Artikel 1 bis 15 von 39 gefundenen...

[1-15] [16-30] [31-45]

 
Allman Brothers Band, The - stand back: the anthology [2004]
2 CD-Set! Die Allman Brothers gelten unbestritten als die Pioniere des Southern Rocks, ohne deren Eindluß sich diese Musik wohl hätte nie so entwickeln können, wie sie es tat. Zum einen erlebt dieses Genre momentan eine Art Re-Vitalisierung, zum anderen, auch das bestätigt diese These, agieren die Allman Brothers zur Zeit so lebendig und frisch, wie schon lange nicht mehr. Ein passender Zeitpunkt also für die Veröffentllichung einer neuen Anthology, und zwar der ersten, die ihre komplette, 35-jährige, alle Labels umfassende Karriere abhandelt, vom 1969iger Debut bis zum aktuellen Studiowerk "Hittin' the note"! Die erste CD handelt die frühen Jahre, bis 1972 ab, die zweite CD den Rest bis zur Gegenwart! Sehr gut ausgewählte Titelauswahl von insgesamt 32 Songs mit einer Spielzeit von deutlich über 2 1/2 Stunden! Ein Auszug der Tracklist: "It's not my cross to bear", "Trouble no more", "Dreams", "Revival", "Midnight rider", "Hoochie Coochie man", Melissa", "Stand back", "Blue sky", "Wasted words", "Ramblin' man", "Southbound", "Can't lose what you never had", "Crazy love", "Hell & high water", "Seven turns", "End of the line", "High cost of low living" und viele andere! Alle Songs sind "newly remastered"! Enthält ein 24-seitiges Booklet mit interessanten Liner-Notes zur Band-Geschichte von Scott Schinder! Klasse Teil! Für die Fans sowieso Pflicht, und für die, die es noch werden wollen gibt es keinen idealeren Einstieg!

Art-Nr.: 2483
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 22,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Allman Brothers Band, The - the fox box [2017]
8 CD-Set! Tolle Veröffentlichung für die Jamrock/Southernrock-Fraktion im Allgemeinen, vor allem aber die ABB-Jünger, gerade auch unter dem Eindruck des am 27. Mai verstorbenen, unvergesslichen Gregg Allman. Von der gefeierten 2004er Sommertour der Allman Brothers erscheint nun ganz offiziell über das Allmans-eigene "Peach Records"-Label eine spezielle "Atlanta-Box", die sogenannte "Fox Box", mit allen drei kompletten Shows der Band vom 24., 25., und 26. September 2004 aus dem historischen Fox Theatre von Atlanta/Georgia. Die jeweils rund 3-stündigen Shows zeigen einmal mehr, in welch großartiger Verfassung die Allmans mit ihren beiden Gitarristen Warren Haynes und Derek Trucks zu dieser Zeit waren. Und die Setlists... - einfach irre! Sie spielten an diesen Abenden 53 verschiedene Songs, teils ungemein seltene. Nur "Dreams" spielten sie an allen 3 Tagen, ansonsten gab es keinerlei Überschneidungen. Am ersten Tag gsb es beispielsweise großartige Versionen von "Midnight rider", "Worried down the blues", "You don't love me", "Hot 'Lanta", "Black hearted woman" und ein tolles Cover von Grateful Dead's "Franklin's tower"! Zudem erlebten die Fans einen Gastauftritt des früheren Gitarristen Jack Pearson bei "Dreams", "Mountain jam" und "Southbound"! Der zweite Tag war noch besser: Zum ersten Mal, seit Dickey Betts nicht mehr dabei war, spielten sie "Blue sky" und "Les brers in a monor"! Dazu Tracks wie "Soulshine", "Stand back", "Good clean fun", "Old before my time", "Woman across the river" und eine Coverversion des alten Klassikers "The night they drove old dixie down". Susan Tedeschi sang als Gast auf "Don't think twice" mit und in der Zugabe brachten sie eine unwiderstehliche Version von Eric Clapton's "Layla"! Tag 3 setzte nochmal einen drauf mit Titeln wie "Every hungry woman", "Done somebody wrong", "44 Blues", "End of the line", einer 12-Minuten Version von "Hoochie Coochie man", "Stormy Monday", "I walk in gilded splinters", "Elizabeth Reed", usw.! Insgesamt 9 Stunden Allman Brothers live mit fantastischem Material. Ein wahres Fest für die Fans. Diese Shows erschienen damals vor fast 11 Jahren schon mal als CD-Rs im Rahmen der legendären, raren "Instant Live"-Reihe zum Kauf direkt nach den Shows oder über den Band-eigenen "Hittin' The Note"-Webshop, doch der Sound ist jetzt nach einem ordentlichen Remastering noch einmal deutlich besser und damit vom Allerfeinsten. Drei ganz besondere, fantastische Shows der Allman Brothers!

