside is the grandson of North Mississippi blues legend R.L. Burnside. R.L.’s work can be described as wild blues, with manic drums and beautifully random guitar outbursts. Cedric, who played drums for his grandfather, has a similar sensibility. Burnside is not a carbon-copy of his grandfather, nor of his father, the blues drummer Calvin Jackson. He borrows liberally from both, but also weaves in contemporary influences, creating a sound that takes his family’s Hill country roots and gives them an ever-so-gentle polish, keeping the wildness and freeness of the grooves, but also instituting more control.
Cedric also has a nice voice, with a warmth and old-school blues sweetness not necessarily associated with his family. He sings in a similarly percussive way, but also manages to smooth out the edges. Put together, it makes Benton County Relic a continuation of the blues, rather than just a repetition of it.
“Get Your Groove On,” as the title suggests, swings and bounces along as Burnside’s guitar mimics his singing. You can’t quite dance to the track, but it’ll definitely make you sway. While Burnside doesn’t play drums on the album (they’re more than capably handled by Brian Jay), his respect for the groove drives the record. His ability to slow a down song and somehow make it feel fast is simply amazing. For instance, a track like “Don’t Leave Me Girl” could be a standard soul song in the hands of another artist. But with Jay and Burnside, it becomes sexy and propulsive, the silence of the song just as important as the notes and beats.
Many of the grooves will sound familiar. They’ve been used by everyone from the White Stripes to the Black Keys, to, unsurprisingly, the North Mississippi Allstars, with whom Burnside has played. Burnside has an amazing ability to work the beat, expanding rests just long enough to create suspense throughout a song. One could guess it’s a gift he inherited from grandfather, but it’s far more likely a skill he cultivated through countless performances and close observations of the audience.
It can be hard for artists to let songs breathe. There’s something scary about letting a song do nothing, if only for a moment. Burnside is fearless in that regard, and it’s especially impressive since he recorded the album in just two days. The album has an intentional feel; the performances are all well thought-out. But there’s also a looseness to the album that makes it radiate with a live, unscripted energy. Burnside is masterful at knowing when to let a song do it’s thing. Unlike my Tarva dresser, built on the strength of a six-pack, Benton County Relic will stand the test of time. (Steve Ovadia/Glide Magazine)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. We Made It - 3:34
2. Get Your Groove On - 2:23
3. Please Tell Me Baby - 3:37
4. Typical Day - 3:20
5. Give It to You - 4:31
6. Hard to Stay Cool - 5:34
7. Don't Leave Me Girl - 3:42
8. Death Bell Blues - 4:36
9. There Is So Much - 4:03
10. Call on Me - 3:53
11. I'm Hurtin - 2:49
12. Ain't Gonna Take No Mess - 3:34

Art-Nr.: 9704
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
We made it
Please tell me baby
Give it to you
Don't leave me girl
Call on me
I'm hurtin'
Ain't gonna take no mess

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Civil Wars, The - same [2013]
Sehnlichst erwartetes Follow-Up des grandiosen Americana-/Singer-Songwriter-/Alternative Country-/Folk Rock-Duos Joy Williams und John Paul White zu dem mit 3 Grammys dekorierten, frenetisch gefeierten Debut "Barton hollow". The Civil Wars machen genau da weiter, wo sie mit ihrem Vorgänger aufgehört haben. Songmaterial und Performance sind exzellent!

Kurze Original-Produktinfo:
The Civil Wars' highly anticipated sophomore self-titled album is the follow up to the three-time Grammy Award-winning duo's acclaimed debut, Barton Hollow.
The Civil Wars was recorded in Nashville between August 2012 and January 2013. Charlie Peacock was once again at the helm as producer for the album. Additionally, Rick Rubin produced the duo's performance for the track "I Had Me a Girl" in August of 2011. Peacock later completed the track by producing the instrumentation and mix.

Exklusives "Track by Track"-Review zu allen Stücken des Albums von Joy Williams:

THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY

This song pays homage to regret. Nearly everybody I've come across has somebody in their life that they wonder what life would be like if they'd never met that person. It's that sliding-door moment -- in the blink of an eye everything could change. Either for the positive or the negative.
John Paul and I wrote this song in the screened-in porch of my and Nate's new home. I remember warm breezes blowing, a mild day. I had recently had my son, Miles, who happened to be asleep with Nate in the living room, right next to the porch. I remember asking John Paul to play quietly so he didn't wake up the baby.

I HAD ME A GIRL

This song always conjures up an image of a glass of whiskey and a lit cigarette. It's a little brooding. A little dangerous. It smolders. It has swagger and grit. It's full of innuendo and Southern Gothic tones. I love the feel of this track, and the way this song came together on the record. "I Had Me a Girl" is one of those musical moments that makes me wish I knew how to play electric guitar. Or any guitar, for that matter.

SAME OLD SAME OLD

This song, to me, represents the ache of monogamy. This isn't an "I'm leaving you" song. It's a vulnerable confession of "I don't want to leave. I want to work on this -- with you." Having said that, someone once told me a story about long-term relationships: to think of them as a continent to explore. I could spend a lifetime backpacking through Africa, and I would still never know all there is to know about that continent. To stay the course, to stay intentional, to stay curious and connected -- that's the heart of it. But it's so easy to lose track of the trail, to get tired, to want to give up, or to want a new adventure. It can be so easy to lose sight of the goodness and mystery within the person sitting right in front of you. That continent idea inspires me, and makes the ache when it comes hurt a little less. To know that it happens to all of us. What I'm realizing now is that sometimes the "same old same old" can actually be rich, worthwhile and a great adventure.

DUST TO DUST

This song is an anthem for the lonely. Sometimes you come across somebody who thinks they are hiding their pain, but if we are all honest, nobody is very good at it. "You're like a mirror, reflecting me. Takes one to know one, so take it from me.” When John Paul and I wrote this late one night in Birmingham, England, we decided to change the pronoun at the end of the song. We wanted to represent that we all experience loneliness in our lives.

EAVESDROP

We brought in our producer, Charlie Peacock, on this song. He helped with arrangements and really helped take the song to a totally different place. Sometimes as an artist, you can't see what needs re-arranging when you're so "in it." Charlie brought perspective. Almost like an eavesdrop within an "Eavesdrop."
Strangely enough, this song always reminds me that my voice has changed since the last album. I have my son to thank for that, truly. When I was first pregnant and performing on the road, I thought something was wrong with my voice. I was having a hard time hitting high notes, while my low notes kept getting deeper and deeper. I did some research with the help of a vocal coach, and learned that hormone levels affect a female singing range. Having a boy, naturally, upped my testosterone levels, making low notes easier to hit and higher notes harder to reach. But the great thing? After having Miles, I regained my high range AND have kept my low range. Pregnancy literally changed the makeup of my vocal cords. There's a different timbre to it now, and I love that I can hear the story of my son in my singing.

DEVIL'S BACKBONE

This song is our take on an Americana murder ballad. It's dark, prickly, anxious. It was fun writing because we just imagined some dust-bowl scenario, a broke-down town, and a man awaiting being hung for something he did in the name of trying to provide for his family. The woman who loves him is watching him standing there on the gallows.
This song always reminds me of when the melody first came to mind. I was doing my makeup in the tiled bathroom upstairs, with my newborn Miles in a yellow rocking bassinet next to me. I started singing, and turned on the voice memo app on my iPhone so I wouldn't forget it. As I sang, Miles started cooing along with me. Not on pitch, mind you, but I'd move a note, and he'd move a note. I'm never deleting that voice memo. It's become one of my favorites.