Die kompletten Setlists:

24.09.2004:
Disc 1
1. Mountain Jam
2. Trouble No More
3. Midnight Rider
4. Wasted Words
5. Worried Down With The Blues
6. You Don't Love Me
7. Ain't Wastin' Time No More

Disc 2
1. Rockin' Horse
2. Hot 'Lanta
3. Melissa
4. Come And Go Blues
5. Can't Love What You Never Had
6. Why Does Love Got To Be So Bad?
7. Franklin's Tower

Disc 3
1. Black Hearted Woman
2. Dreams (with Jack Pearson)
3. Mountain Jam (reprise) (with Jack Pearson)
4. Southbound (with Jack Pearson)

25.09.2004:
Disc 1
1. Les Brers (Intro)-Don't Want You No More / It's Not My Cross To Bear
2. Statesboro Blues
3. Stand Back
4. Who's Been Talking
5. Soulshine
6. Good Clean Fun
7. Old Before My Time
8. Woman Across The River
9. Instrumental Illness

Disc 2
1. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
2. Leave My Blues At Home
3. Key To The Highway
4. Don't Think Twice, It's Alright (with Susan Tedeschi)
5. One Way Out (with Valor Trucks)
6. Blue Sky
7. Dreams
8. Les Brers In A Minor
9. Layla

26.09.2004:
Disc 1
1. Revival
2. Every Hungry Woman
3. Done Somebody Wrong
4. Hoochie Coochie Man
5. Desdemona
6. High Cost Of Low Living
7. 44 Blues
8. End Of The Line

Disc 2
1. Dreams
2. I Walk On Gilded Splinters
3. Stormy Monday
4. The Same Thing (with Rob Baracco)
5. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed (with Rob Baracco)

Disc 3
1. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed (cont'd, with Rob Baracco)
2. Don't Keep Me Wonderin'
3. No One To Run With
4. Whippin' Post

Art-Nr.: 9458
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 99,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Allman, Gregg - low country blues [2011]
Die Kritiker sind voll des Lobes! Kein neues Album der Allman Brothers, aber ein großartiges, neues Solo-Werk von Gregg Allman. Traditioneller, ursprünglicher, sehr authentischer Blues(rock), wobei die Blueskomponenten klar im Vordergrund stehen. Durch die Musik, wie sollte es auch anders sein, zieht eine herrliche Brise Southern-Soul, allein schon durch Gregg's unverwechselbaren Gesang. Und er ist prima bei Stimme. Eine beeindruckende, ja ganz starke Vorstellung des Ober-Allmans!

Hier der Kommentar von "Hittin' The Note" zu diesem Werk im Original:

Gregg Allman is one of the most iconic blues singers of all time, a certified rock star and member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame who has been the voice of the Allman Brothers Band for over four decades. T Bone Burnett is the most celebrated producer in music today, winning a Grammy for Alison Krauss and Robert Plant's collaboration Raising Sand and producing everybody from Elvis Costello to Elton John and Leon Russell. What do you get when you combine these two legendary talents?
The answer is Low Country Blues, the finest roots-blues record in years. With the help of T Bone's usual gang of master musicians, including a memorable turn on piano by New Orleans' own Dr. John, Gregg sings the blues as only he can, and Burnett captures the magic with the clarity and purity that have become his hallmark as a producer. Gregg's solo efforts in the past have tended to be more song-oriented and less jam-focused than the Allman Brothers Band, and this is no exception. The emphasis is on vibe and feel, with Gregg squarely in the spotlight where he belongs.
The bulk of Low Country Blues consists of classic blues tunes, all showcasing Gregg's signature vocals and B-3 work, but the album also features "Just Another Rider," a great new song Gregg co-wrote with Warren Haynes. This plaintive anthem picks up where "Midnight Rider" left off, continuing the mythology of the wandering, road-hardened gypsy that has always been a part of Allman's persona.
Of the blues tunes, standout tracks include a positively fierce version of Muddy Waters' "I Can't Be Satisfied," with Gregg wailing the blues. Other highlights are the rollicking "I Believe I'll Go Back Home," the R&B joy of "Please Accept My Love" and the brooding seven-minute version of "Rolling Stone" that closes the album, but one of the best things about Low Country Blues is how it all flows together into one piece of music. It's a true album as opposed to a collection of songs, and it's hard to pick favorites from this record without feeling like you're leaving something out. Words like "timeless" and "classic" get thrown around too lightly sometimes, but this album would have sounded great in 1960, it sounds great now, and it will still sound great in 2060.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1 Floating Bridge - 4:45   
2 Little By Little - 2:45   
3 Devil Got My Woman - 4:52   
4 I Can't Be Satisfied - 3:31   
5 Blind Man - 3:46   
6 Just Another Rider - 5:39   
7 Please Accept My Love - 3:07   
8 I Believe I'll Go Back Home - 3:49   
9 Tears, Tears, Tears - 4:54   
10 My Love is Your Love - 4:14   
11 Checking On My Baby - 4:06   
12 Rolling Stone - 7:04

Art-Nr.: 7242
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Austin, Sherrie - followin' a feelin' [2001]
Die aparte Australierin, die uns 1997 mit "Innocent man" von ihrem ersten Album "Words" sogar in Deutschland einen "kleinen" Countryhit bescherte, erfreut uns jetzt endlich mit ihrem dritten US-Album! Es ist wirklich erfreulich, denn sie legt im Vergleich zu ihrem etwas schwächelnden zweiten Werk, wieder eine Schippe drauf. Klasse, moderner New Country, wie er in Nashville momentan sehr angesagt ist, mit poppigen Elementen. Doch der Country-Faktor behält eindeutig das Oberwasser. Paßt in etwa weitestgehend in die Schiene Sara Evans, Lee Ann Womack usw.! Überwiegend flotte, sehr knackige Songs (bis auf einen ist sie überall zumindest als Co-Autorin mit für das gute Songwriting verantwortlich), recht facettenreich, von rockig-poppig, über schöne Midtempo-Tracks, auch mal einem jazzigen, lustigen, Country-Swing ("Somethin' missin' in the kissin') bis natürlich auch zu der ein oder anderen Ballade. Und ihre Stimme ist sowieso über jeden Zweifel erhaben: süß, klar, frech, kräftig - super! Mutig ist die eine Cover-Version, an die sie sich herangetraut hat, doch die ist bestens gelungen und zählt zu den Höhepunkten des Albums. Ihr glückt eine wirklich tolle, sehr moderne Version von Dolly Parton's Klassiker "Jolene"! Zudem hat Will Rambeaux an den Reglern eine feine, "satte" Produktion hinbekommen. Eine prima CD!

Art-Nr.: 1415
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 17,84

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Avett Brothers, The - live vol. four [2015]
CD & DVD-Set! Die gefeierten, einzigartigen Avett Brothers mit einem neuen, famosen Live CD-/DVD-Combo-Set! Mit dem großartigen "Live Vol. Four" setzen sie die Tradition ihrer regelmässigen Live-Veröffentlichungen fort, was auch mehr als Sinn macht, denn diese Roots-, Neo Folk-, Americana-Truppe aus North Carolina ist eine grandiose Live-Formation, die bis in die Jamrock-Szene hinein eine gewaltige Fanschar genießt. Bei dem hier vorliegenden Gig handelt es sich um die umwerfende Silvester-Show vom 31.12.2014 aus der prall gefüllten PNC-Arena in ihrer Heimatstadt Raleigh/North Carolina, die sowohl für die Musiker, als auch für das Publikum (sehr schön, wie zum Jahreswechsel Tausende von Luftballons in der Arena niedergehen) zu einem ausgelassenen Neujahrs-Happening avancierte. Enthält u. a. ein klasse Cover von Thin Lizzy's "The boys are back in town". Die Truppe ist in Höchstform - soundtechnisch und auch bildtechnisch bravourös eingefangen. Tolles Teil! Die DVD ist "code free" und somit auf jedem DVD-Player abspielbar.

Die komplette Setlist (CD und DVD identisch):

1. Intro/Feeling Good - 1.41
2. Satan Pulls the Strings - 7.39
3. Laundry Room - 6.00
4. Another is Waiting - 2.13
5. Shame - 4.17
6. Kick Drum Heart - 5.24
7. Rejects in the Attic - 6.31
8. Ten Thousand Words - 6.24
9. Talk On Indolence - 6.58
10. Auld Lang Syne - 4.47
11. The Boys are Back in Town - 5.25
12. Slight Figure of Speech - 7.00
13. I and Love and You - 5.34
14. Happy Trails - 2.29

Art-Nr.: 9064
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 21,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Carpenter, Mary Chapin - ashes and roses [2012]
"Ashes and roses" bietet eine Ansammlung von 13 exzellenten, neuen Songs im typischen Stil dieser fantastischen Singer-Songwriterin, zwischen Americana und Country - und zwar auf höchstem Nieveau. "Soul companion" beispielsweise ist ein großartiges Duett mit James Taylor. Wunderbar!

Hier ein U.S.-Review im Original-Wortlaut:

On Ashes and Roses, songwriter Mary Chapin Carpenter offers the most confessional record of her career. Always a storyteller whose protagonists could be seamlessly interchanged with the first person, that distance shrinks here; all that's left is the songwriter confronting herself in a mirror. Carpenter examines heartbreak, grief, loneliness, yearning, acceptance, gratitude, and new possibility with a gaze brimming with self-respect and compassion. Musically, the sound here is akin to 2010's Age of Miracles, but perhaps even softer. "Soul Companion," the single that features James Taylor, is not necessarily indicative of this set's sound, nor its greatest strength. The rootsy fingerpicking on "What to Keep and What to Throw Away" is a deep reflection on the one-foot-in-front-of-the-other kind of collecting oneself after the end of a relationship that leaves one devastated: "...These are your instructions/When grace has left you stranded/When you are lost and wounded/Bleeding and abandoned." The personal cost of betrayal is poetically and poignantly rendered in "The Swords We Carried." Carpenter's language, both musical and lyrical, though rich in melody, color, texture, poetic metaphors, and images, never flinches from looking at her subject squarely. With its shimmering mandolins, B-3, and acoustic guitars, "Chasing What's Already Gone" looks through the past to make sense of the present. She gets there, but there's a cost; she willingly pays it and holds herself accountable at the song's conclusion: "Ashes and roses and hearts that break/I tried so hard to be strong/It may be my worst but not my first mistake/Chasing what's already gone." This is the sound of the human heart at a time of reckoning, embracing its brokenness with gentleness. The embrace of grief is observed tenderly on "Learning the World," where it "rides quietly on the passenger side." But there is another side here, too; it's expressed in the resilience in "Don't Need Much to Be Happy," the yearning in "Old Love," and the acceptance that possibility awaits in "New Year's Day." Carpenter is accompanied only by producer Matt Rollings' piano on the closer, "Jericho," where she speaks to an Other about how long it will take to get to know her and how worth it that will be. Ashes and Roses is devastating in its quiet yet dignified and fierce vulnerability. Its courage makes it something singularly beautiful. Musically and lyrically, it is likely to be among her most enduring recordings. ~ Thom Jurek, Rovi