FROM THIS VALLEY

That's our Grand Ole Opry song. A new spiritual. It's actually the oldest song written on the album. We wrote it before Barton Hollow came out. Even though we didn't have our own recording of it, we started performing it live and it became a fan favorite. It made sense to finally put it on an album. One of my favorite moments on stage every night was singing the a cappella part together.

TELL MAMA

We recorded the performance at Fame studio in Muscle Shoals, a place we'd written a few songs before that made it onto Barton Hollow. I always felt the musical ghosts in that studio, one of whom was the great Etta James. We're a band that's known for covering songs live in our own way, and we thought it would be fun to take a stab at "Tell Mama." I found out later that where we recorded was the same room she recorded her version. That might explain why I kept getting goosebumps.

OH HENRY

We wrote it one week before Barton Hollow, in the mountains of Salt Lake City during our first Sundance Festival. We conjured up a story about a woman who was married to a philandering man. She is begging her man to level with her, and letting him know she can only take so much, a la "it's gonna kill me or it's gonna kill you."

DISARM

Again, we're the band who loves to do covers. Both John Paul and I have always been huge Smashing Pumpkins fans. Nate mentioned it might be a cool cover, and we actually wound up working it out the same day that we wrote "Oh Henry" up in Salt Lake City for Sundance. It turned into another on-stage staple that people asked for every night. We found out later from his then-manager that Billy dug it.

SACRED HEART

We wrote this song in a flat in Paris, with the Eiffel Tower in full view on a cold night. Tall windows, Victorian furniture, and somehow the atmosphere of all of that seeped into the song. Nate and our friends were there in the room as we wrote, all of us drinking wine together. I also loved getting to try out my flawed French. I wrote what words I knew in French, and then had a Parisian friend named Renata Pepper (yes, that's her real name) look it over later and help me translate. When we recorded the song for the album, I called in a French professor from Vanderbilt named Becky Peterson, who has now become a good friend.

D'ARLINE

We wrote this song in the studio behind my house in Nashville, on a warm summer day, with the windows and doors open. This song is a sweet lament, of loss and the belief that you'll never be able to love anybody else again. I stumbled across "Letters of Note" on Twitter, and was struck by the title of a letter written by a famous physicist named Richard Feynman: "I love my wife. My wife is dead." A little over a year after her death, he wrote his wife a love letter and sealed it. It was written in 1946, and wasn't opened until after his death in 1988. He ended his note to his long-lost wife with "Please excuse my not mailing this -- but I don't know your new address."
Another aside to this song: While we were recording the song together, John Paul and I could hear crows cawing in the background that I've since named Edgar, Allen and Poe. This recording and performance of the song is the first and only in existence, a work tape recorded simply on my iPhone.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. The One That Got Away - 3.32
2. I Had Me a Girl - 3.45
3. Same Old Same Old - 3.48
4. Dust to Dust - 3.49
5. Eavesdrop - 3.35
6. Devil's Backbone - 2.29
7. From This Valley - 3.33
8. Tell Mama - 3.48
9. Oh Henry - 3.32
10. Disarm - 4.42
11. Sacred Heart - 3.19
12. D'Arline - 3.06

Art-Nr.: 8264
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock; Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Evans, Sara - words [2017]
Klasse neues Album von Sara Evans. Nach vielen Turbulenzen, sowohl im privaten, als auch musikalischen Bereich, hat sich Sara Evans von ihrem bisherigen Major-Label getrennt und veröffentlich "Words" nun auf ihrem eigenen Label "Born To Fly", vertrieben von einem unabhängigen Distributor. Die neu gewonnene, musikalische Freiheit bekommt ihr hörbar gut, denn ihr neues Werk wirkt frisch und unverbraucht. Sie spielt genau die Songs, die sie spielen möchte, frei von jedem Mainstream- und Erfolgsdruck, einfach nur der Musik willen. Das gelingt großartig.. Bester Country/ New Country einer erstklassigen Sängerin mit neu gewonnener musikalischer Freihet. Stark!

Hier noch ein Originbal U,S.-Review zu dieser klasse Veröffentlichung:

Sara Evans returns after three years away with 14 new songs to showcase who she is as a mother, wife, lover, fighter and business woman. Chasing the mainstream can be a hard thing for a successful artist when they have had a handful of hits and released records which cracked the mainstream zeitgeist. Like Lee Ann Rimes did with Remnants earlier this year, Sara Evans has decided to independently release Words on her own label (Born To Fly Records) and it finds her refreshed and sounding better than she did on her past couple of releases (even if she did get one more great hit in "A Little Bit Stronger" from that era). Instead of chasing whatever sounds the mainstream has, we have Sara in contemplative balladeer mode throughout the Majority of Words and this is truly where Sara and her distinctive alto shine.
Midtempo "Diving In Deep" reminds me of Paul Simon's "Graceland" musically with some afro-centric percussive melodies serving as the anchor for Sara Evans to sing about falling in love with all the gusto that we always do when in a relationship ("when all is fair in love in war, the consequence I will ignore because this time I'm diving in deep," she sings). "I Don't Trust Myself" is a moody song about being self-aware enough to not fall back into old routines while "I Want You" is a sweet, soaring alternative to "I Don't Trust Myself." Fans of the earlier catalog from Sara Evans, will certainly find moments to enjoy here with the rootsy "Make Room At The Bottom" (co-written by Ashley Monroe), "I'm On My Way" and album opener "Long Way Down" while "Marquee Sign," one of three songs co-written by Sara Evans herself, showcase the singer's pen is still sharp. The song also showcases harmonies from her daughter Olivia. The title track, "Words," feels like a long-lost Emmylou song and "Night Light" features family harmony from Sara Evans three siblings Matt, Lesley and Ashley. Finally, "Letting You Go," is a song any parent can relate to as they watch their children grow up and go away and become adults themselves. It's a beautiful song and a strong closer (though, really, the acoustic version of "A Little Bit Stronger" serves as the real closer here).
It's often hard for stars to know when the time is right to stop chasing mainstream radio and it gets even harder for them to do that if they strive for a career in the independent realm. On some ways, you could listen to Sara Evans new, independently-released Words album and feel like she's chasing a train she'll never catch but the reality is that this is a record for a fans and if she does get some mainstram radio success, awesome, but if not, that's OK too because, hits or not, Words is the record of her career. (Matt Bjorke/Roughstock)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Long Way Down - 4:14
2. Marquee Sign - 4:01
3. Diving in Deep - 2:36
4. All the Love You Left Me - 4:17
5. Like the Way You Love Me - 3:05
6. Rain and Fire - 3:38
7. Night Light - 3:38
8. I Need a River - 4:22
9. I Don't Trust Myself - 3:34
10. Make Room at the Bottom - 3:12
11. Words - 2:48
12. I Want You - 3:41
13. Letting You Go - 4:11
14. A Little Bit Stronger (Acoustic Version) - 4:38

Art-Nr.: 9478
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Gov't Mule - the georgia bootleg box ~ 6 cd live-set [2012]
6 CD-Set!
WIR HABEN DIE ORIGINAL U.S.-AUSGABE!
Wieder mal ein Fest für die Mule-Heads!
Die großartige, 6 CDs umfassende "Georgie Bootleg Box" enthält insgesamt 3 komplette Konzerte der aussergewöhnlichen Blues-/Southern-/Jamrock-Band um den genialen Gitarristen Warren Haynes, alle mitgeschnitten im Jahre 1996, als die Band gerade mal 2 Jahre bestand. Wir hören hier also die legendäre Original-Besetzung mit dem unvergessenen Allen Woody am Bass. Die Band hatte schon immer eine besondere und sehr enge Beziehung zum U.S.-Bundesstaat Georgia. Nicht zuletzt fanden seinerzeit im "Big House" der The Allman Brothers Band in Macon die ellerersten Session von Warren Haynes, Matt Abts und Allen Woody statt. Konsequent also, dass die Truppe nun diese wunderbaren Live-Shows ihren unzähligen Fans zugänglich macht. Im übrigen tauchten auch damals schon bei den Mule-Shows immer mal wieder illustre, hoch interessante Gäste auf. Hier waren das zum Beispiel der blutjunge Derek Trucks (The Allman Brothers Band, Derek Trucks Band, Tedeschi Trucks Band) und Tinsley Ellis. Gov't Mule in ihrem Element - und die Fans feiern...