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Transcendental Reunion - 4:48
2. What to Keep and What to Throw Away - 4:34
3. The Swords We Carried - 4:06
4. Another Home - 4:29
5. Chasing What's Already Gone - 4:59
6. Learning the World - 4:29
7. I Tried Going West - 4:17
8. Don't Need Much to Be Happy - 4:23
9. Soul Companion - 4:02
10. Old Love - 4:46
11. New Year's Day - 4:55
12. Fading Away - 4:21
13. Jericho - 4:03

Art-Nr.: 7823
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock; Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Church, Eric - chief [2011]
Was für ein interessantes, innovatives, prächtiges Country-/New Country-/Countryrock-Album! Genauso mutig wie erfrischend! Eric Church zeigt mit seinem dritten Album auf beeindruckende Art und Weise, wie man New Country-Musik mit neuen, nicht unbedingt alltäglichen Klangtupfern und Arrangements auf einen modernen, dem Jahre 2011 entsprechenden, zeitgemässen Level bringen kann, ohne die Grundwerte der Countrytraditionen zu ignorieren. Ein "abenteuerliche" (das meinen wir ausschließlich positiv) Gratwanderung, die er mit Bravour meistert. Tolle Sounds! Erinnert in seinem Mut und in seiner Experimintierfreudigkeit an die Anfänge von Big & Rich, nur nicht so verrückt. Das Songmaterial ist durchweg exzellent! Die Songs sind durchweg wunderbar melodisch und bleiben klasse hängen. Eine bärenstarke Vorstellung von Church!

Dazu noch ein Original-Statement:

"To some modern country artists, the words critics are using to describe Eric Church's third studio album may seem off-putting, but to the trailblazing mutineer and his equally passionate fans, the terms: "strange," "aggressive," "wild," and "rare," couldn't be more complimentary. Church's third studio album, Chief, has been buzzing as the most experiential, head-turning country album of the year."

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1 Creepin' - 3:52   
2 Drink in My Hand - 3:11   
3 Keep On - 2:38   
4 Like Jesus Does - 3:18   
5 Hungover & Hard Up - 2:53   
6 Homeboy - 3:47   
7 Country Music Jesus - 3:52   
8 Jack Daniels - 5:04   
9 Springsteen - 4:23   
10 I'm Gettin' Stoned - 4:02   
11 Over When It's Over - 2:39

Art-Nr.: 7490
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Civil Wars, The - same [2013]
Sehnlichst erwartetes Follow-Up des grandiosen Americana-/Singer-Songwriter-/Alternative Country-/Folk Rock-Duos Joy Williams und John Paul White zu dem mit 3 Grammys dekorierten, frenetisch gefeierten Debut "Barton hollow". The Civil Wars machen genau da weiter, wo sie mit ihrem Vorgänger aufgehört haben. Songmaterial und Performance sind exzellent!

Kurze Original-Produktinfo:
The Civil Wars' highly anticipated sophomore self-titled album is the follow up to the three-time Grammy Award-winning duo's acclaimed debut, Barton Hollow.
The Civil Wars was recorded in Nashville between August 2012 and January 2013. Charlie Peacock was once again at the helm as producer for the album. Additionally, Rick Rubin produced the duo's performance for the track "I Had Me a Girl" in August of 2011. Peacock later completed the track by producing the instrumentation and mix.

Exklusives "Track by Track"-Review zu allen Stücken des Albums von Joy Williams:

THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY

This song pays homage to regret. Nearly everybody I've come across has somebody in their life that they wonder what life would be like if they'd never met that person. It's that sliding-door moment -- in the blink of an eye everything could change. Either for the positive or the negative.
John Paul and I wrote this song in the screened-in porch of my and Nate's new home. I remember warm breezes blowing, a mild day. I had recently had my son, Miles, who happened to be asleep with Nate in the living room, right next to the porch. I remember asking John Paul to play quietly so he didn't wake up the baby.

I HAD ME A GIRL

This song always conjures up an image of a glass of whiskey and a lit cigarette. It's a little brooding. A little dangerous. It smolders. It has swagger and grit. It's full of innuendo and Southern Gothic tones. I love the feel of this track, and the way this song came together on the record. "I Had Me a Girl" is one of those musical moments that makes me wish I knew how to play electric guitar. Or any guitar, for that matter.

SAME OLD SAME OLD

This song, to me, represents the ache of monogamy. This isn't an "I'm leaving you" song. It's a vulnerable confession of "I don't want to leave. I want to work on this -- with you." Having said that, someone once told me a story about long-term relationships: to think of them as a continent to explore. I could spend a lifetime backpacking through Africa, and I would still never know all there is to know about that continent. To stay the course, to stay intentional, to stay curious and connected -- that's the heart of it. But it's so easy to lose track of the trail, to get tired, to want to give up, or to want a new adventure. It can be so easy to lose sight of the goodness and mystery within the person sitting right in front of you. That continent idea inspires me, and makes the ache when it comes hurt a little less. To know that it happens to all of us. What I'm realizing now is that sometimes the "same old same old" can actually be rich, worthwhile and a great adventure.

DUST TO DUST

This song is an anthem for the lonely. Sometimes you come across somebody who thinks they are hiding their pain, but if we are all honest, nobody is very good at it. "You're like a mirror, reflecting me. Takes one to know one, so take it from me.” When John Paul and I wrote this late one night in Birmingham, England, we decided to change the pronoun at the end of the song. We wanted to represent that we all experience loneliness in our lives.

EAVESDROP

We brought in our producer, Charlie Peacock, on this song. He helped with arrangements and really helped take the song to a totally different place. Sometimes as an artist, you can't see what needs re-arranging when you're so "in it." Charlie brought perspective. Almost like an eavesdrop within an "Eavesdrop."
Strangely enough, this song always reminds me that my voice has changed since the last album. I have my son to thank for that, truly. When I was first pregnant and performing on the road, I thought something was wrong with my voice. I was having a hard time hitting high notes, while my low notes kept getting deeper and deeper. I did some research with the help of a vocal coach, and learned that hormone levels affect a female singing range. Having a boy, naturally, upped my testosterone levels, making low notes easier to hit and higher notes harder to reach. But the great thing? After having Miles, I regained my high range AND have kept my low range. Pregnancy literally changed the makeup of my vocal cords. There's a different timbre to it now, and I love that I can hear the story of my son in my singing.

DEVIL'S BACKBONE

This song is our take on an Americana murder ballad. It's dark, prickly, anxious. It was fun writing because we just imagined some dust-bowl scenario, a broke-down town, and a man awaiting being hung for something he did in the name of trying to provide for his family. The woman who loves him is watching him standing there on the gallows.
This song always reminds me of when the melody first came to mind. I was doing my makeup in the tiled bathroom upstairs, with my newborn Miles in a yellow rocking bassinet next to me. I started singing, and turned on the voice memo app on my iPhone so I wouldn't forget it. As I sang, Miles started cooing along with me. Not on pitch, mind you, but I'd move a note, and he'd move a note. I'm never deleting that voice memo. It's become one of my favorites.

FROM THIS VALLEY

That's our Grand Ole Opry song. A new spiritual. It's actually the oldest song written on the album. We wrote it before Barton Hollow came out. Even though we didn't have our own recording of it, we started performing it live and it became a fan favorite. It made sense to finally put it on an album. One of my favorite moments on stage every night was singing the a cappella part together.

TELL MAMA

We recorded the performance at Fame studio in Muscle Shoals, a place we'd written a few songs before that made it onto Barton Hollow. I always felt the musical ghosts in that studio, one of whom was the great Etta James. We're a band that's known for covering songs live in our own way, and we thought it would be fun to take a stab at "Tell Mama." I found out later that where we recorded was the same room she recorded her version. That might explain why I kept getting goosebumps.

OH HENRY

We wrote it one week before Barton Hollow, in the mountains of Salt Lake City during our first Sundance Festival. We conjured up a story about a woman who was married to a philandering man. She is begging her man to level with her, and letting him know she can only take so much, a la "it's gonna kill me or it's gonna kill you."

DISARM

Again, we're the band who loves to do covers. Both John Paul and I have always been huge Smashing Pumpkins fans. Nate mentioned it might be a cool cover, and we actually wound up working it out the same day that we wrote "Oh Henry" up in Salt Lake City for Sundance. It turned into another on-stage staple that people asked for every night. We found out later from his then-manager that Billy dug it.

SACRED HEART

We wrote this song in a flat in Paris, with the Eiffel Tower in full view on a cold night. Tall windows, Victorian furniture, and somehow the atmosphere of all of that seeped into the song. Nate and our friends were there in the room as we wrote, all of us drinking wine together. I also loved getting to try out my flawed French. I wrote what words I knew in French, and then had a Parisian friend named Renata Pepper (yes, that's her real name) look it over later and help me translate. When we recorded the song for the album, I called in a French professor from Vanderbilt named Becky Peterson, who has now become a good friend.

D'ARLINE

We wrote this song in the studio behind my house in Nashville, on a warm summer day, with the windows and doors open. This song is a sweet lament, of loss and the belief that you'll never be able to love anybody else again. I stumbled across "Letters of Note" on Twitter, and was struck by the title of a letter written by a famous physicist named Richard Feynman: "I love my wife. My wife is dead." A little over a year after her death, he wrote his wife a love letter and sealed it. It was written in 1946, and wasn't opened until after his death in 1988. He ended his note to his long-lost wife with "Please excuse my not mailing this -- but I don't know your new address."
Another aside to this song: While we were recording the song together, John Paul and I could hear crows cawing in the background that I've since named Edgar, Allen and Poe. This recording and performance of the song is the first and only in existence, a work tape recorded simply on my iPhone.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. The One That Got Away - 3.32
2. I Had Me a Girl - 3.45
3. Same Old Same Old - 3.48
4. Dust to Dust - 3.49
5. Eavesdrop - 3.35
6. Devil's Backbone - 2.29
7. From This Valley - 3.33
8. Tell Mama - 3.48
9. Oh Henry - 3.32
10. Disarm - 4.42
11. Sacred Heart - 3.19
12. D'Arline - 3.06

Art-Nr.: 8264
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock; Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Cyrus, Billy Ray - definitive collection [2004]
1.Achy Breaky Heart - 3:23
2.Some Gave All - 4:05
3.Could've Been Me - 3:45
4.She's Not Cryin' Anymore - 3:26
5.Wher'm I Gonna Live - 3:28
6.In the Heart of a Woman - 3:59
7.Somebody New - 3:44
8.Words by Heart - 3:04
9.Talk Some - 4:14
10.Storm in the Heartland - 3:52
11.Deja Blue - 3:34
12.The Fastest Horse in a One Horse Town - 4:29
13.Trail of Tears - 3:39
14.Truth Is I Lied - 3:17
15.Three Little Words - 4:13
16.Harper Valley P.T.A. - 4:09
17.It's All the Same to Me - 4:22
18.Time for Letting Go - 4:10
19.Busy Man - 3:14
20.Give My Heart to You - 3:47
21.You Won't Be Lonely Now - 3:51