Hier ein Statement von Warren Haynes zu dieser großartigen Veröffentlichung im Original-Wortlaut:
Those of you that have followed the Mule's history know that our connection with the state of Georgia is a deep one. Our first rehearsals were at the one-time living quarters of the Allman Brothers Band known as The Big House (now the ABB museum) in Macon, GA. Some later rehearsals took place at what used to be the legendary Capricorn Recording Studio in Macon while recording the song GONNA SEND YOU BACK TO GEORGIA for the HOUND DOG TAYLOR Tribute CD. A lot of our earliest shows were in Georgia as well so a lot of our growth as a band took place in front of Georgia audiences.
Most Mule fans know also that two of our official "live" releases were recorded on back to back New Year's Eves (1998 and 1999) at the Roxy Theater in Atlanta. Venues like the Roxy and the Georgia Theater in Athens were staples in our early touring schedule (while watching an episode of the TV show CITY CONFIDENTIAL that took place in Athens I got a chuckle seein GOV’T MULE on the marquis as they scanned past the Georgia Theater).
Having recently been reminded of these 3 shows from '96, and of the fact that they had been recorded and mixed by Doug Oade back in the day, I found myself listening to these recordings for the first time in fifteen years. I was instantly taken with the visceral nature of the music along with the rawness of the way that it was captured. The Mule was barely two years old at this time and what we hear here, along with many songs from our first CD, are the works in progress of many songs that would later wind up on DOSE and in some cases LIFE BEFORE INSANITY. This was at a time in our career when our repertoire was small but constantly growing, not unlike our fan base.
Enjoy! (Warren Haynes)

Die kompletten Setlists der 3 Konzerte:

4/11/96
Georgia Theatre
Athens, GA

Disc 1:
1. Blind Man in the Dark (9.30)
2. Mother Earth (8.00)
3. John the Revelator (1.40)
4. Temporary Saint (6.11)
5. Game Face (6.22)
6. No Need to Suffer (8.09)
7. Trane > (7.14)
8. Eternity's Breath Jam > (2.00)
9. Thelonius Beck > (4.08)
10. Trane > (1.19)
11. St. Stephen Jam > (4.30)
12. Trane (2.48)
13. Don't Step on the Grass, Sam (8.02)

Disc 2:
1. Presence of the Lord (6.41)
2. Birth of the Mule (6.00)
3. Left Coast Groovies (6.23)
4. Drums (6.44)
5. Mule > (4.54)
6. Who Do You Love > (1.35)
7. Mule (3.12)
8. Goin’ Out West (7.11)
9. Spanish Moon (11.47) *
10. Gonna Send You Back to Georgia (7.29) *
* With Derek Trucks on guitar


4/12/96
The Roxy
Atlanta, GA

Disc 1:
1. Blind Man in the Dark (9.34)
2. Mother Earth (8.31)
3. Mule (5.54)
4. Temporary Saint (6.15)
5. Game Face (6.27)
6. No Need to Suffer (8.19)
7. Trane > (6.51)
8. Eternity's Breath Jam > (2.02)
9. Thelonius Beck > (3.56)
10. Trane > (1.41)
11. St. Stephen Jam > (4.37)
12. Trane (1.35)
13. Painted Silver Light (7.19)

Disc 2:
1. Don't Step on the Grass, Sam (7.59)
2. Birth of the Mule (5.31)
3. Just Got Paid (7.32)
4. Goin' Out West (6.16)
5. The Same Thing (10.17)
6. Gonna Send You Back to Georgia (8.33) *
7. Young Man Blues( 2.35) * >
8. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl (7.23) *>
9. Young Man Blues (1.59) *
*With Derek Trucks on guitar


4/13/96
Elizabeth Reed Music Hall
Macon, GA

1. Blind Man in the Dark (9.54)
2. Mother Earth (9.09)
3. John the Revelator (1.42)
4. Temporary Saint (5.49)
5. Rocking Horse (4.36)
6. Game Face (6.47)
7. No Need to Suffer (8.41)
8. Trane > (8.55)
9. Eternity’s Breath Jam > (1.58)
10. Thelonius Beck > (4.01)
11. Trane > (1.41)
12. St. Stephen Jam (5.46)

Disc 2:
1. Presence of the Lord (6.44)
2. Birth of the Mule (6.41)
3. Monkey Hill > (4.36)
4. She's So Heavy Jam (1.28)
5. Mule (7.07)
6. Goin' Out West (7.55)
7. She's 19 Years Old (10.20) *
8. Gonna Send You Back to Georgia (8.20)*
* With Tinsley Ellis on guitar