Art-Nr.: 4317
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Cyrus, Billy Ray - it won't be the last [1993]
1.In the Heart of a Woman - 4:00
2.Talk Some - 4:15
3.Somebody New - 3:45
4.Only Time Will Tell - 3:21
5.Ain't Your Dog No More - 2:28
6.Words by Heart - 3:07
7.It Won't Be the Last - 3:49
8.Throwin Stones - 3:40
9.Right Face Wrong Time - 3:27
10.Dreamin' in Color, Livin' in Black and White - 4:17
11.When I'm Gone - 3:01

Art-Nr.: 4319
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 8,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Cyrus, Billy Ray - trail of tears [1996]
1.Trail of Tears - 3:41
2.Truth Is I Lied - 3:18
3.Tenntucky - 2:23
4.Call Me Daddy - 5:08
5.Sing Me Back Home - 3:37
6.Three Little Words - 4:14
7.Harper Valley P.T.A. - 4:10
8.I Am Here Now - 3:28
9.Need a Little Help - 5:08
10.Should I Stay - 4:38
11.Crazy Mama - 3:00

Art-Nr.: 4316
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 8,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Evans, Sara - words [2017]
Klasse neues Album von Sara Evans. Nach vielen Turbulenzen, sowohl im privaten, als auch musikalischen Bereich, hat sich Sara Evans von ihrem bisherigen Major-Label getrennt und veröffentlich "Words" nun auf ihrem eigenen Label "Born To Fly", vertrieben von einem unabhängigen Distributor. Die neu gewonnene, musikalische Freiheit bekommt ihr hörbar gut, denn ihr neues Werk wirkt frisch und unverbraucht. Sie spielt genau die Songs, die sie spielen möchte, frei von jedem Mainstream- und Erfolgsdruck, einfach nur der Musik willen. Das gelingt großartig.. Bester Country/ New Country einer erstklassigen Sängerin mit neu gewonnener musikalischer Freihet. Stark!

Hier noch ein Originbal U,S.-Review zu dieser klasse Veröffentlichung:

Sara Evans returns after three years away with 14 new songs to showcase who she is as a mother, wife, lover, fighter and business woman. Chasing the mainstream can be a hard thing for a successful artist when they have had a handful of hits and released records which cracked the mainstream zeitgeist. Like Lee Ann Rimes did with Remnants earlier this year, Sara Evans has decided to independently release Words on her own label (Born To Fly Records) and it finds her refreshed and sounding better than she did on her past couple of releases (even if she did get one more great hit in "A Little Bit Stronger" from that era). Instead of chasing whatever sounds the mainstream has, we have Sara in contemplative balladeer mode throughout the Majority of Words and this is truly where Sara and her distinctive alto shine.
Midtempo "Diving In Deep" reminds me of Paul Simon's "Graceland" musically with some afro-centric percussive melodies serving as the anchor for Sara Evans to sing about falling in love with all the gusto that we always do when in a relationship ("when all is fair in love in war, the consequence I will ignore because this time I'm diving in deep," she sings). "I Don't Trust Myself" is a moody song about being self-aware enough to not fall back into old routines while "I Want You" is a sweet, soaring alternative to "I Don't Trust Myself." Fans of the earlier catalog from Sara Evans, will certainly find moments to enjoy here with the rootsy "Make Room At The Bottom" (co-written by Ashley Monroe), "I'm On My Way" and album opener "Long Way Down" while "Marquee Sign," one of three songs co-written by Sara Evans herself, showcase the singer's pen is still sharp. The song also showcases harmonies from her daughter Olivia. The title track, "Words," feels like a long-lost Emmylou song and "Night Light" features family harmony from Sara Evans three siblings Matt, Lesley and Ashley. Finally, "Letting You Go," is a song any parent can relate to as they watch their children grow up and go away and become adults themselves. It's a beautiful song and a strong closer (though, really, the acoustic version of "A Little Bit Stronger" serves as the real closer here).
It's often hard for stars to know when the time is right to stop chasing mainstream radio and it gets even harder for them to do that if they strive for a career in the independent realm. On some ways, you could listen to Sara Evans new, independently-released Words album and feel like she's chasing a train she'll never catch but the reality is that this is a record for a fans and if she does get some mainstram radio success, awesome, but if not, that's OK too because, hits or not, Words is the record of her career. (Matt Bjorke/Roughstock)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Long Way Down - 4:14
2. Marquee Sign - 4:01
3. Diving in Deep - 2:36
4. All the Love You Left Me - 4:17
5. Like the Way You Love Me - 3:05
6. Rain and Fire - 3:38
7. Night Light - 3:38
8. I Need a River - 4:22
9. I Don't Trust Myself - 3:34
10. Make Room at the Bottom - 3:12
11. Words - 2:48
12. I Want You - 3:41
13. Letting You Go - 4:11
14. A Little Bit Stronger (Acoustic Version) - 4:38

Art-Nr.: 9478
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Giddens, Rhiannon - tomorrow is my turn [2015]
Großartiges Solo-Debut der Frontfrau und Multi-Instrumentalistin von den Carolina Chocolate Drops. Die fantastische Sängerin brilliert mit einer ungemeni facettenreichen Scheibe zwischen Americana, Roots, Folk, Blues, Jazz, Country, Gospel, Rock und Soul, produziert von T Bone Burnett. Bärenstark beispielsweise ihre Interpretationen von Dolly Parton's "Don't let it trouble your mind" oder Elizabeth Cotten's "Shake sugaree". Unter den beteiligten Musikern sind solche Größen wie etwa T Bone Burnett (guitar), Colin Linden (guitar), Dennis Crouch (bass), Jay Bellerose (drums), Gabe Witcher (fiddle) und Keefus Ciancia (keyboards). Charismatisch! Edel!