Art-Nr.: 7952
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 31,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Ketchum, Hal - father time [2008]
Auch das ist Country, wunderbarer Country! Alternativ, tief verwurzelt in Traditionen, aber Lichtjahre vom polierten Nashville-Mainstream entfernt! Hal Ketchum, wer erinnert sich nicht an seine großen Hits in den Neunzigern wie "Small town Saturday night", "Mama knows the highway", "Sure love", u.s.w., hat sich mit einer "Bande" von "A-List string players" im Hauptraum der Curb-Aufnahmestudios in Nashville "verbarrikadiert", um in dieser intimen Atmosphäre innerhalb von nur 2 Tagen eine herrlich unverfälschte, von purer Natürlichkeit, viel Wärme und Gefühl geprägte "Live in the Studio"-Scheibe einzuspielen, ohne Overdubs, ähnlich wie seinerzeit die legendären "Direct To Disc"-Vinyl-Pressungen. Wie herrlich retro! Mit seinen Mitstreitern Bryan Sutton (lead acoustic guitar), Russ Pahl (guitar, dobro, banjo, steel), Dennis Crouch (bass), Aubrey Haynie (fiddle, mandolin), Darrell Scott (guitar), Eddie Bayers (drums, percussion), Paul Leim (drums, percussion) und ein paar Background-Vokalisten präsentiert Ketchum 14 durchweg großartige, sehr niveauvolle Songs in einem unbeschwerten, lockeren, akustischen "stripped down" Full Band-Arrangement, deren Vielseitigkeit sich in der Integration vieler Stilelemente entfaltet. Americana-, Ramble-, Southern-, Blues-, Folk,- Ranchera-, Swing- und Gospel-Elemente vereinen sich genüßlich zu einer Art "Singer-Songwriter-/Storytelling-Country", der einen voller Spannung in seinen Bann zieht. Bereits von dem Opener "Invisible" an, das ungemein locker und leicht dahin fließt, mit einer herrlichen Instrumentierung aus akustischen Gitarren, zurückhaltender Steelguitar, Fiddle und lässigem Percussion-/Conga-Spiel, wird dieser schön rootsige, natürliche, gleichzeitig überaus angenehme Unterschied zum Nashville Country-Alltag deutlich. Hat, allein durch den exzellenten, viel Spirit verbreitenden Background-Gesang, einen Hauch von Gospel, Southern-Soul und Muscle Shoals-Flair! Schöne Country-Geschichten, wie sie beispielsweise ein Kris Kristofferson zu erzählen hat, kommen einem bei dem wundervollen "Yesterday's gone" in den Sinn. Großartiger 3/4-Takt! Äußerst gelungen auch hier wieder die wohl dosiert eingesetzten Fiddle- und Steelguitar-Ergänzungen von Aubrey Haynie und Russ Pahl. Was sind das für exzellente Musiker! Weitere Highlights eines durchweg sehr starken Albums sind beispielsweise das "heiße", swampige, southern-funkig groovende, bluesige "Millionaire's wife" mit "Killer"-Background-Gesang von Angela Primm und Gale Mayes (erinnert gar an die unvergessenen Delaney & Bonnie), der pure, ein wenig an den guten alten Marty Robbins erinnernde Country-Waltz "Continental farewell", der im mittleren Bereich zu einer flotten Western Swing-Nummer wird, das dezent jazzige, Tango-inspirierte, in einen lateinamerikanischen Mambo-Rhythmus abdriftende, edle "Million dollar baby", das von trockenen Banjo-Riffs begleitete, wunderbar melodische, Gospel-beeinflußte "Surrounded by love", das bluesig groovende, flotte "If you don't love me, baby (just le me go" (hat Hal Ketchum zusammen mit Big Al Anderson vor etwa 10 Jahren geschrieben, in der Hoffnung, dass die Nummer vielleicht eines Tages jemand wie Bonnie Raitt oder Tony Joe White aufnehmen könnte), das etwas folkige, wunderbar flockig lockere, sehr melodisch ins Ohr fließende, mit tollem Mandolinenspiel garnierte und von einem gewissen Tejano-/Ranchera-/Border-Flair tangierte "Down along the Guadalupe", oder auch die exzellente Coverversion von Tom Waits' "Jersey girl", dem Ketchum ein tolles, von wimmernder Steelguitar unterstütztes, Honky Tonk Balladen-Flair einhaucht. "Father time" ist kein Album für die moderne "Einmal gehört-/Wegwerf-Gesellschaft"! Es wächst mit jedem Hören! Ein amerikanischer Kritiker umschreibt es sehr treffend mit folgenden Worten: It's a warm, welcoming set that won't reach the top of the charts, and is far from the slick rockist contemporary Nash Vegas country, but so what? This is an adult album of very classy tunes recorded in an organic way; it's polished but it's inviting instead of insistent. These songs get your attention subtly and deliberately; they invite you into Ketchum's world to share in their stories while reflecting on your own. Excellent". Alternative Countrymusic "für Erwachsene"! Etwas zum Zeitnehmen, Zuhören und Genießen! Ganz starke Leistung von Ketchum!

Die Tracklist:

1 Invisible - 3:50   
2 Yesterday's Gone - 4:06   
3 Millionaire's Wife - 4:11   
4 Million Dollar Baby - 4:58   
5 Ordinary Day - 3:05   
6 Continental Farewell - 3:10   
7 Surrounded by Love - 2:53   
8 The Day He Called Your Name - 3:51   
9 The Preacher and Me - 4:40   
10 If You Don't Love Me, Baby (Just Let Me Go) - 3:03   
11 Sparrow - 4:20   
12 Down Along the Guadalupe - 4:25   
13 Jersey Girl - 3:42   
14 Strangest Dreams - 4:58

Art-Nr.: 5968
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
McEntire, Reba - keep on loving you [2009]
Reba's neue... - und es ist wieder ein prima Album geworden. Reba McEntire ist eine großartige Künstlerin, die es problemlos versteht, sich den Gegebenheiten des modernen Nashville's anzupassen, ohne auch nur im geringsten ihre Wurzeln zu leugnen. Genau das ist ihr hier bestens gelungen. So ist "Keep on loving you" ein modernes, überwiegend schön knackiges, kraftvolles Country-/New Country-/Contemporary Country-Album geworden, das typisch Reba ist, und eindrucksvoll offenbart, dass die Diva in Nashville's Gegenwart angekommen ist. Klasse!

Reba hat zu jedem einzelnen Stück des neuen Albums ein paar Gedanken und Statements preis gegeben, die wir nachstehend im Originaltext weitergeben:

1. "Strange" (Wendell Mobley, Jason Sellers, Neil Thrasher)
"I liked the way it has a lot of different melodies to it. It has great range, but the main reason I like it is because it's so sassy. I love the attitude of it. It's totally different, but it reminds me of the attitudes of `Can't Even Get the Blues.' I seem to have success with sassy attitude songs. This song is about a woman who has been left behind from her partner or boyfriend, and she is trying to feel sad, but it's just not working, so she's going on with her life. It's a strong woman song."

2. "Just When I Thought I'd Stopped Loving You" (Mark Nesler, Rivers Rutherford)
"This is the song that Rivers Rutherford wrote with Mark Nesler. I loved the beat and the melody. It reminded me of a Rascal Flatts song in the first part of it. It's really catchy. It's a song that I'd be singing the middle of the night when I woke up, so I knew it would be a great song when it is in your subconscious like that. I would say this is the least powerful woman song, because she is like, `Oh, I can't give in and take you back one more time, I can't,' but then she does. I hate to say it's a booty call song, but it does remind me of that. I guess this is my booty call song!"

3. "I Keep On Lovin' You" (Ronnie Dunn, Terry McBride)
"We were in the studio recording with Tony Brown, and Tony had said they were just finishing up some of the Brooks & Dunn songs. He said, `You ought to listen to this one song. I just love the song. I think it is wonderful. I think it can relate to a couple who have been together for a short time or a long time, but basically a long time. We've been through the highs and lows and ups and downs, we've fought and gotten back together, but no matter what we go through, I'm going to keep on loving you. I think it's an anniversary song."

4. "I Want a Cowboy" (Katrina Elam, Wayne Kirkpatrick, Jimmie Lee Sloas)
"Katrina Elam co-wrote this song. I am a huge fan of Katrina Elam. She is one of the best singers I've ever heard. I asked Tony to ask Katrina if I could cut `I Want a Cowboy.' She came in and sang some of the harmony on it too. It's a great kick-ass song that is good attitude. And I'm a cowgirl; I've rodeoed 10 years and I'm a third-generation rodeo brat, so I thought it was just perfect."

5. "Consider Me Gone" (Steve Diamond, Marv Green)
"It's a strong woman song. I'm sure there are tons of women who get the cold shoulder when the husband comes in from work. He's had a rough day and she's had three kids at home, especially if it's summer. He doesn't want to talk, something's going on and it's confrontation time. If you are giving me the cold shoulder, if you're not wanting to talk to me, and if things aren't getting any better and if I don't turn you on, consider me gone. Here's the way the cow eats the cabbage. It's like, let's poop or get off the pot. Tell it like it is. It's a pretty cool song and it's confrontation time. That is one thing that is wrong with relationships, that there's not enough communication."

6. "But Why" (Jason Sellers, Neil Thrasher)
"I love the melody. It's one of those love songs that I usually don't record. It's also a strong woman song: `I can do this by myself, but why would I want to when I can share it with you?' It's a real sweet love song. It's a very soft song."

7. "Pink Guitar" (Ed Hill, Jamie O'Neal, Shaye Smith)
"This is just a kick-ass fun song. I can see lots of little girls going, `Yeah, I want to play guitar.' When I was growing up, guitars were for boys; that was the men's instrument, especially an electric guitar. Girls could play an acoustic guitar. I remember the girl who played on one of the awards shows with Carrie Underwood. She got out there and played her butt off. That was when I found `Pink Guitar.' I said, `She's going to love this song.' I love the attitude of it. It's still country; it's almost like `Fancy.' This girl had this dream and she went on to survive and succeed. It's real cute and I love to sing it."

8. "She's Turning 50 Today" (Liz Hengber, Tommy Lee James, Reba McEntire)
"It's a song about a woman who found out that her husband left on Saturday for a woman who is half her age. She spent the day lying in bed, but then on Monday got up, loaded up her pickup truck and began a new chapter of her life. She went on with her life and didn't look back. I wrote the first two lines of `She's Turning 50 Today' and sent it to Liz Hengber. I said, `Why don't you work on this a little bit and email me back what you've got?' Two years went by, and I said, `Liz, what about that song?' She said, `Tommy Lee James and I are going to work on it. So by the time this album came around to start recording, they sent me an MP3 of it while I was in the studio. I rewrote the second verse to make it more personal and relate to me when I left Stringtown, Oklahoma, in 1987. So in a way it's about me leaving a relationship, but it was certainly years ago, but put the two together."

9. "Eight Crazy Hours (In the Story of Love)" (Leslie Satcher, Darrell Scott) "This is a song I was on the fence about because it was so deep that I just didn't know how to take it. And so I let Autumn McEntire Sizemore, my niece, listen to it. She started crying and said, `You've got to record this song.' I let more people listen to it and they were like, `Oh my gosh!' It didn't hit me as hard as it did a lot of other people. I guess I haven't had to get away. I think my music is my release. Whenever I am menopausal or whatever, I can release things in my music when I sing. That is my therapy. It touched so many people that I recorded it. When I sang it live it choked me up so much that I couldn't get through it. This woman has a meltdown and she is just putting sheets on the bed and winds up in a bunch of dirty clothes on the floor, crying her eyes out. She checks into a cheap motel and lets it all out, crying in the bathtub. It was just as simple as picking up the kids and she's back in life again. She just needed to go away and take time for herself. Eight hours later, they're sitting around table eating chicken and laughing. It's eight crazy hours and the story of love."

10. "Nothing To Lose" (Kim Fox)
"Nothing to Lose" was on Melonie Cannon's album. When I was working with (Melonie's father) Buddy Cannon years ago, he gave it to me. I love Melonie's voice. `Nothing to Lose' was one of those songs that I said, `Man, if I could ever record that...,' so I did. I told everybody, `I want to feature the band on this,' so we let the band play two or three times. Everybody had an instrumental. It's about a woman leaving on the bus going down to Georgia. She doesn't know where she's going and doesn't know what lies ahead, but she doesn't care. It's another strong woman song."

11. "Over You" (Michael Dulaney, Steven Dale Jones, Jason Sellers)
"Whew! That is a sad song, kind of like Anne Steele. It's a beautiful melody. (My husband) Narvel said he loved this song. He would play the demo over and over. It's just one of those about `I knew the day would come when we would see each other again. You look great and got on with your life, but I'm still not over you.' It's really sad."

12. "Maggie Creek Road" (Karen Rochelle, James Slater)
"We were in the studio and I was having trouble with my resonance; I wasn't getting my soft voice at all. During lunch I saw Dr. Richard Quisling, my throat doctor in Nashville, and he opened up my sinuses or resonances or something. I came back to the studio and started singing again and Tony Brown's mouth dropped open, `My gosh, what did he do to you?' `He lasered out a little infection.' I put Dr. Quisling on my album thanks-yous. He is just a miracle worker. I had been on the fence about this song, but Tony really wanted me to record it. While I was coming back in, I said, `Let's do `Maggie Creek Road' next,' and he said, `Yes!' It's about this woman who has a daughter that is almost déjà vu for this mother. The little girl is leaving with evidently an older man on a date. This is what happened to the mother 20 years ago. She isn't going to let history repeat itself, so she follows them. They are parked down by the river and she opens the door and takes care of the situation. As the song says, `You don't want to see Mama go to war.' Mama was protecting her daughter. It's one of those swampy Louisiana songs with that feel."

13. "I'll Have What She's Having" (Jimmy Melton, Georgia Middleman)
"This is a cute song. I loved it the first time I heard it. They had horns on it and I said, `Of course we'll change it to fiddle and steel guitar.' It's real sassy. A woman is walking into a bar and she's looking for a man. She sees a woman having a good time, dancing with a man. `I'll have what she's having... and by the way, that looks hot.' We'll have fun with it onstage."

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1 Strange - 3:00   
2 Just When I Thought I'd Stopped Loving You - 3:50   
3 I Keep on Lovin' You - 3:13   
4 I Want a Cowboy - 3:39   
5 Consider Me Gone - 3:38   
6 But Why - 3:28   
7 Pink Guitar - 2:53   
8 She's Turning 50 Today - 4:05   
9 Eight Crazy Hours (In the Story of Love) - 4:04   
10 Nothing to Lose - 4:47   
11 Over You - 3:56   
12 Maggie Creek Road - 4:50   
13 I'll Have What She's Having - 2:59

Art-Nr.: 6516
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Roberts, Julie - alive [2011]
Sie hat sich eine lange Auszeit genommen, doch jetzt ist sie wieder da. Die genauso bezaubernde wie talentierte Julie Roberts (viele werden sich noch an ihr tolles Debut von 2004 und das ebeso starke "Men & Mascara" aus dem Jahre 2006 erinnern) hat zwar inzwischen keinen Major-Deal mehr, aber das schadet ihr überhaupt nicht. Im Gegnteil! Frei von allen Zwängen, aufgenommen mit jeder Menge großartiger Begleitmusiker aus der 1A-Garde Nashville's, geliingt Julie mit "Alive" ein ganz hervorragendes, kraftvolles, frisches, neues Album, von dem sie sagt, dass es genau das beeinhaltet, was sie auch machen wollte. Niemand hat ihr in irgendeiner Weise dazwischen gefunkt. "This is the real Julie Roberts"! Die Musik, mit der sie ihre immer noch zahlreichen Fans und die, die es noch werden wollen, beglückt, ist absolut zeitgemässer, ungemein lebendiger New Country mit einer sehr ausgewogenen Balance zwischen knackigen, powernden Uptempo-Stücken, gepflegtem Midtempo-Country und ein paar feinen Balladen. Jawohl, dem Titel ihres großartigen, neuen Albums folgend, kann man ohne jeden Zewifel bestätigen: Julie Roberts ist "alive" - und zwar in vollster Blüte!

Hier im Original-Wortland Julie's Statements zu jedem einzelnen Song des Albums:

“Mama Said Don’t”
I always put at least one song on my albums for my Mama. This song is a fun one I wrote with Rachel Proctor & Victoria Banks. It has that rootsy, bluesy, down-home feel to it that I love to perform live! I think everyone can relate to these lyrics!!

“Stronger”
I wrote this one with Don Schlitz just a few months before my album was finished. This song is the centerpiece for my entire record. It describes the road I have been on and the emotions I have felt during the 5 years since my last album was released. This is definitely a reflection into my life and into my faith of knowing that no matter how tough the road might appear to be, God never leaves my side and He makes me “Stronger”.

“Alive”
I heard this song about a year ago and I immediately thought “this sounds like part two to ‘Break Down Here’”. I knew I wanted to record it because I could see the story unfolding in my head of this visual lyric. I also knew I loved the title, “Alive”. I want my fans to know that I am still here! I am ‘alive’ and still making music. I’ve had a few stumbling blocks and a few years have gone by, but I’m back!

“You Got Me”
I heard and loved this song years ago and just held on to it like I do so many songs. I love that you really don’t have to think about these lyrics. It’s just a fun, happy, love song!!