Die Origianl-Produktbeschreibung:

Rhiannon Giddens, singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, and founding member of Grammy Award-winning Carolina Chocolate Drops, makes her solo recording debut with Tomorrow Is My Turn, due out February 10, 2015, on Nonesuch Records. The album was produced by T Bone Burnett.
Burnett first worked with Giddens when she performed last fall at a concert he curated at New York City’s Town Hall that was later broadcast on Showtime: Another Day, Another Time: Celebrating the Music of “Inside Llewyn Davis.” Backstage, Burnett was immediately moved to ask if he could produce a record with her. “It was clear the first time I heard her at rehearsal that Rhiannon is next in a long line of singers that include Marian Anderson, Odetta, Mahalia Jackson, Rosetta Tharpe,” Burnett says. “We need that person in our culture.”
For her first solo disc, Giddens chose a broad range of songs from genres as diverse as gospel, jazz, blues, and country. In addition to the traditional “Black Is the Color,” tracks include Hank Cochran’s “She’s Got You,” made famous by Patsy Cline; Dolly Parton’s “Don't Let It Trouble Your Mind”; “O Love Is Teasin’,” popularized by the Kentucky-reared “mother of folk” Jean Ritchie; and Elizabeth Cotton’s “Shake Sugaree.”
“I had already started putting together a list of songs that didn’t really fit into the Chocolate Drops world,” Giddens explains. “At the top was ‘Tomorrow Is My Turn’ [immortalized by Nina Simone]. Seeing Nina do it on YouTube was revelatory. I knew she’d gone through a lot of hard times, as so many people did in that time period. Watching her sing this song, with the words ‘tomorrow is my turn,’ I began to think about the struggle of her and women like her.” The significance of this song led Giddens to make it the title of the album as well. “Other songs started getting on my list and they were all by women or interpreted by women,” she says.
"Tomorrow Is My Turn" was recorded in Los Angeles and Nashville, with a multi-generational group of players whom Burnett assembled. Among them are fiddle player Gabe Witcher and double bassist Paul Kowert of label-mates Punch Brothers; percussionist Jack Ashford of Motown’s renowned Funk Brothers; drummer Jay Bellerose; guitarist Colin Linden; legendary backup singer Tata Vega; veteran Nashville session bassist Dennis Crouch; and Giddens’ Drops touring band-mates, multi-instrumentalist Hubby Jenkins and beat-boxer Adam Matta.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Last Kind Words - 4:13
2. Don't Let It Trouble Your Mind - 3:39
3. Waterboy - 3:45
4. She's Got You - 4:17
5. Up Above My Head - 3:09
6. Tomorrow is My Turn - 4:37
7. Black Is the Color - 3:45
8. Round About the Mountain - 3:30
9. Shake Sugaree - 4:24
10. O Love Is Teasin' - 4:32
11. Angel City - 3:52

Art-Nr.: 8790
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Henley, Don - cass county ~ deluxe edition mit 4 bonustracks [2015]
Deluxe Edition mit 4 Bonustracks! Original US-Ausgabe! Don Henley, die Ikone der Eagles, mit einem neuen Solo-Album, dem ersten seit 15 Jahren! Es ist ein großartiges, sehr Country-orientiertes Album geworden, mit dem er auf seine Wurzeln zurückblickt. Mit an Bord sind jede Menge hoch interessanter Gäste!

Aus der offiziellen Produktbeschreibung:
Don Henley veröffentlicht sein fünftes Studioalbum und damit sein erstes Soloalbum seit über 15 Jahren. Das Album "Cass County" wurde nach dem nordöstlichen Gebiet in Texas benannt, in dem Henley aufgewachsen ist. Es wurde von Don Henley und Stan Lynch produziert, der auch am Songwriting von 11 Songs beteiligt war. Dabei repräsentiert das Album vor allem Henleys Wurzeln: „Ich bin in Texas geboren und aufgewachsen. Ich bin ein Südstaatler und ein Texaner. Das ist also eine ganz natürliche Entwicklung für mich. Es zeigt wer ich bin und woher ich komme.“ erzählt Don Henley. Das Album, das hauptsächlich in Nashville, Tennessee und Dallas, Texas aufgenommen wurde, beinhaltet Gastauftritte von Merle Haggard, Miranda Lambert, Mick Jagger, Martina McBride, Jamey Johnson, Alison Krauss, Vince Gill und Dolly Parton. Zum Entstehungsprozess des Albums berichtet Don Henley: „Ich kann ehrlich sagen, dass ich bei diesem Album noch mehr Spaß hatte als bei jedem anderen Album zuvor und das liegt an den mitwirkenden Musikern. John Sebastian hatte absolut recht, als er 1965 oder 1966 den Song ‚Nashville Cats‘ schrieb. Es stimmt immer noch, auch so viele Jahre später. Es gibt so viele großartige Musiker hier.“