“Yesterday’s Blue”
When I got together with Chris Roberts & Greg Biek to write this song, I told them I wanted to write a classic sounding song with attitude. I love the very last verse the most in this song because I almost sing what I’m sure so many people think sometimes when the one that they love leaves them. You’ll know what I’m talking about when you hear it!

“Aint No Thing”
This is another one of those songs I’ve held onto since the last record. I just LOVE the track and the lyrics in this one. I love to sing about real life stuff and I sing things I am not always so brave to say. I wish I could’ve told some of he guys that have left me “you know what, it aint no thang.” But, since I can’t say it, I’ll sing it!! ☺

“One For the Road”
Here’s another one that I probably wouldn’t say to someone in real life but have definitely lived. I love how blunt & straight-forward the lyric is. I like looking for and recording songs that I think would scare some people to sing…I AINT SKEERD, especially if it’s REAL to me!

“Let’s Fight”
I wrote this one with Jason Collum & Caitlin Smith. This one was the most fun to record because it was SO simple and just cool to me. I would actually love to make a record where all the tracks sound very similar to this one. I was inspired to write this one from a scene in one of my favorite movies, “Sweet Dreams” (the story of Patsy Cline).

“Whiskey and You”
I can see the video for this one in my head. I have loved this song for a really long time. I have known some people similar to the character singing in this song and I’ve seen how alcoholism can tear up a family/relationship. This song and lyric are so real to me. It’s such a sad song and the steel guitar makes it that much more sad. The sadder, the better for me!!

“Somebody Does”
I wrote this one long before the Nashville Flood in May 2010, but pulled it back out after we lost our home and I saw all of the people coming from everywhere to help my family. It took on an entirely different meaning for me when I listened to it then. I dedicate this one to everyone that reached out to help rebuild Nashville.

“Carolina From My Soul”
Marcus Hummon wrote and produced this track for my album. I’m from Lancaster, SC & this is a song about the feeling of comfort I get when I think about my life back there. When I sing this song, I see myself as I young girl in SC dreaming of singing country music. I always know that no matter where my music takes me in this world, Carolina will always be my home and in my soul.

“NASCAR Party”
I grew up watching NASCAR racing on television and going to dirt-track races so this is my tribute to the sport. When I wrote this song, I pictured myself and other NASCAR fans at the track and tried to put into words (in 2.5 minutes), how much fun it is to be there at the races. I had a blast writing, recording, and filming the video for it!

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Mama Said Don't - 3:09
2. Stronger - 4:24
3. Alive - 3:51
4. You Got Me - 2:29
5. Yesterday's Blue - 2:53
6. Ain't No Thing - 3:41
7. One For the Road - 3:29
8. Let's Fight - 3:23
9. Whiskey and You - 3:50
10. Somebody Does - 3:25
11. Carolina From My Soul - 3:41
12. Nascar Party - 2:43

Art-Nr.: 7799
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Mama said don't
Stronger
You got me
Ain't no thing
One for the road
Whiskey and you
Nascar party

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Robinson Brotherhood, Chris - phosphorescent harvest [2014]
The Chris Robinson Brotherhood mit ihrem herausragenden, dritten Studioalbum! Die neue Formation des The Black Crowes-Frontmannes mit einem ganz herrlichen, lockeren, den unbeschwerten Duft der freien, zwanglosen Hippe-Kultur geradezu riechenden Roots-/Jamrock-Album voller wunderbarer Psychedelic- und Westcoast-Attribute. Baumstarkes, live zuletzt schon vielfach gespieltes Songmaterial. Großartig, wie die Band ihre rootsige Grundlage, die stets spürbare Frische der Westküste und psychedelische, teils ein wenig spacige Keyboard-Linien in einen homogenen, jammigen Einklang bringt. CRB in Bestform! Die Stimme der The Black Ctowes und der Spirit von Grateful Dead - was für eine Kombination!

Die offizielle Produktbeschreibung:

The CHRIS ROBINSON BROTHERHOOD are set to unveil their third studio album PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST via Silver Arrow Records. The band--Chris Robinson (lead vocals, guitar), Neal Casal (guitar, vocals), Adam MacDougall (keys, vocals), George Sluppick (drums) and Mark Dutton (bass, vocals)--will also hit the road in conjunction with the album's release. The tour officially starts April 29 at Terrapin Crossroads in San Rafael, CA with dates confirmed into late May (and more to be announced).
PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST is a treasure trove of 10 songs--including several the band road-tested over the last few years--that advances the band's kaleidoscopic sound, which is deeply soulful, rootsy and spacey all at once. There's strong songcraft here, with a free-flowing delivery; it is music that is in no hurry to reach its destination but firmly knows where it is going. From the beginning, the CRB set out to do something different from what they had done before, creating their own scene with a musical prowess, cohesive songwriting and a unified commitment to experimentation, both in the studio and on the road (they've performed over 230 shows since forming in 2011).
"The best perspective I have on what's going on in my life--good and bad--is what comes out in the songs," says Chris Robinson. "As you move on in time, you get older, you have relationships. Some of them are good, some fail. Friends. Drugs. Life. Death. People come, people go. Songwriting is a completely different emotional response to your life and to what it means, to in some poetic nature, put it out there."
PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST follows the release of the companion albums Big Moon Ritual (June 2012) and The Magic Door (September 2012) plus last year's live quadruple vinyl Betty's S.F. Blends, Vol 1. The group continues to record with producer Thom Monahan, and Robinson wrote all of the songs with Casal, save for two that are Robinson solo compositions ("Tornado," "Jump The Turnstiles").
"We're really going by the electricity and the vibrations that we can sort of tune in to," Robinson recently told Relix magazine (Jan/Feb '14). "There's a psychedelic component to it. That's part of the greasing the wheels of the great cosmic engine, with psychedelic thought and philosophy and action. If you get my drift." He went on to talk about the more rock and roll feel on PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST, and his overall vision for the Brotherhood: "I'm not going to have hit records. I don't write pop songs. But then again, I find a deep need to express myself and how I'm feeling and where I am and where I've been and where I'm going by writing songs. Why change something to make it easier for anyone else, when I think if we stay sincere and keep our energies in a real creative place, then people will wander into our small community, and it maybe would get more popular…to tend that garden is a great responsibility. But I want it to grow." Check out the whole Relix feature here.
Rolling Stone editor David Fricke picked the CHRIS ROBINSON BROTHERHOOD as one of his favorites of 2012, and praised their live performance in New York City, saying "…the singer's acid-country Brotherhood, with ex-Ryan Adams guitarist Neal Casal, were a sublime time onstage and across these two albums, recorded at the same sessions and issued six months apart. The Irving Plaza show was a characteristic live high. In the second set, Robinson steered out of a rattling ‘Tough Mama,' from Bob Dylan's Planet Waves, into the long reverie ‘Girl on the Mountain,' a song from an earlier side trip, New Earth Mud, given fresh air and a new coat of DayGlo paint (1/30/13)."

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Shore Power - 4.41
2. About a Stranger - 5.07
3. Meanwhile In The Gods.... - 6.08
4. Badlands Here We Come - 5.24
5. Clear Blue Sky & The Good Doctor - 7.47
6. Beggar's Moon - 6.55
7. Wanderer's Lament - 5.37
8. Tornado - 5.04
9. Jump The Turnstiles - 6.40
10. Burn Slow - 7.13
11. Humboldt Windchimes - 4.38

Art-Nr.: 8543
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Shore power
About a stranger
Meanwhile in the Gods...
Badlands here we come
Clear blue sky & the good doctor
Wanderer's lament
Burn slow

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Robinson Brotherhood, Chris - phosphorescent harvest ~ vinyl [2014]
Vinyl-Ausgabe!

2 LP-Set, inklusive 7" Single! Kommt im tollen Foldout-Cover! 180 Gramm! US-Ausgabe im farbigen Vinyl (LP 1 = orange / LP 2 = rot)! Die zusätzliche 2 Track 7" Single enthält die beiden zusätzlichen Nummern "Humboldt Windchimes" (ist zwar auf der CD, nicht aber auf der DoLP enthalten) und "Star Crossed Lonely Sailor" (kompletter Bonustrack, nicht auf der CD enthalten).

The Chris Robinson Brotherhood mit ihrem herausragenden, dritten Studioalbum! Die neue Formation des The Black Crowes-Frontmannes mit einem ganz herrlichen, lockeren, den unbeschwerten Duft der freien, zwanglosen Hippe-Kultur geradezu riechenden Roots-/Jamrock-Album voller wunderbarer Psychedelic- und Westcoast-Attribute. Baumstarkes, live zuletzt schon vielfach gespieltes Songmaterial. Großartig, wie die Band ihre rootsige Grundlage, die stets spürbare Frische der Westküste und psychedelische, teils ein wenig spacige Keyboard-Linien in einen homogenen, jammigen Einklang bringt. CRB in Bestform! Die Stimme der The Black Ctowes und der Spirit von Grateful Dead - was für eine Kombination!

Für Soundclips klicken Sie bitte die CD-Ausgabe!

Die offizielle Produktbeschreibung:

The CHRIS ROBINSON BROTHERHOOD are set to unveil their third studio album PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST via Silver Arrow Records. The band--Chris Robinson (lead vocals, guitar), Neal Casal (guitar, vocals), Adam MacDougall (keys, vocals), George Sluppick (drums) and Mark Dutton (bass, vocals)--will also hit the road in conjunction with the album's release. The tour officially starts April 29 at Terrapin Crossroads in San Rafael, CA with dates confirmed into late May (and more to be announced).
PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST is a treasure trove of 10 songs--including several the band road-tested over the last few years--that advances the band's kaleidoscopic sound, which is deeply soulful, rootsy and spacey all at once. There's strong songcraft here, with a free-flowing delivery; it is music that is in no hurry to reach its destination but firmly knows where it is going. From the beginning, the CRB set out to do something different from what they had done before, creating their own scene with a musical prowess, cohesive songwriting and a unified commitment to experimentation, both in the studio and on the road (they've performed over 230 shows since forming in 2011).
"The best perspective I have on what's going on in my life--good and bad--is what comes out in the songs," says Chris Robinson. "As you move on in time, you get older, you have relationships. Some of them are good, some fail. Friends. Drugs. Life. Death. People come, people go. Songwriting is a completely different emotional response to your life and to what it means, to in some poetic nature, put it out there."
PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST follows the release of the companion albums Big Moon Ritual (June 2012) and The Magic Door (September 2012) plus last year's live quadruple vinyl Betty's S.F. Blends, Vol 1. The group continues to record with producer Thom Monahan, and Robinson wrote all of the songs with Casal, save for two that are Robinson solo compositions ("Tornado," "Jump The Turnstiles").
"We're really going by the electricity and the vibrations that we can sort of tune in to," Robinson recently told Relix magazine (Jan/Feb '14). "There's a psychedelic component to it. That's part of the greasing the wheels of the great cosmic engine, with psychedelic thought and philosophy and action. If you get my drift." He went on to talk about the more rock and roll feel on PHOSPHORESCENT HARVEST, and his overall vision for the Brotherhood: "I'm not going to have hit records. I don't write pop songs. But then again, I find a deep need to express myself and how I'm feeling and where I am and where I've been and where I'm going by writing songs. Why change something to make it easier for anyone else, when I think if we stay sincere and keep our energies in a real creative place, then people will wander into our small community, and it maybe would get more popular…to tend that garden is a great responsibility. But I want it to grow." Check out the whole Relix feature here.
Rolling Stone editor David Fricke picked the CHRIS ROBINSON BROTHERHOOD as one of his favorites of 2012, and praised their live performance in New York City, saying "…the singer's acid-country Brotherhood, with ex-Ryan Adams guitarist Neal Casal, were a sublime time onstage and across these two albums, recorded at the same sessions and issued six months apart. The Irving Plaza show was a characteristic live high. In the second set, Robinson steered out of a rattling ‘Tough Mama,' from Bob Dylan's Planet Waves, into the long reverie ‘Girl on the Mountain,' a song from an earlier side trip, New Earth Mud, given fresh air and a new coat of DayGlo paint (1/30/13)."

Das komplette Tracklisting:

DoLP:
1. Shore Power - 4.41
2. About a Stranger - 5.07
3. Meanwhile In The Gods.... - 6.08
4. Badlands Here We Come - 5.24
5. Clear Blue Sky & The Good Doctor - 7.47
6. Beggar's Moon - 6.55
7. Wanderer's Lament - 5.37
8. Tornado - 5.04
9. Jump The Turnstiles - 6.40
10. Burn Slow - 7.13
11. Humboldt Windchimes - 4.38

7" Single:
1. Humboldt Windchimes
2. Star Crossed Lonely Sailor

Art-Nr.: 8544
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: LP || Preis: € 22,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Secret Sisters, The - you don't own me anymore [2017]
Großartiges, neues Album von Lydia and Laura Rogers aus dem US-Bundesstaat Alabama, aka The Secret Sisters, die, ausgestattet mit fantastischen Stimmen (hinreissender Harmonie-Gesang), erneut einen geradezu magischen Mix aus Folk, Country, Bluegrass, Gospel, Roots und Americana präsentieren. Songs wie etwa der folkig swingende Opener"Tennessee river runs low", das auf einem dem früheren Neil Young ähnelnden Groove basierende, auch ein wenig an The Band erinnernde "Mississippi", die erneut folkig agehauchten Americana-Nummern "Carry me" und "'Til it's over", das mit dem Material der jungen Emmylou Harris vergleichbare, wunderschöne "He's fine", das grassige "King Cotton", oder der herrliche, traditionelle Country-Waltz "Little again" zeigen eindrucksvoll, über welch außergeöhnliches, vielseitiges musikalisches Gespür die beiden und ihre exzellenten Begleitmusiker verfügen. Zum Genießen!

Hier ein Original U.S.-Review:

The Secret Sisters, much like the characters in some of their songs, know a thing or two about surviving. After a meteoric debut in 2010 shepherded by the likes of Dave Cobb and T Bone Burnett and heaps of praise for both their self-titled, cover-heavy album and their live shows, they found themselves dropped by their label, set adrift in a management change, and embroiled in a lawsuit. Ultimately, the sisters – Lydia and Laura Rogers – had to file personal bankruptcy. They went from opening shows for Bob Dylan and Paul Simon to cleaning houses to make ends meet. That’s a pretty tough spot from which to think about new music, but amid all the chaos, new songs were brewing. A nudge from Brandi Carlile (who ended up producing, along with her bandmates the Hanseroth twins) and a successful crowdfunding campaign brought You Don’t Own Me Anymore to life.
And what a vivid, beating-heart life it is. It’s hard to put this album on as background music when the characters reach out so openly, the music spills out so energetically, and the harmonies pull heartstrings so earnestly. Listen, each song compels, and learn something. Or at least feel something – and it seems nearly the whole range of human emotion is represented here, as realistically as a phone call from a friend or the pages of a diary.
Opening track “Tennessee River Runs Low” (check it out in the video below) is a delightfully retro-sounding declaration of intent – a statement that the Sisters are back and ready for whatever life might wish to dish out. And what follows is equally compelling and just plain great to listen to. “He’s Fine” captures with aching realism the heartbreak of being alone after the one you love ends up loving someone else, and “To All the Girls Who Cry” is a warm hug and a glass of wine to all sisters who are hurting. Title track “You Don’t Own Me Anymore” is simultaneously lovely and dark in sound, a chronicle of the process of standing up after being knocked down. It’s an entirely new take on an age-old theme – something the Secret Sisters prove on this album they excel at.
The sisters’ soaring harmonies sound like a letter found in a closet, nostalgic and classic – yet utterly modern as applied to songs that capture life in our own time. On You Don’t Own Me Anymore, the Secret Sisters have found their sound, and appear utterly at home and here to stay.
(Stacy Chandler / No Depression)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Tennessee River Runs Low - 3:41
2. Mississippi - 4:23
3. Carry Me - 4:05
4. King Cotton - 3:12
5. Kathy's Song - 3:43
6. He's Fine - 3:43
7. To All the Girls Who Cry - 4:22
8. Little Again - 4:03
9. You Don't Own Me Anymore - 3:51
10. The Damage - 3:26
11. 'Til It's Over - 2:56
12. Flee as a Bird - 2:35