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1.Bramble Rose (feat. Mick Jagger)
2.The Cost Of Living (feat. Merle Haggard)
3. No, Thank You
4. Waiting Tables
5. Take A Picture Of This
6. Too Far Gone
7. That Old Flame (feat. Martina McBride)
8. The Brand New Tennessee Waltz
9. Words Can Break Your Heart
10. When I Stop Dreaming (feat. Dolly Parton)
11. Praying For Rain
12. Too Much Pride
13. She Sang Hymns Out Of Tune
14. Train In The Distance
15. A Younger Man
16. Where I Am Now

Art-Nr.: 8979
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock; Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Hopkins, Rich & Lisa Novak - loveland [2008]
Sidewinders-, Sand Rubis- und Luminarios-Recke Rich Hopkins hat's "erwischt" - privat und musikalisch! Die neue Frau in seinem Leben heißt Lisa Novak, die er nicht nur ehelichte, sondern mit der er auch gleich ein gemeinsames Album einspielte. Und was für eines - bärenstark! Lisa ist eine großartige, hierzulande bislang weitgehend unbekannte, in ihrer Heimat Texas aber umso geschätztere Roots-/Americana Singer-Songwriterin und Gitarristin, die bereits mehrere, viel beachtete Independent-Alben veröffentlichte und damit einige bedeutende lokale Awards einheimste. Der "alte" Wüstenrocker und Gitarrenheld aus Tucson/Arizona und die Texanerin aus Houston scheinen sich in jeder Hinsicht "gesucht und gefunden" zu haben. "Loveland" (welch ein passender Titel) ist ein bestechend starkes Album geworden, das aber auch mit nicht einen einzigen schwachen Song aufwartet. Es ist eine wunderbare Synthese aus den musikalischen Ideen beider, wenngleich der rockigere Grundton der Hopkins'schen Vergangenheit die Basis bildet. Doch ansonsten wird alles, wie es sich für eine gut funktionierende Partnerschaft gehört, ausgewogen aufgeteilt: Der Lead-Gesang, das Songwriting (alle Tracks, bis auf einen, haben sie gemeinsam komponiert), die Ideen für die herrlichen Arrangements und Hooklines, sogar das Lead-Gitarren-Spiel, inklusive der mitreißenden Soli - wenngleich hier doch der Gitarren-Maestro Hopkins den Löwenanteil spielt. "Loveland" bietet großartigen, von prächtigen Melodien bestimmten, knackigen, satten, ungemein lebendigen, kraftvollen Roots-/Gitarren-Rock, mit einer Spannbreite von den Byrds bis zu Neil Young, von den Sand Rubies bis zu den Luminarios, von den Continental Drifters (Lisa's Stimme erinnert zuweilen ein wenig an Vicki Peterson) bis zu den Stones - immer ausgestattet mit dem nach Wüste riechenden "Duft" der Gegend um Tucson/Arizona! Die wunderbar transparenten, vielschichtigen Gitarren, mal total klar, dann wieder verzerrt und dreckig, immer ungemein voluminös und vollmundig, bilden eine traumhaft harmonische und absolut eingängige Einheit mit dem Gesang der beiden. Begleitet werden sie von einigen langjährigen Weggefährten Hopkins' aus der Tucson-Szene und dem Luminarios-, Sand Rubies-, Greyhound Soul-, Sidewinders-, Giant Sand-Umfeld. Die überwiegende Anzahl der Stücke ist sehr flott und geht gut nach vorn, doch die ein oder andere, herzhafte und würzige Ballade bildet jeweils einen großartigen Gegenpol. Es passt alles grandios zusammen! Man weiß gar nicht welches Stück man herausstellen soll. Ob die traumhaft melodische Rootsrock-/Pop-Perle "Somekindagirl", das texanisch angehauchte, twangige, mit einem tollen, dreckig zerrigen, dennoch sehr melodischen Gitarrensolo garnierte "Heartbreak police", der von Byrds-ähnlichen Gitarren bestimmte, herrliche Retro-Countryrocker "Lucky guy", die an balladeske Stones-Sachen erinnernde Ballade "Lovely heart" mit ihrem erdigen Gitarrenspiel, oder was auch immer - wie gesagt, wirklich jedes Stück ist ein absoluter "Hit" und lässt das Album zu dem Besten werden, was Hopkins in den letzten Jahren veröffentlicht hat (und das war schließlich auch nicht "von schlechten Eltern"). "Loveland" rocks" "Loveland" ist super!

Die Tracklist:

1 Somekindagirl (4.03)
2 Heartbreak Police (5.28)
3 Angel in Boots (4.48)
4 Human After All (3.15)
5 Lucky Guy (4.20)
6 Gospel Song (2.43)
7 Longshot (3.55)
8 What Am I Supposed to Do? (4.18)
9 Fallin' (5.01)
10 I'll Cry Later (3.25)
11 Matthew Sweet (3.41)
12 Lovely Heart (4.50)
13 There Are No Words for Love (6.22)

Art-Nr.: 6048
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Angebot || Typ: CD || Preis: € 8,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Somekindagirl
Heartbreak police
Lucky guy
What am I supposed to do?
Matthew Sweet
Lovely heart

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


|| Weiter