Art-Nr.: 9472
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock; Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Tennessee river runs low
Mississippi
Carry me
King's cotton
He's fine
Little again
'Til it's over

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Trucks Band, Derek - roadsongs [2010]
2 CD-Set! Grandioses Live-Dokument auf 2 CDs von der 2009er "Already free"-Tour, aufgenommen bei zwei aufeinanderfolgenden Shows in Chicago. Mitreissend!

Das renommierte, den Allman Brothers nahe stehende Magazin "Hittin' The Note" schreibt dazu:

Last year, the Derek Trucks Band hit Chicago for a two-night stand at the Park West, and everyone in the band immediately recognized that something special had just happened. Roadsongs is the result, the first live album from the Derek Trucks Band since 2004's Live at the Georgia Theatre.
"I remember that second night in Chicago. It was kind of rare thing, we all came off the stage and, independently of one another, said ‘That was great – we really got there!' ‘If we ever do a live album, that was it right there.'" I could tell everybody was playing better than they normally do," Derek explains. "I remember listening to tunes like ‘Sailin' On' and ‘Rastaman Chant' and thinking how the addition of the horns were a nice twist, that made these songs sound fresh again."
Indeed, the DTB were hittin' a very high note at these shows, and now you can enjoy all the musical magic on their new double live CD Roadsongs! The band has never sounded better, covering a wide range of material from the intense jazz of "Afro Blue" to the dreamy "Already Free" to the burning blues of "Key To the Highway." The horns add a lot to the sound - this album almost sounds like the Derek Trucks Orchestra!
Even so, the core band of Yonrico Scott, Todd Smallie, Mike Mattison, Kofi Burbridge, Count M'Butu, and of course Derek Trucks are the real stars here. Currently enjoying a well-deserved hiatus after 16 grueling years as road warriors of the highest caliber, Roadsongs shows how tight and cohesive the group was before taking a break.

Die komplette Setlist:

Disc 1
1 I'll Find My Way - 6:18   
2 Down in the Flood - 6:21   
3 Sailing On - 5:28   
4 Get What You Deserve - 3:58   
5 Days is Almost Gone - 5:25   
6 Already Free - 5:35   
7 Afro Blue - 14:31   

Disc 2
1 I Know - 6:59   
2 Down Don't Bother Me - 5:17   
3 Don't Miss Me - 5:24   
4 Rastaman Chant - 11:14   
5 Key to the Highway - 6:22   
6 Get Out My Life Woman/Who Knows - 12:44   
7 Anyday - 9:27

Art-Nr.: 6969
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 17,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Tucker, Tanya - while I'm livin' [2019]
Welch eine beeindruckende Vorstellung! Produziert von Brandi Carlile (The Highwomen) und Shooter Jennings (involviert auch mit exzellentem Klavierspiel), gelingt der legendären Country-Ikone us Seminole/Texas mit ihrem ersten Album seit 17 Jahren eine geradezu triumphale Rückkehr auf die Countrybühne - und das weit abseits von Nashville's "Glamourcountry" und "Einheitsbrei". Nein, das ist ein Countryalbum reinsten Charakters, authentisch, klassisch und ehrlich durch und durch, einfühlsam und wunderschön, und doch voller Ecken und Kanten. "While I'm livin'" reflektiert Tanya Tucker's Leben und Geschichte, ihre "Ups and Downs" (und davon gab es viele), ausgedrückt in 10 fantastischen Songs (das Songwriting der Zwillinge Tim und Phil Hanseroth aus Brandi Carlile's Band, die zusammen mit Carlile kompositorisch und musikalisch stark eingebunden sind, ist herasuragend gut). In dieser Countrymusic stecken Seele, Herz und Leidenschaft. Edel, unverfälscht, brillant!

Hier noch ein Original U.S.-Review:

It's been 17 years since we've had a new album from Tanya Tucker, so it's a real pleasure to hear her clear throaty vocals deliver these songs with her characteristic raw emotion. Tucker knows how to get into a song and make it her own, and she demonstrates her ability to turn phrases on this set of songs. Every song is a gem, and every song might be describing some aspect of her own life. Brandi Carlile and Shooter Jennings produced the album, and Jennings played piano almost every track, while Carlile sings background vocals on most tracks.
"Mustang Ridge," is the perfect opening track for Tucker's exuberant and emotionally powerful release. The singer might regret choices she's made in the past - "sometimes the past is hard to outrun" - but she's embracing her new freedom and not looking back now - "Got my knee on the wheel and I'm feeling free, with my hobnail on the gas." Tucker's crystal clear defiance grows stronger as the background vocals swell in harmony on chorus and float under the lyrics.
"I Don't Owe You Anything" is a honky-tonk blues declaration of freedom from the past and its drudgery. Tucker proclaims that there's a season for everything, and that season involving this relationship has passed: "Well I made your bed and I made your lunch and for the last time your clothes are out to dry/I know you like my own reflection, I see her in your eyes/Darlin' I ain't growing old with you/I don't need your front porch swing/Well, I raised up all your babies/I don't owe you anything."
Spare piano chords open "High Ridin' Heroes," a spacious, flowing tune that could just as well describe Tucker's life: "Those ole high ridin' heroes/They're anywhere the wind blows/She's been to hell and Texas and she knows how it feels to be/Riding that hot streak and drunk on some back street/Falling off that wagon and under the wheels." "Hard Luck" is pure country soul, fueled by Tucker's soul shouts and a never-look-back-keep-on-truckin' defiance: "hard luck, keep on truckin'." Carlile provides a spare piano arrangement for "Bring My Flowers Now" over which Tucker sings her plaintive vocals, requesting "bring my flowers now while I'm livin'/I won't need your love when I'm gone."
"While I'm Livin'" is a hell of a record and everything you'd expect from Tucker, whose vocals haven't lost their power and whose steady brilliance with a song delivers as much emotional power as it ever has. Tucker's album clearly is one of the best albums of the year. (Henry L. Carrigan Jr. / Country Standard Time)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Mustang Ridge - 3:37
2. The Wheels Of Laredo - 3:49
3. I Don’t Owe You Anything - 2:34
4. The Day My Heart Goes Still - 3:19
5. High Ridin’ Heroes - 3:27
6. The House That Built Me - 4:12
7. Hard Luck - 3:22
8. Rich - 2:33
9. Seminole Wind Calling - 3:35
10. Bring My Flowers Now - 4:20

Art-Nr.: 9875
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


|| Weiter